We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria da Rosolo

Osteria da Rosolo
Corte Campana, 3, 55100 Lucca, Italy
+39 0583 312037
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 406 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: During the summer we are open all day from 12:00 to 22:00. Our closing day is Wednesday.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Friendly little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Good, honest, well-cooked Italian food at reasonable prices. The owner and waiter were both charming. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    226
    44
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Superb little restaurant, friendly staff, well prepared food on an interesting menu. I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“magical evening.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had dinner there the night of the Illuminati procession which was sensational. It was right on one side of an enormous piazza which was lit solely by candles and there was a clear sky and a half moon. They had a prix fixe menu for the evening which was wonderful, accompanied by a variety of wines and they were most generous, affable and attentive. It was really a magical evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington, United States
1 review
“Lunch at Rosolo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Since arriving in Lucca we have eaten here twice. The homemade raviolis with spinach and cheese with cream sauce was the best I have ever eaten! My partner had the Seabass on pasta with a white cream sauce as well. The owner and staff were particularly capable and very friendly. After the bill had arrived my partner asked if he could add a dessert to the bill and the owner insisted on giving him the desert for free. It was vanilla ice cream with Grand Marnier and it was phenomenal. It was very nice of the owner because the dessert was not on the menu. In the 10 days we've been at Lucca we've eaten in probably 10 or 12 restaurants and this restaurant was the most fun and enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Losing the Faith in TA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Ordinary at best. Italian cuisine does not move forward quickly but this place really is stuck in time. Service is attentive but the restaurant is dull and the menus look as if they have been kicked around the floor as does the food. A creamy sauce tries to hide a multitude of sins. On the up side the menu does change daily. Enough said I am a very positive reviewer but that is the best I can do !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria da Rosolo also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Osteria da Rosolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria da Rosolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.