We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Good Service, but not near the centre.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Romana 1247, I-55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 58 hotels in Lucca
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Good Service, but not near the centre.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We, a family of four, stopped here on an overnight stop in August 2012, on our way back up to Monaco from Rome. The hotel itself is not technically in Lucca, as it is on the outskirts, just outside the town sign boundary. On the outside the building looks a little dated, with pseudo Moorish architecture. However, inside, the hotel is very nice and spacious with a dedicated reception area and a separate bar area. Although there is WiFi throughout the building, there is a public computer and printer in the reception area, if you need to run of any documents, such as boarding passes, etc.

Checking in at reception was a breeze with the receptionists speaking both Italian and English (to a good standard). As other reviewers have stated, this hotel appears to have a deal with a far east tour company, as there was a coach load of tourists from Hong Kong checking in, just after us. However, this didn't affect the check in process, as I believe that the tour guide does this en mass.

The very spacious family room that we booked was excellent and was fitted to a fairly high standard. Two separate rooms with a spacious toilet/bathroom. The main bedroom had a double bed, fitted wardrobes and a flat screen TV. The other room had two single beds, wardrobes, a flat screen TV and a dinning table and chairs. There was also a coffee making facility in the room. Also, a big plus when visiting Italy in August, the Air Con was good.

Our hotel deal included a buffet breakfast, which was very good. A wide selection of savory and sweet items and coffee adhoc (just tell the barrister what type of coffee you require and they will prepare it fresh). Tea and other beverages are self service.

With regards to visiting Lucca (the walled city area), it is quite a long way to walk. Therefore, I suggest that you either drive your car to the outskirts of the first city wall and park up (free after a certain time), or you take a taxi. The drive to the city centre is one straight main road, so you shouldn't get lost. Once within the walled city, you can hire a cycle for a small fee and actually cycle around the outer city wall (as well as anywhere else in the city). Cycling and walking really are the best way to get around this beautiful part of Tuscany.

In Conclusion: We found this hotel to be excellent value and would definitely stay here again. In fact, out of all the places we stayed in Italy and France this summer holiday, this hotel was our children's favorite (probably due to spaciousness of the rooms, beats Novotel any day...)

With regards to Lucca, it is a hidden gem. Everybody talks about Florence, Pisa and Siena. However, you must visit Lucca. It is a charming beautiful town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    200
    58
    10
    5
See reviews for
97
144
14
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed with our 3 children in a spacious and very affordable suite with one master bedroom and one living room with 2 beds and a large bathroom with tub *and* shower
The rooms was very clean, and well isolated from the street noise, and fully equipped with large flatscreen tvs in each bedroom and a large choice of channels
Nice an comfortable beds
Breakfast was fabulous (including allergy-specific products) and staff friendly and attentive.
Reception desk staff was also competent and fluent in English.
The only down side is the location of the hotel: it is 1.5 km from central Lucca, and walking there is not an option (esp w children) in the absence of pedestrian pavement. A public shuttle is available but stops service at 20:00 so a car is a must. That being said, parking is well organized at the entrance of the city so it was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel - as you can see - has had quite mixed reviews. I would definitely read reviews carefully as some the comments really hit home upon arrival. I realize some of my concerns may not be of concern for everyone, but I will highlight some of them:
The hotel is quite far away from town and the road around it is quite busy so I wouldn't feel comfortable riding into town - especially with kids. The place is pretty dated and in a fairly unattractive part of town. There is no pool and no grounds to speak of. There is little for kids to do and the games room is meagre. The staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel had mixed reviews but the room we stayed in was very nice bathroom looked new very clean. Overall the whole hotel very clean the breakfast room was the same , The breakfast was very good with lots ob choice. The hotel did have a strange feel very large corridors and 4 lift is was massive. On the 5th floor you can access a small area to sunbathe only 2 loungers.
The bus stops right outside the hotel you to Lucca it does drop you right within the walls.Last bus back is about 8.0pm but walk to the train station 2 minutes away and a taxi cost us just 6 euro's.Buy your bus tickets from reception cost 1 euro each way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 4 nights (3rd to 7th July 2012). This hotel deserves the title "Grand" - the foyer etc is beautiful. Our room was large, super king size bed & really good air con (needed as temps in high 90s). Breakfast was fine - hot & cold choices as well as pastries, fruit etc & also decent teabags! We were on bed & breakfast package so did not eat dinner but did have snack in bar & wine etc was reasonably priced .Location is not far from the walled city of Lucca. Bus stop straight outside hotel BUT - despite timetables bus did not come after 6.30 pm. We took car into Lucca in the evening & found plenty of parking in the walled city - parking is also free after 8 pm. This hotel is an ideal base for visiting Pisa, Florence, Viareggio & Montecatini. We intend to return to this hotel next year

Room Tip: we were in room 207 which looked onto other rooms (hotel is H shaped). Ask for room at back for bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stay in 4* hotels every week all around Italy, especially Best Western as I have great confidence in their standards, when visiting a new Hotel the first thing that I check is the guest ratings on the many internet booking sites and this is what persuaded me to choose the Guinigi as it has almost full marks from thousands of reviews over many years from all of the major booking sites that I viewed. :-) There is an odd bad comment on some guest reviews from an odd guest but there are always "odd" people wherever you go ;-)

The Guinigi is a major large 4* Hotel in every way, used by Major Business's from around the world and tour travel companies so there is always a variety of international people to chat with.

I now stay at the Grand Hotel Guinigi many times each year on Business and on family Vacation visits as it is the most spacious Hotel in the area. This Hotel has a lot of multi lingual staff in reception, Kety,Chiara, Elisa and more colleagues. Restaurant (open till 10pm and bar (open till midnight), All of the Guinigi staff are very helpful and friendly indeed so the service is fantastic and cleanliness of the rooms and main areas is exceptional too.

There is a great modern Gym on the top floor that also has a sauna and an outside balcony with sun loungers for sun bathing. Wifi internet is all free and is good on all floors, the PC in reception area is free as well. There are a variety of rooms available, all very spacious, clean and modern, I quite like the environmentally friendly modern secure card entry in the rooms as it turns on all the electrics automatically and then off when you leave, very secure. I have stayed in family and executive suites here too as they are very favourably priced.

Parking is very important in Lucca as it is very difficult at best but here at the Guinigi parking is FREE and is very plentiful, Most times I like to walk to the town in 10 minutes and call in at local bars and restaurants on the way, bicycle hire is only 2 euro per hour, a bus and taxi is available as well which I sometimes use on the return trip, The reception is open 24 hours and Stefano and Lorenzo will welcome you home at all hours of the early morning ;-).

The restaurant offers a wide array of local cuisine, soups, pastas, meats and fish dishes and a great selection of wines. I eat out a lot every week and the prices are very favorable at the Guinigi Restaurant when compared to local restaurants in Lucca.

In the morning the plentiful Breakfast is served in one of the downstairs Restaurants until 10.30am, again there are many very helpful staff to make sure you have everything you need, there is a wide variety on offer, the usual continental style cheeses, breads, croissants, Toast, fruits, cereals, yoghurts and cakes but they also have Eggs, boiled and scrambled, and bacon fruit juices teas and espresso coffees. I was impressed.

At the Bar Dominic and his staff keep this area very well and service is swift, often there will be live sports on the TV, there are free bar snacks from late afternoon as well as hot sandwiches until midnight off the bar menu. The ice cold Draught (spina) Forst lager beer (birra) is very good. they also have bottled beers, a good wine list, cocktails selection and most major spirits.

There is a great modern Gym on the top floor that also has a sauna and an outside balcony with sun loungers for sun bathing. Wifi internet is all free and the signal is good on all 5 floors.

I have stayed in other Hotels in Lucca as well and I like those too but for me and my family the Guinigi just has extra reasons to be happy here, its why we keep coming back. Take that as a recommendation for you to be here too. :-) enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: They are all good and are double glazed so any noise is minimal. If you prefer a bath, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guinigi, Meeting and Group Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Mr Camm, I would like to give you my heartfelt thanks to you for your review that is a pride for all of us and our Grand Hotel Guinigi. Mr Camm, we are honoured that you choose our Hotel and we will continue to do our best to be worthy of your selection.
Arrivederci!
Serena Panelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights to visit the surrounding areas. The town of Lucca itself is easy enough to get to from Pisa airport / train station (about 45 minutes away), however the hotel isn't in the centre of Lucca. We obtained bus times and a map from Tourist Information, just outside the city walls, and the bus driver helped by letting us know which stop to get off at. The bus journey was only 10 minutes approx.

Our double room was a good size, modern and spotlessly clean, service was good and breakfast was lovely; bacon and eggs aswell as an extensive continental selection including cereals, fresh fruit, different pastries and biscuits, cheeses and cold meats, yoghurts and fruit juices. We didn't have dinner at the hotel as the menu looked quite expensive. There's a nice bar area and also a fitness suite and sauna, which we never got time to use.

The location isn't ideal if you want to spend a bit of time sightseeing as the last bus from the centre of Lucca is at 8pm, not great if you fancy a late dinner or drinks and a taxi to the hotel cost €7.50 so the cost of transport throughout our couple of days in Lucca mounted up a fair bit and we went over budget. There's a bus stop right outside the hotel though, which is great (purchase tickets from the hotel reception for €1 each, buying from the bus driver will cost double)

Overall we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, would definitely recommend but would point out that hiring a car might be worthwhile if staying more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi

Address: Via Romana 1247, I-55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lucca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#11 Family Hotel in Lucca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located near the historic center, offers tasteful decor, meeting facilities, restaurant & bar; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Hotel.de and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lucca
Lucca Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.