We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Introduction to Lucca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le mura di Lucca

Le mura di Lucca
, Lucca, Italy
390583583086
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$68*
and up
Lucca Aperitivo Tour with Wine Tasting and Food Sampling
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Introduction to Lucca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Lucca was recommended to us by many friends as a place to visit. We were staying about ten minutes drive outside the old town. It was an easy drive to a local parking station outside the city walls.
Our walk around the walls of the old city was wonderful. Bikers, parents with strollers, many walkers and even police cars all added to the atmosphere of our walk. Views from the wall were great. Access to the old town was available from many points during our walk, however we were keen to complete the whole four km circumference of the city.
The town itself was vibrant, busy and certainly tourist orientated.
If you stayed in the old town, as recommended to us, I am sure one would get a slightly different perspective of the old town of Lucca, as we may have got. Mid-September was still a very busy tourist time in Lucca, as expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,198
    682
    50
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Characteristic of Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great way to wile away the afternoon wandering around the beautiful walls of Lucca, even on the pouring rain in November! Beautiful autumn leaves and tree lined paths. Definitely symbol of Lucca. White a long walk to get around the whole thing but can go up or down as one pleases.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GREAT RAMPARTS, A GARDEN AROUND THE CITY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is one of the impressive things of Lucca., I live in Parma but am a Brit. Never seen anything like these walls, so preserved and so antquely splendid and stately. The approach to the city is unmissable: the sight is breathtaking. Unmissable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great walk and orientation of Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We Took this walk of about 4klms for the lap of the old wall surrounding Lucca's old city. It was a fine sunny but chilly morning and there were lots of locals walking, jogging and cycling with us. The history is palpable, the views serene, and the experience both very relaxing and inspiring. Take the walk...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“This is Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

You simply cannot come to Lucca and not take in the wall. However you enjoy it - walk, jog or bike - it is what Lucca is all about. The entire path on the wall around the city is a paved parkway lined with trees and spectacular views of the city. It is 4 km (2.5 miles) around, so a bike ride takes about a half hour. But you'll probably want to stop a time or two and just enjoy the view. Take a picnic lunch and do a little people-watching. The ramparts are very unusual - this city wall escaped being bombed during WWII, so it is perfectly preserved and maintained. Don't miss it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le mura di Lucca also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Le mura di Lucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le mura di Lucca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.