We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hangout in Lucca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar San Frediano

Bar San Frediano
piazza san frediano 8, Lucca, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 444 Restaurants in Lucca
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Ate lunch here with family on 2007 trip.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Hangout in Lucca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This turned out to be one of my favorite hangouts in Lucca. It was fun to watch the tourists who were usually photographing the mosaic facade of San Frediano church and it was also fun to sit in view of that facade and just enjoy some wine and a meal. The food was rather ordinary but quite tasty and the staff - which all seemed to be family of the restaurant owners - were very accommodating. Prices were reasonable and it was a great place to watch life in Lucca pass by. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lucca's Best Kept Secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stumbled upon Bar San Frediano on my very first day visiting Lucca back in 2007, and was immediately welcomed by the local family who runs this cozy little bar. The meal I had was excellent- very tasty, and also reasonably priced! You can get anything from a big fresh salad, to local specialties. They even have plates of typical meats and cheeses... Pair that with some local Chianti and Tuscan bread... One can hardly ask for more! Come to find out, they also have some of the BEST coffee you will ever have (Bei e Nannini)- and that comes from a girl who lived in Italy for 10 years!

I spent a year in Lucca attending a small university just outside the historical center, and found myself coming back to Bar San Frediano time and time again. Even years later, every time I have the pleasure of visiting Lucca, I make it a point to come back to this place!

Bar San Frediano offers its patrons the peaceful atmosphere of the Piazza, a stunning view of the church, and simply delicious food and drinks! Enjoy the tastes of Lucca while people-watching and mingling with locals, and I guarantee you too fall in love with Bar San Frediano! It is simply magical :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good place for a coffee & to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I love this Piazza as you can sit and watch life pass. You can also have a light breakfast if you wish & catch up on emails. The square is a flurry of activity from early morning till late in the evening. Food isn't that great but that's not why you go there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallacoota, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the world go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped in here one afternoon on the recommendation of our B&B hosts and also to get out of pouring rain. We spent an hour or so having a drink and during that time we were served a number of antipasto dishes (gratis), so much so that we did not need dinner. It was a pleasant experience sitting outside under the umbrellas and then inside when the rain got heavier. Staff are pleasant and the location is lovely. Mostly locals which is always a bonus.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dont Bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We accidentally sat down at this place thinking it was something else. Ordered Pizza which took 25 mins to arrive by which time our 3 year old was going mad. Wine by the glass shocking. There were a few locals there and the staff were friendly enough but the Pizza was really poor when it arrived. So much so that we just returned it, and left. Nice view of the church however. Hole in the floor toilet also that my wife wasnt too keen on.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar San Frediano also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Bar San Frediano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar San Frediano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.