We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but good accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Hotel Puccini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Piccolo Hotel Puccini to your Saves list
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Poggio 9, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cheap but good accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This very small hotel is very well situated in central Lucca and the staff are lovely - very helpful. It is totally charming downstairs with a small seating area for waiting for a taxi. The one member of staff on duty at a time was really helpful and told us all he wanted was for us to have a happy holiday and if we needed anything, just ask. He even knew off by heart the train times to Florence. Every request was fulfilled with a smile.

Considering that the price for a double en-suite room was around 89 Euros for us both, I was unsure what to expect. The room was smallish but big enough for us and very clean. The en-suite was basic but also very clean. Rooms were comfortable but not luxurious but for the price, I thought what we got was very good and considering the situation of the hotel, it was well worth the price and good friendly service.

The safe made us laugh as I could pick it up and run off with it but as the owner said, there is no chance of theft from any of the hotel rooms as the robber would have to walk past the reception desk and he knows everyone staying there. There is no lift but the receptionist carried our bags up for myself and my daughter.

Breakfast was simple but adequate. We had no problems here and would happily stay again. As the website says, the hotel is "safe, warm, and intimate". I would agree.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the street but it was always quiet and we had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    82
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
84
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We have been staying at the Piccolo Puccini Hotel when visiting family and Northern Tuscanny over many years. Paolo and Franco, the owners, treat everyone like family. You get to know the traditional values and charm of this particular slice of Italy. This albergo is small and quaint. Extremely well located in the medievial center of this walled historic city. Safely walk the cobbled stone streets to the roman amphiteater, Puccini's House where he wrote several of his world acknowledged operas, sip great coffee drinks while eating the local buccelatto or attend a free outdoor concert. A 12th century archers' militia may parade down a narrow viale, twirling their flags high into the blue sky! These and many more attractions, including easy access for jaunts to the Italian Riviera beaches, Pisa, Florence, and the fabulous natural setting of the Garfagnana alps make a visit to Lucca so special. We stay at the piccolo Puccini Hotel in Lucca at then explore from this wonderful homey base all that the "off the radar" Lucca/Tuscanny has to offer. Oh, did I mention that Lucca , being just over the hill from the Ligurian sea cools down at night? Why spend a day on a jet and not experience what you came for?



sheraton experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Very central in the Old Town of Lucca but away from the busy shopping street. Room was a good size but without a fridge or good hanging and shelving space and no AC but it did have a good ceiling fan. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Discount offered for cash. We thought this hotel was a touch expensive, particularly with no breakfast, as compared to other hotels we stayed in, in Italy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Perfect location overlooking the square where Puccini's statue sits. Reception staff helpful and charming. Can wander out of front door straight into the streets of this delightful town. No aircon which could be of concern during hot ... room basic but comfortable. We loved our stay and will be returning in 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We used the Puccini as a rendezvous for our group of eleven starting the Via Francegina walk to Siena. The location of the hotel, up a quiet side-street, was ideal as a base to explore Lucca, though we wish wish we cold have spent more time there, Staff could not have been more friendly in helping out and waiting for some of our party whose flights were late. There is a annexe building where we stayed which is equally comfortable and secure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

There's never been an equal to the location of this property and the incredible attention given to guests' every need by Paolo and Franco cannot be beat. The rooms were, however, looking a little dated and the carpets were showing their age. NOW...WOW! The new floors are just beautiful and the rooms have a sleek - yet welcoming - Italian-designer look. Hope to be a guest there for another eighteen years and offering further favorable commentary on this experience (more than just a hotel "stay") in the very center of beautiful Lucca. (Breakfast a real delight, too: you meet the most interesting people from all over the world. It's like joining friends, old and new, in a wonderfully hospitable atmosphere.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June as the weather was hotting up. Air-conditioning would have been welcome but the ceiling fan did help to a degree.We kept the shutters closed all the time to keep the temperature down.
Our room was very clean and comfortable but rather bare and bland, if such things concern you. The bed was good and the bathroom worked well and was clean - all you really need. We could have used a minibar to keep drinks cold. Breakfast was a very small affair - both in terms of the space available and the quantity of food!
The staff were very helpful and welcoming but the biggest plus for the hotel is its location - very central to everything you might want to see/visit (Lucca is not very big) and with plenty of cafes and restaurants very nearby.
If I were staying longer in Lucca, I might want to seek out a hotel with more character but for a couple of nights and little time spent indoors, it was a very useful base.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#13 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#14 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna
Hotel La Luna
#33 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo
#6 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alla Dimora Lucense
Alla Dimora Lucense
#18 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Puccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Puccini

Address: Via di Poggio 9, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Hotel Puccini 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Puccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Hotel Puccini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.