We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, good value for money. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Moderno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albergo Moderno to your Saves list
Albergo Moderno
Via Vincenzo Civitali 38 | Lucca, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great find, good value for money. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel. Great little spot for the budget I was on. Very clean. Very friendly staff, an particularly helpful. Breakfast an morning coffees were spot on. Great having outside area in mornings. 5 minutes walk to centre of lucca. Walls 2min away. Direct route to walls involve stairs over a railway line so be aware if mobility problems. Close to train station but only heard 2 or 3 trains the whole time I was there. Would recommend to others.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Albergo Moderno for 3 nights in October. I booked due to reviews on Tripadvisor. Booking was easy and the email exchange and confirmation was excellent. The hotel is behind the railway station so it took a little while to find it. But, we enjoyed the location. Easy to catch the train for quick day trips to Pisa and Florence. Super fast walk over to the old city. You can't beat the location. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. They really bent over backwards to welcome us. Breakfast was great and we really appreciated the fresh fruit. One night we brought back take out pizza from a local place around the corner. It was excellent. Everyone is so friendly in Lucca. I will definitely come back and stay at Albergo Moderno.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca T, Proprietario at Albergo Moderno, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear LD16,

thanks a lot for your positive review on Tripadvisor, my staff and me are very proud of our daily work to make Clients feel like at home and always try to be helpfull.

We look forward to meet you again soon at the Moderno Hotel in Lucca!

Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the moderno for one night for a visit to the lovely town of Lucca. Chose this hotel based on good reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. Really good location as it is literally just a few minutes easy walking to the walled town. Very clean and smart hotel, and a good breakfast choice. All the staff we met were extremely helpful and nice to deal with. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Even though the train station is close we were not disturbed by the sound of any passing trains, in fact I don't think we heard one at all.
Paul and Heather.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My favorite hotel in Italy, located 2 minutes walk from the railway station. Perfect for day trips to Pisa and the beach in Viareggio. Right next to the hotel is a train bridge, the city walls and the Summer Festival site are just 5 minutes away. (trust me, you really don't want to attend any other music festival on some muddy field and your car parked 1 hour away - after staying here). And for the paranoid ones, no, you can't hear the nearby trains. There's also a parking in front of the hotel in case you have your own wheels.
Cosy rooms, newly decorated. You enjoy breakfast on a little terrace. Like most small hotels, mostly pre-packed food, but who cares, the cafe latte's are just excellent.
What I really liked about the hotel is the heartwarming and extremely friendly service. "How was your day?", "did that medicine really work out?" and "no problem to print out your train ticket"/ Even the cleaning ladies are all friendly and smily. True hero of the lobby is Luca ("And I am from Lucca!"), always happy to have a little chat or to make you a cafe. Ciao Luca, thanks for everything.
Great place, great service and guess what, even greater value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, great location for exploring Lucca, about 5 minutes walk away from the city wall. The owner was charming, very friendly and helpful. We wanted to stay two nights, but due to bookings this involved moving to another room, the staff moved all our stuff for us. Both rooms were nicely decorated and clean. Good showers in the en suites. Plenty of choice for breakfast, which is served in a lovely, bright and airy room, there is also a little outdoor terrace . Very good value for money, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oss, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just arrived home from a wonderfull weekend in and around Lucca. This small hotel is on a nice location in two minutes you are entering the center of Lucca. The station is around the corner. you can park in the front of the hotel or close by. the the people are really kind and helpfull. The room was lovely and clean. In our opinion this hotel deserves an extra star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca T, Proprietario at Albergo Moderno, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear TahneeM431,

we all thank you so much for your positive review on Tripadvisor.com, just wish you will be able to visit us again in the future.

Best regards,
Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our one night stay in a newly decorated room on the second floor. The hotel is in a great location, just over the train bridge from the city wall.
The staff were very attentive & helpful. Breakfast was lovely and it was a joy to sit in the little terrace to enjoy fruit, yoghurts, cereals, meats & pastries.
It's become our new favourite hotel in Lucca (after trying many) and we will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Moderno

Address: Via Vincenzo Civitali 38 | Lucca, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Albergo Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Moderno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.