We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny but elegant room in heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Luna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Luna to your Saves list
Hotel La Luna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fillungo | Corte Compagni 12, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Tiny but elegant room in heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lucca is a world class Medieval walled city, and entirely pedestrianized, so it is no surprise that access to the inner city is challenging. Getting into the Hotel La Luna is difficult, to say the least, but the location, once you have succeeded in getting there, is unbeatable. We came as a small group tour in a large van. Our driver/guide had to drop us off some distance away, and call the hotel to arrange for a permit to enter the inner city within the walls, then drive a considerable distance to a parking lot. On our departure it was raining, but luckily the traffic on Saturday morning was light, and our driver was able (with white knuckles) to get the van into the close approaching the hotel. Finding the way out, squeezing through the narrow Medieval streets past bicycles, pedestrians and cars, proved to be a real test, as there did not seem to be any signage directing you to the exit from the inner city. The hotel is lovely, though the rooms are tiny (so tiny there was no floor space for a suitcase). Although the rooms have modern electronic card keys, these do not open the door to the annex where our rooms were, so you have to ask the front desk to buzz you in. The woodwork, furniture and doors, are exquisite, and everything is updated and modern. The window to an air shaft was shuttered, making it quiet, but dark, almost like an inside room in a cruise ship. The bathroom was tiny but sparkling and functional. The mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable. The breakfast room was small and crowded, and the food average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    70
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
41
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We arrived drenched and in a downpour in November 2013. We were warmly greeted, provided with garage parking and offered umbrellas and hot drinks. The staff couldn't have been nicer. They even came out in the rain, crossed over to our building and assisted us with the tv and heat. They also made an excellent dinner recommendation and the following morning cheerfully provided a bountiful and healthy breakfast along with fantastic coffee choices. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very clean room. Right in center of town. Easy to get to restaurants, shops and access to path on the wall surrounding this gem of a city. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fine breakfast included. Highly recommended and can't wait to return !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hidden gem in Lucca. Well situated in the centre of the walled medieval city, the hotel has plenty of charm and it is tucked away just off one of the main streets. The staff were great, cheeful and very helpful. Lucca has plenty to offer and it is easy to get around, whether on foot or cycling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I cannot fault this beautiful old coach house. It was quiet and the staff were so friendly and helpful. It was good value for money (50 Euros per night plus tax) and the room was comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. It was also central to all Lucca's many attractions.

Room Tip: We were in the Annexe. Do not go to John Jones' room as apparently the water cistern gurgles all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a great little unpretentious hotel, wonderfully located on a courtyard smack in the centre of Lucca. The price is good value. It is family run and very friendly. They are very helpful. The breakfast was good. This hotel gets the basics right. This was the most enjoyable hotel experience we had during our ten day trips to Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

In September, this year, 2013, we once again had an amazing experience with Hotel La Luna.
Sara, the very attractive and attentive daughter of the owner was once again absolutely fantastic.
We booked into this fabulously located hotel right in the centre of Lucca on the main street, Via Filungo. Sara reorganised the bookings one afternoon while she offered us a free coffee so that my husband and I could be accommodated in the part of the hotel that has a lift, (due to his heart problems). This young lady is a fantastic ambassadress to sit on the front desk representing her family business. She absolutely went out of her way for us.
This is typical of this wonderful hotel. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and well accommodated.
Thank you Sara and once again we very highly recommend this hotel, its prices are reasonable, rooms are great, very beautifully decorated Lucchese style and very clean and it has the best location in Lucca. You will love it. We look forward to seeing you again next year!!

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs then request to be put into the building that has a lift. If possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Luna

Address: Via Fillungo | Corte Compagni 12, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel
La Luna Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.