We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A SIGHT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guinigi Tower

Guinigi Tower
Via Sant'Andrea, 45, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Attractions in Lucca
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tower is easily recognizable: it has a leaning tree growing out of its top.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“WHAT A SIGHT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Visited Lucca while on a five night stay in Pisa. I did find the climb a bit difficult as I have chest problems but my husband had no trouble at all.The view over Lucca and beyond was amazing. All the roof tops and terraces were so attractive. Would do it again despite the problems I had with the climb

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    340
    57
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucca, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Its very unique however its difficult to climb. Not suitable for anyone with difficulties. On the plus side its a wonderful view and I have never seen a tower like it before.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tree-topped tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This tree-topped tower was definitely worth climbing. It wasn't a difficult climb (no narrow stairways to navigate) and the view from the top was lovely. It's quite unique with the trees that grow at the top. It was a fun stop and only took the kids about 5 minutes to walk up.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkedal, Denmark
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great view of Lucca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Having been in hundreds of towers and high places, it is quite hard to be fascinated about another. But we liked the view being able to see the entire innner city not to speak of the many etrusian roofs.

It was not that hard to get to the top and plenty of apace on the stairs most of the way. It can be pretty crowded upstairs, bht I think it is worth the 4 euros.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I'm not all that keen on heights, but it was worth facing my demons for the stunning views of this beautiful city!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guinigi Tower also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Guinigi Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guinigi Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.