We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mixture of location, comfort, and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Luna to your Saves list
Hotel La Luna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fillungo | Corte Compagni 12, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect mixture of location, comfort, and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My family enjoyed staying at La Luna in July 2012. The rooms were basic but comfortable and clean; the breakfasts were filling and tasty; the service was personable and helpful; and the location convenient to the major sites and fantastic restaurants of Lucca. While the piazza outside the hotel provided a slice of Italian life, the sounds contributed rather than detracted from my first exposure to Italy. I hope I can return to La Luna.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping, ask for an interior room away from the stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    74
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
43
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Can't beat this location at the center of the walled city! Rooms were clean and adequate. The square outside our window got very lively and noisy in the early-late evening....but it was a pleasure to listen to the music and laughter. When we had enough...we shut the window and shutters which blocked out the sound 100%. Great reception staff and breakfast.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We really enjoyed La Luna. At first we thought it was a little expensive but as soon as we checked in we felt it was well worth it. The room we stayed in had a 20 foot ceiling at least, with what seemed to be frescos high above us on the walls! The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The windows overlooked the restaurant across the piazza. An excellent breakfast buffet is included. During breakfast the bar next door is made available by the staff for your favorite morning caffination. The front desk was manned 24 hours... and always with very helpful and friendly people. I would have to say that the staff at La Luna made us feel as though we were in a much fancier hotel. The best thing was the location - mid-way on the Via Filungo. A busy, upscale neighborhood with shops, vendors, restaurants - right around us within a very few blocks. Great location, excellent service, spacious rooms - worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

As another reviewer wrote: "Arrived in Lucca with nothing booked and after going to the tourist information center inside the city wall, we were directed towards the La Luna." We did the same thing! We did have a car, and while parking space was limited, the staff was very accommodating. We found Eddo (owner) and Paolo very helpful (especially with driving directions) and informative. The room was pretty basic, but met our needs. Very clean and quiet. The hotel is centrally located within the city walls.

We ended up staying 2 nights and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Arrived in Lucca with nothing booked and after going to the tourist information centre inside the city wall, we were directed towards the La Luna.
While the hotel itself was fairly basic, the location was ideal and the service staff were excellent...nothing was too much of a problem. We paid €15 extra a night for parking which while it was secure, was a wee way from the hotel
The breakfast was the standard European fare of cereals, bread, cheese and meat but enough to start the day.
The room was fine for three although it looked out over the street in front where restaurant noise lasted wll into the evening and with the ac not working, opening the windows was imperative.
If you are after location, this is the place....it you want four or five star, look for something else.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

And, a very nice breakfast spread. The property is clean, and it appears that one can arrange "parking" with hotel staff, if requested in advance. We were with a tour group, so we dragged our bags through the town walls, and down the main pedestrian street. The staff at the hotel was very helpful. And, the air-conditioning worked very well. To quote another "This hotel is all about location, location, location . . ."

Room Tip: Our room was in the "annex" and over looked the main entry courtyard. It was a nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

During the first week of June, we enjoyed our 2 night stay in this beautiful hotel just off one of the Via Fillungo and Corte Compagni. The large bedroom on the 3rd floor was spacious with a beautiful ceiling. This family run hotel included continental type breakfast by friendly and helpful staff. It was clean and well kept. The hotel was conveniently located near the piazza anfiteatro and easy walk to all areas of the city including the wall that surrounds the city. There are also wonderful restaurants all around. What a relaxing time we had.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but hotel only has 2 floors above the main floor. Staff will assist with lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Luna

Address: Via Fillungo | Corte Compagni 12, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel
La Luna Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.