We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il Mattoncino, historic centre

Saved Save
You added Il Mattoncino, historic centre to your Saves list.
Outside
Outside
Outside
terrace
living room
living room
sofa-bed in living room
Lucca
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rick-Shon...
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb, spacious, quiet appartment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Everything we expected and more, we were met at the apartment by Mrs Simonetta, who had good English, and she gave us some tips about Lucca, showed us around the apartment and took payment. The apartment is excellent, very spacious for two and well equipped. There are many good restaurants and local shops within a short walk. Recommend a regular early morning walk around the walls before its gets too warm.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2013
I thank you for your unexpected review. I try to make my home cozy and I'm happy if guests appreciate it.Lucca is really fascinating and Simonetta knows all his secrets! I wish you a fruitful summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Daisy1878...
Lucca, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“It was very nice, very clean, very comfortable and we had al we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

One thing we missed a little bit was a coffeepercolator. The rest was all ok. Just a few little things : it was difficult to get in with the key because the lock of door went open very difficult. We could'n get acces to internet and the television was out of work. But these are peanuts because.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the location and the quietness
Liked least: there were none
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Susan575
Highland, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This was my fourth stay at Il Mattonicino. The location is perfect -- on a quiet street inside the walls of Lucca, yet close to the center, convenient for spending extended periods of time exploring all of the sites of this beautiful and interesting City. The apartment has been beautifully restored and is comfortable for either short or long term visits. The apartment also gives you easy access to both the bus and train stations for day trips to other Tuscan towns. The quality of food in Lucca is extremely high with a wide range of restaurants, varying from more formal dining to delightful local/family spots. A word must also be said about Annalisa, the owner and Simonetta, the agent. They are both extremely thoughtful, friendly and very helpful.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The comfort and location of the apartment
Liked least: The odd shower
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ILoveITAL...
Millom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real Italian Neighbour. La Dolci Vita. Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was very clean and airy. Very friendly people and near to all the sites and the bus station but really quiet at night. So relaxing lying on the sofa in the heat of the day with all the windows open listening to the lovely music coming from one of the apartment across the street and the the lady next door singing quietly whilst doing her housework. There was no problem with booking or access to the property as both the owner and the lady who gave me the keys were very nice and helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: How comfortable it was it in the apartment in the heat of the day with the windows open. Lovely breeze.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice reviewu, I'm happy you like my home and hope you will retourne in Lucca in the next seasons. I wish you an happy new year and Good Cristmas.
Warm regards,
Annalisa Baldini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$83
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Annalisa B
39 3933246422
Speaks English, Italian
Listed since : Feb 2008
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing