We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found by chance !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Hotel Puccini

Save Saved
You added Piccolo Hotel Puccini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
Via di Poggio 9, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Found by chance !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice hotel ,lovely view looked out onto puccini sq and statue ! Clean rooms hotel could do with update but suited us fine as it was very good position and reasonably priced ! Would certainly go back for weekend and lovely staff , thank you Jill and Sŷd

Room Tip: Drawer curtains with c Pick good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
67
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Traditional hotel, with very pleasant reception and breakfast area. The staff are helpful, professional and friendly and the rooms spotless. No aircon - but even in the hottest part of the year the ceiling fan was sufficient to make sleeping comfortable at night. The central location is just an added bonus and I spent a very enjoyable 2 weeks here in the height of summer enjoying great Italian hospitality. This is not just great value for money - it was a pleasure to stay here

Room Tip: Rooms facing Piazza Citadella receive sun during the day - not a problem if you are not spending ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This traditional little hotel, with its cramped reception area, heavy curtains, and broken shutters, may be something of a relic from the past – but it is superbly located in the middle of Lucca’s historic centre. Indeed, our room (54) had a window directly overlooking Puccini’s statue in the Piazza Cittadella – a lovely small square surrounded by cafés, bars, and restaurants – and we were only a few yards from the main Piazza Michele.
The mediaeval walled city of Lucca is a good access point for the open-air Puccini opera festival at Torre del Lago (c. 30 minutes by shuttle), but is well worth a visit in its own right: numerous little streets and alleyways, with palaces, churches, and openings into café-lined squares – and without the touristy and self-conscious ‘museum’ feeling of some other towns. There are numberless places to eat and drink, and we can particularly recommend Osteria Tosca in Piazza Cittadella – where the imaginatively prepared food was excellent and served in a friendly and efficient manner (best to book in advance for an outside table).
The Piccolo Puccini makes no pretence to be 5-star, but its rooms and bathrooms are perfectly adequate; we were not disturbed by noise or (with our overhead fan) excessive heat – and (with reference to an earlier review) saw no sign of any mosquitoes. And staff were always most friendly and helpful. We much enjoyed our 3-night stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 53 and 54 have outlook to Piazza Cittadella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice place to stay. Very central, next to Plaza Puccini and Restaurant Tosca.Good Italian hospitality. Small, but nice rooms. clean, and fairly priced. No A/C, but fans. Just open the window, and you are part of the squirling lfe of Lucca.
Go out enjoy Lucca, dont drink and drive. and stay at this Nice Hotel.

Take care

Yours Mat N

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the PHP one night with my wife and two kids.
The room was located at the first floor with windows facing a nice street.
Our room was equipped with a double bed and a single bed, a small deck, a flat TV, a wardrobe, a safebox.and a fan ceiling.
Bathroom was small sized, with a shower and a little WC.
We did not have breakfast at the Hotel.
The lack of air conditioning doesn't allow you to close windows in summer nights and you'll probably hear some street noises.
It's basically equipped with a bit dated furnishing, but it's cheap, clean and ideally located in a lateral street from Piazza San Michele, in the middle of the old-town, within the Walls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Mr. Moncini is a very nice host, he helped us with a last minute need for a room. The hotel is located just steps away from the beautiful Piazza S. Michele. For the location, Piccolo Hotel Puccini is priced very well. It is clean, the rooms are not large but well appointed. There is no air conditioning but ceiling fans made sleeping ok during the hot days of July. A light breakfast is available for a small charge. We also had rooms at Hotel Palazzo Alexander (see my review). If you are looking for a full service, classic beautiful Lucca hotel, stay at Palazzo Alexander. IF... you are looking for a more economical Lucca stay in a great location, Piccolo Hotel Puccini is your best choice!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel was precisely what I expected it to be: a place with excellent location and great service but with rooms perhaps in need of a bit of attention. But due to that location, much could be forgiven.

Our first-floor room 23 overlooked the front alleyway, and had a clear view of the San Michele church. During the day an endless procession of cruise ship tours would park under our window to discuss the church - until late afternoon.

The room itself was adequate. Not too small, and clean, with a decent bathroom and nice large window. It perhaps could use a general sprucing up, but then maybe next year. The outside window shutters were missing some slats - which we didn’t notice until looking at pictures from the street of my wife in the window - not too serious then.

There was no air conditioning - not a big deal due to the overhead ceiling fan. But that fan was a concern: we didn’t notice until trying to sleep that it made a fairly distinct clicking noise. By the time I could take no more the room was cool enough not to need a fan. The bed was fine, and the town quiet enough that having a open window was no trouble.

The desk personnel were all very nice. They waited up for us when we went out for a late night stroll. Breakfasts were simple affairs: croissants and cappuccino. I didn’t realize they were not included in the room until we check out and found ourselves charged about 2 euros per person. So not too expensive at all, but had we known we might have opted elsewhere the second morning.

Lucca itself was great. Sure, during the day lots of tourists. But before / after the cruise tours hit, it’s a beautiful, personable town inhabited with locals - far from a tourist trap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piccolo Hotel Puccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Puccini

Address: Via di Poggio 9, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Puccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Hotel Puccini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.