We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Divine"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca Calasto

Enoteca Calasto
Piazza S. Giovanni 5, Lucca, Italy
+390583954267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 431 restaurants in Lucca
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Gouvieux, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Divine"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We lunched here on our first day in Lucca, and enjoyed it so much that we returned the next day. My tagliatelle con funghi (pasta with mushrooms) was superb - or "divine" as my wife said when she tasted it. At €11 the first day, and €9 as a daily special the next day, it was outstanding value for money.
You can eat inside or out; we enjoyed being on the terrace. A good selection of local wines by the glass, carafe or bottle. Bilingual service on day 1, perfectly adequate English on day 2.
Strongly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    35
    27
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delightful little wine bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived late in Lucca, were looking for a simple late lunch and hit upon this little wine bar. It specialises in local Lucca wine and olive oil. The local vermentino we drank was cold and refreshing, perfect for an August afternoon. The waitress/owner was very knowledgable and helpful, the food simple but good. It sits on a pretty piazza where you can watch the world go by. We also got some general advice about Lucca which was very helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice wine/food bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

we took lunch in this wine/food bar. Nice service by the staff. The food was ok but not extra ordinary. It was a nice calm atmosphere and view on the terrace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The enoteca in Lucca is a very good place to have a bite to eat. The food is reasonably priced and the menu is divers, as well are the drinks. The waiter was adequately quick in taking orders and was able to take our order in English. Moreover on the menu it states the Enoteca personnel is able to help you out in Italian, English and Danish. We haven't seen any of the last language in practise, but I am sure someone there will speak it. The food itself is very good: medium plates for a good price, so you have an appetiser, primi e secondi without feeling stuffed. The only downside is that the interior (outside) isn't as tasteful as inside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Let down!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are interested in wine, don´t go there. The wine makers of the region would be disappointed to see how their wines are represented in an uninspiring, too hot and too indifferent way. Sad for a very interesting and seemingly good initiative.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Calasto also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Enoteca Calasto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca Calasto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.