We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Paolina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Paolina to your Saves list
Casa Paolina
P.zza XX Settembre 2, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Thank you Roberta and Diletta for a lovely stay and for being so helpful. We had a wonderful time in Lucca and the Madame Butterfly apartment was terrific and suited all our needs. Your apartments are in the best location, close to shops and all the main attractions. They are very clean and well equipped.

Thanks heaps - the Sampson and Convery Families

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
17
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I "had" to stay in Lucca due to plan changes when I was in a village that filled up with an event. While I'm not a Lucca fan (I've tried it 3x and still feel the same---too packed with shops and tourists for my taste), I very highly recommend Casa Paolina.

I had Apt #6 which I think is the smallest unit.1 full bedroom, not a studio. Cold A/C in living room and bedroom. Shower only in this one, no tub. Adequate, very compact, brilliantly designed for a small space, kitchen. Coffee maker with Nescafe packets. A living room TV, which I didn't turn on. At first, upon entering, I wasn't so pleased with the view of the walls of the deconsecrated church so close to my windows. After a little while, I was grateful for the privacy and quiet. Modern furnishings. Great storage. Bed is sort of comfortable. A lot of space for a moderate cost.

Now, as to the QUIET issue: this building for some reason was designed very poorly regarding sound. I assume that it is an old palazzo. How is it possible to renovate that solid building into apartments in which you hear people next door in the toilet, walking down the hall, and closing their doors? It's not terrible, but it is a touch disruptive when you are in such a lovely place.

The delightful, helpful and kind Roberta significantly enriched my Lucca experience, suggesting a piazza I may like and a restaurant. The restaurant was a great experience, with good food, a kind owner, attentive service and such wonderful ambience (Caffe della Mura). I told Roberta of my interest in contemporary art and she gave me a flyer for a "must see" exhibition and stamped the back for a small entry discount.

Roberta wanted me to see a larger apartment available if I, or someone, wanted it another date, and it was huge. A New Yorker would die for such space.

I highly recommend this apartment building to anyone who is visiting Lucca.

Room Tip: Ask for room with lots of light or better views than those facing church if you like a view. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beuningen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a great stay in Casa Paolina. The apartment was beyond our expectation. Tasteful, modern, clean and large. A friendly welcome by the helpful staff (thanks Diletta and Roberta). It is located in the center of Lucca with all the beautiful shops and restaurants around the corner. Tip; do it....You'll be surprised.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

These apartments are in a fantastic location, only a short walk from a public carpark, or you can pre-book secure parking ....very close if need be! I booked our 3 day stay through "DavinaVillas", and Roberta and Diletta are a pleasure to deal with. Both were efficient and very friendly.
The apartment itself... the "Madama Butterfly" one, has 3 bedrooms, a very large living space and a lovely balcony which overlooks Piazza Napoleon, ... this was a huge bonus! It was lovely to sit out, relax and people-watch with a pre-dinner glass of lovely tuscan wine!!
The apartments are very modern and spotless! They are well equipped.... I can't think of anything they don't have!
Lucca itself is fantastic.... well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Choose an apartment with a balcony... preferably overlooking the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The owners are really kind and helpful.
The apartments are exactly as described on the website, and have full set of equipment. Furniture is really nice and of high quality, rooms are large and sunny. The kitchen was small in our apartment, but did well its job.
The house is located straight inside the "walls" of Lucca, and allow you to visit easily the whole town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Good service from Roberta at reception and a large apartment for 2, although the floor plan could have utilized the space better. We stayed in Gianni Sachi. When we arrived all the dishes were still in the dishwasher and some cups were unclean. Also the toilet roll holder was broken and left on the bathroom shelf, the toilet brush was also broken. These were fixed quickly by my husband with the tools supplied by reception. It was not a big deal but I wonder if the apartment had been thoroughly checked after the previous occupants. Casa paolina is in a good location with a view of the square, the windows are double glazed but it is a little noisy in the morning with the street sweepers going back and forth. It is an easy walk to the train station. I would recommend this apartment but I missed the daily service of a hotel.

Room Tip: Gianni Sachi has a view of the small square and opening windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

Roberta & Diletta gave us every assistance to make our ten day stay memorable. Beautiful modernised apartment in the heart of Lucca. ideal for those who want comfort and quality place to stay among the local citizens. Lift access to the apartment! Many bars and Locandas are within 100 meters. ..............................................................

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Paolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Paolina

Address: P.zza XX Settembre 2, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Paolina apartments are just a few steps from the town centre, at the junction of the cardum and decumanum, which marked the very heart of the ancient Roman town; Casa Paolina apartments overlook Piazza XX Settembre (once called Piazza delle Erbe because a fruit and vegetable market used to take place there), Via Beccheria, Piazza San Giusto, Piazza Napoleone (the most important square in Lucca). Besides boasting a particularly central position, Casa Paolina apartments also enjoy a very pleasant sun exposure, very difficult to find in other parts of the town. Casa Paolina Holiday Apartments in Lucca are the ideal place for both a historical and modern holiday; they are set in the very heart of the pedestrian historical centre of the town, rich in history of the 12th, 17th and 18th century and very close to Via Fillungo, the “most elegant promenade” in Lucca, whose smart boutiques fill the ancient town inside the Roman walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Paolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Paolina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.