We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Introduction to Lucca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le mura di Lucca

Le mura di Lucca
Lucca, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 41 attractions in Lucca
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
122 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Introduction to Lucca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Lucca was recommended to us by many friends as a place to visit. We were staying about ten minutes drive outside the old town. It was an easy drive to a local parking station outside the city walls.
Our walk around the walls of the old city was wonderful. Bikers, parents with strollers, many walkers and even police cars all added to the atmosphere of our walk. Views from the wall were great. Access to the old town was available from many points during our walk, however we were keen to complete the whole four km circumference of the city.
The town itself was vibrant, busy and certainly tourist orientated.
If you stayed in the old town, as recommended to us, I am sure one would get a slightly different perspective of the old town of Lucca, as we may have got. Mid-September was still a very busy tourist time in Lucca, as expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,141
    334
    24
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Characteristic of Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great way to wile away the afternoon wandering around the beautiful walls of Lucca, even on the pouring rain in November! Beautiful autumn leaves and tree lined paths. Definitely symbol of Lucca. White a long walk to get around the whole thing but can go up or down as one pleases.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“GREAT RAMPARTS, A GARDEN AROUND THE CITY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is one of the impressive things of Lucca., I live in Parma but am a Brit. Never seen anything like these walls, so preserved and so antquely splendid and stately. The approach to the city is unmissable: the sight is breathtaking. Unmissable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great walk and orientation of Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We Took this walk of about 4klms for the lap of the old wall surrounding Lucca's old city. It was a fine sunny but chilly morning and there were lots of locals walking, jogging and cycling with us. The history is palpable, the views serene, and the experience both very relaxing and inspiring. Take the walk...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“This is Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

You simply cannot come to Lucca and not take in the wall. However you enjoy it - walk, jog or bike - it is what Lucca is all about. The entire path on the wall around the city is a paved parkway lined with trees and spectacular views of the city. It is 4 km (2.5 miles) around, so a bike ride takes about a half hour. But you'll probably want to stop a time or two and just enjoy the view. Take a picnic lunch and do a little people-watching. The ramparts are very unusual - this city wall escaped being bombed during WWII, so it is perfectly preserved and maintained. Don't miss it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le mura di Lucca also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Le mura di Lucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le mura di Lucca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le mura di Lucca to your Saves list