We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 59 hotels in Lucca
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ideally located, spacious room , clean and additional service such as providing bikes. It has a beautiful terrace overlooking a gorgeous garden..
( coffee for breakfast was mot that good... Which is the only minus one may add).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know you apreciated our hotel.

Hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    153
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
92
276
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is located near the east gate along the city wall accessed by Via Elisa which has restricted access for cars. Hotel is on Via del Fosso intersection.

Stayed one night and slept comfortably. We arrived early, just before noon and our room was not ready. Receptionist asked if we would take another room on the ground floor which was ready. We did and it looked out onto the street. The room is nicely furnished with a lot of wood paneling. Bathroom is very modern and a bit small like other hotels in the area.
Shower has no curtain or door so water splashes outside of the shower area. Mopping job required.

Not sure if the thermostat in the room works. Couldn’t change the temperature of the room which was a little warm despite the cool weather in November. There is a safe in the closet and a small fridge. WiFi works with decent speed.

Breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room and it was very adequate. Average by Italian standards, but very good to excellent compared to free breakfasts at hotels in USA; even the paid ones. Hot English breakfast items are available. Continental breakfast items available also and of course local cured meats and fruit. Walnuts were in season so there was a basket of them in the buffet table.

In the lobby there is a self- service counter with Coffee machine and various cold beverages as well as light snacks. This is available throughout the day for hotel guests. A very thoughtful and convenient feature that I wish other hotels would provide. There are nearby restaurants on Via Elisa.

I chose this hotel because there is a full time hotel staff unlike many B&B places in Lucca which can be more expensive, but run into problems when the operators are not there when you arrive. Also I was sharing the room with my sister, and I know for sure that there are twin beds as it is not clear at the B&B hotels throughout the walled city of Lucca.

Overall I was happy with the hotel and if I find myself in Lucca again, I would definitely consider staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at this property for 4 nights during Desco, a must see for all foodie types! This hotel is in a perfect location to get in and out of the city, Allows for parking with special permits. Or is a great location of taking a tour and need to walk from the gate from a bus since buses are not allowed in the city walls, free bike rental, free breakfast to start your day, clean rooms, fully stocked mini bar, What more could you ask for! I would stay here again for sure! Bravo!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

we'd like to thank you for sharing your kind feedback. We are very happy to know that you apreciated your stay at our hotel.

We hope you will come back,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As part of our Tauck Culturious tour in October, 2012 we spent 2 nights at this charming hotel right on the edge of town. What a great spot. You could grab one of their bicycles and ride around the delightful rampart and through Lucca as much as you liked. The rooms are clean. The bed was hard (as are Italian hotel beds).
The brekky was pretty good although nothing special. The downside was the "get your own" tea and coffee. You do not expect this in Italy! For goodness sake, have someone make you that Italian coffee and personally serve it to you and not get a young member of the staff "sour faced" and unwilling to assist you. It was a disappointment. The reception staff are very helpful. Loved the hotel, with the exception of the brekky and get your own coffee!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Madame,
we are sorry for your disappoint.
The buffet is always available all day long, the guests are free to take soft drinks, hot drinks, beer, sparkling wine and snacks any time they want.
However we are really sorry about the behaviour of a member of our staff. It's our intent to help the guests any time they need.
Anyway we also want to thank you for the other compliments you had for us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Ilaria on the last night of a two-and-a-half week trip to Italy, and I can honestly say that one night was not long enough. The hotel is situated right inside one of the gate to the old city and is perfectly located for walking and biking through Lucca. We were upgraded to the Tower suite in the nearby Residence d'Alba, I believe because the hotel was full for a conference. The accommodations were wonderful, the service was great and breakfast quite delicious and varied. We especially liked being able to use the complimentary bicycles for riding along the walls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Goodevening,

thank you very much for writing about or hotel on the web.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and you apreciated the free upgrade to the tower suite. Sometimes it happens that superior rooms or suites are available, in that case we prefer doing upgrades in order to satisfy our guests.

We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was easily the best hotel we stayed in during our trip to Italy. We were in the Tower Suite which is located just a 100m down the street from the main hotel. The room was fantastic, great bed, great furnishings, huge bathroom with jet tub. We really enjoyed the service, location and overall experience at the Hotel Ilaria & Residenza dell'Alba. Lucca is a gem and should be on your Itinerary if you vist the area. Was great that the hotel staff could recommend a fantastic restaurant and even a place to go for drinks.

Room Tip: Ask, beg or upgrade whatever it takes to get the Tower Suite its a fantastic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Good evening,

thank you very much for writing about the hotel and sharing your comment. It is always much apreciated reading new reviews, even more if they are good.
We are pleased you enjoyed your room, your stay and Lucca too.

We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Ilaria is very well located and we couldn't have asked for better in terms of comfort, cleanliness and friendly service from the staff and front desk. Central in Lucca it's an easy walk to anywhere. Breakfasts were excellent, We had a very memorable time here and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Good evening,

thank you so much for this kind review. We are glad to know that you had memorable time here and that you intend to come back.

We hope to see you soon,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#2 Business Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ilaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ilaria to your Saves list