We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight Despite Intrinsic Obstacles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Hotel Puccini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Piccolo Hotel Puccini to your Saves list
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
Via di Poggio 9, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Delight Despite Intrinsic Obstacles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location is excellent. The front counter service (at least during the day) includes impeccable English. (At night, not much English, but still courteous.) We had a comfortable room (alas, no a/c) overlooking a pleasant courtyard, featuring a charming outdoor restaurant. The daytime clerk (excellent English) was as helpful as he could be. Our only issue was that we should have been strongly discouraged from even trying to drive a car into the restricted zone in center city. Instead, we wasted an entire afternoon of a quite short trip trying to find the hotel, then finally parking outside the medieval walls (at a place, yes, that the clerk recommended). We loved a walk along the ramparts of the old city walls and managed with parking, despite the need to scramble for change to feed meters every 12 hours or so. The hotel: Clean, nicely appointed. The lack of a/c was a bit of a surprise, but we were there in early September, so not so much a problem. I'd recommend it. You certainly can't beat the location -- but plan to park outside the old city.

Room Tip: Try for the second floor, overlooking the statue of Puccini. Even if you're not an opera fan, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    76
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
77
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice hotel in the centre of Lucca, the guy helped us a lot with our car-parking and with everything. Hotel was clean, breakfast was very nice. And it wasn's as expensive as I expected, the value for money was great. I can only recommend Piccolo Hotel Puccini.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice hotel ,lovely view looked out onto puccini sq and statue ! Clean rooms hotel could do with update but suited us fine as it was very good position and reasonably priced ! Would certainly go back for weekend and lovely staff , thank you Jill and Sŷd

Room Tip: Drawer curtains with c Pick good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Traditional hotel, with very pleasant reception and breakfast area. The staff are helpful, professional and friendly and the rooms spotless. No aircon - but even in the hottest part of the year the ceiling fan was sufficient to make sleeping comfortable at night. The central location is just an added bonus and I spent a very enjoyable 2 weeks here in the height of summer enjoying great Italian hospitality. This is not just great value for money - it was a pleasure to stay here

Room Tip: Rooms facing Piazza Citadella receive sun during the day - not a problem if you are not spending ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This traditional little hotel, with its cramped reception area, heavy curtains, and broken shutters, may be something of a relic from the past – but it is superbly located in the middle of Lucca’s historic centre. Indeed, our room (54) had a window directly overlooking Puccini’s statue in the Piazza Cittadella – a lovely small square surrounded by cafés, bars, and restaurants – and we were only a few yards from the main Piazza Michele.
The mediaeval walled city of Lucca is a good access point for the open-air Puccini opera festival at Torre del Lago (c. 30 minutes by shuttle), but is well worth a visit in its own right: numerous little streets and alleyways, with palaces, churches, and openings into café-lined squares – and without the touristy and self-conscious ‘museum’ feeling of some other towns. There are numberless places to eat and drink, and we can particularly recommend Osteria Tosca in Piazza Cittadella – where the imaginatively prepared food was excellent and served in a friendly and efficient manner (best to book in advance for an outside table).
The Piccolo Puccini makes no pretence to be 5-star, but its rooms and bathrooms are perfectly adequate; we were not disturbed by noise or (with our overhead fan) excessive heat – and (with reference to an earlier review) saw no sign of any mosquitoes. And staff were always most friendly and helpful. We much enjoyed our 3-night stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 53 and 54 have outlook to Piazza Cittadella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice place to stay. Very central, next to Plaza Puccini and Restaurant Tosca.Good Italian hospitality. Small, but nice rooms. clean, and fairly priced. No A/C, but fans. Just open the window, and you are part of the squirling lfe of Lucca.
Go out enjoy Lucca, dont drink and drive. and stay at this Nice Hotel.

Take care

Yours Mat N

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the PHP one night with my wife and two kids.
The room was located at the first floor with windows facing a nice street.
Our room was equipped with a double bed and a single bed, a small deck, a flat TV, a wardrobe, a safebox.and a fan ceiling.
Bathroom was small sized, with a shower and a little WC.
We did not have breakfast at the Hotel.
The lack of air conditioning doesn't allow you to close windows in summer nights and you'll probably hear some street noises.
It's basically equipped with a bit dated furnishing, but it's cheap, clean and ideally located in a lateral street from Piazza San Michele, in the middle of the old-town, within the Walls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccolo Hotel Puccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Puccini

Address: Via di Poggio 9, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Puccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Hotel Puccini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.