We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, inviting owner, delicious breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Anfiteatro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Anfiteatro to your Saves list
B&B Anfiteatro
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Anfiteatro 25, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 138 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plano, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good location, inviting owner, delicious breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

the hotel is at a very good location in the heart of Lucca, what's more interesting is Lucca, the owner, invited me to drive after him into the city and park the rental right out side the B&B and he informed the local ZTA so my rental license plate was not fined! the only thing was our room was right next to the "office" and A/C was not working during our stay in August. People there were nice and inviting, lovely breakfast! BTW, internet was working for me during my stay and i was even able to get some of investment purchases possible via the network from Italy. Over all, I'd like to stay there once again, if I can!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    85
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
39
130
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This B&B is in perfect location for seeing Lucca old town as it is right at the heart of the town.
We stayed at the B&B place, at Via Dell’ Anfiteatro 25, not at the apartments which many previous reviewers mentioned. So it is just outside, and does not look down onto, the Piazza Anfiteatro.
It is in a corner building. The ground level of the building is a bar which opens onto a short cul-de-sac/courtyard set back from the main street. The B&B is on upper levels, with its entrance on the other corner of the building, on Via Dell’Anfiteatro.
Our triple room is on the first floor, adjacent the reception, which is reached by a flight of stairs at the entrance door. So we had to struggle a little bit to get our heavy luggage up.
The room is not large but cosy and clean. The bathroom is also clean but the lighting is a bit dim. Free wifi is available.
Our room looks down onto the entrance/courtyard of a bar below. Some previous reviewers mentioned the noise from that bar. Either we were lucky or because it was a Sunday night, at the time we were there the bar had only a few customers and they were inside the bar, instead of outside on the street and the courtyard. We went out for dinner in the Piazza Antiteatro about 9.00 pm. We saw that many restaurants starting to close, only a few remaining open till late. When we finished about 10.30pm the Piazza was almost deserted and that bar pretty empty. Therefore we did not have any problem with noise from the bar.
The reception room is also the common lounge room. The breakfast room is just next to it. The arrangement of the rooms, furniture and decoration give the whole place a very homely atmosphere.
Breakfast was adequate, not the Italian one which normally consists of only a drink and a piece of pastry. It was a continental buffet breakfast with cereals, fruits, yoghurt, cold meat, hot sausages, eggs, juice, tea, coffee, cake, etc.
On checking in we were given a map of the town, a rundown on where everything is and the key for the shared kitchen. We did not use the kitchen but it would be very handy for those staying longer and need to prepare themselves some snack or drinks.
As the reception is not open all the time, before you arrive send them an email advising the expected arrival time so some staff can meet you. If the office is closed, just go to the restaurant Tre Merli, which belongs to the same proprietor, just a few doors from the B&B, at number 15.
We arrived by train. Because we had some luggage and were not familiar with the town, we caught a taxi from the station. It cost us about 19 Euros for a very short trip. Apparently the minimum taxi charge (flag fall) in Lucca is very high, about 11 Euros. On leaving Lucca we just walked to the station as it was only about 20 minutes’ walk through Lucca’s lovely streets. If you have luggage and intend to walk to the B&B from the station, then it is better to follow the main road used by cars, which goes under the city wall to enter the town at Porta S Pietro. If you follow the walkway which starts directly in front of the station and then runs through the grass area outside the city wall, then you have to climb up the wall through the fortress Baluardo S Colombano, which is much harder with luggage in tow.
We stayed there for only one night and enjoyed it very much. We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We loved our stay in Lucca at the very spacious Anfiteatro apartment that is separate from the B&B. I echo all Teresa C's notes below! NOTE: THERE IS NO INTERNET CONNECTION IN THE APARTMENT! We had to travel to the B&B (not always open) to check fights, trains etc. Sometimes we stood outside a rival restaurant, the Baralla, to access their free wifi. The light in the kitchen was out and was not replaced during our 5 night stay, this made meal prep a bit mysterious. We took the train to Pisa for the day, very easy and worthwhile!

Room Tip: If you stay in the apartment, there is NO internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This B&B saved our holiday and we only wished we had stayed there instead of Florence . The rooms are so clean and it's so pretty and quaint . The rooms smell lovely the bathrooms are lovely the linen and towels were soft and really nice quality . Breakfast was really nice good coffee all was really good . Can't really recommend it enough the only downside was the bar underneath as it was a little noisy till late but I always take earplugs so no problem for us . Lucca is beautiful a walled city ancient steeped in history and even late at night we felt so safe we loved it and will go back and stay at the Anfiteatro again .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

B&B Anfiteatro overlooks the ancient ruins of the Roman amphitheatre in the heart of Lucca. Its exposed ancient wooden beam rooms overlooking the amphitheatre were a highlight of our trip.
We were in the annex (three person room) which was separate from other accommodation of this B and B. So first, on arriving note the owners of this B and B own a restaurant and both the restaurant and the B and B are on the lane on the outside of the amphitheatre not the inside. Hope that tip helps. The WIFI for us was available only at the B and B in the breakfast room not at our room (separate). The bedroom was at the back of the apartment making it quiet at night. The dinning room looked out over the amphitheatre and the changing scenes of horse and cart rides to student doing art pictures to the various outdoor/indoor meal restaurants all below. Yes there was about twenty steps to get up to the apartment but well worth it. Lucca has so much to offer good shopping, walk on the wall city and five minutes from the property is the tower with trees growing out of its roof. We spent two days here and wished we had stayed here longer. In this apartment we felt like we owned the world - oh well a little bit of history at least. Tip ask the owner for a small jug of milk (if you drink tea) from his restaurant as we found it hard to find some. WHEN ARRIVING IN LUCCA AT THE STATION AND SOMEONE OFFERS YOU A MAP TAKE IT AS IT WILL HELP

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ΑΘΗΝΑ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I went to B&B Anfiteatro with a friend of mine for 3 nights during a great offer by AirOne between Athens and Pisa. We explored the area and the town of Lucca seemed a good base.
The hotel price was attractive but the service was worth every cent.
Nice clean room with decent breakfast and even late self-service breakfast. Very helpful owner who picked us with his car from the train station.Great location for the medieval town of Lucca, we even attended a free classic music concert at a church.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anglesea, australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked for 3 nights as part of a 7 week trip. We stayed in a 2 room apartment and after numerous hotels were looking forward to doing some cooking. The location is amazing with a fabulous view onto Piazza Anfiteatro and the apartment is quite large. However our stay was far from a great experience. We were not made to feel welcome and were given a very rushed explanation of how things worked. In fact we discovered that nothing much worked! The owner had opened the refrigerator and told us it was working. It certainly was not and we doubt it had been functional for some time. We complained about this and were told it would be fixed. This did not happen and we ended up throwing out meat, milk, yoghurt etc. We had notes from the owner to say that there was Internet -"Wi fi is available in all areas". Well this was certainly incorrect. My wife wanted to make a Skype call and had to get the owner to open their office so she could call from there! The TV wasn't working beyond saying that there was a weak signal. We had to turn off the air conditioner due to the noise it made. Then lots of little annoyances - no plug for the sink, no tea towels, no decent size wine glasses.
We still loved Lucca and could've get over the location of the apartment but there were way too many things that were not right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Anfiteatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Anfiteatro

Address: Anfiteatro 25, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Anfiteatro 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Anfiteatro is located in the historic center of Lucca, in front of one of the finest squares in Italy, Piazza Anfiteatro; from the large living room windows you can admire the remains of ancient columns that formed the Roman amphitheater. Our location is very central and close to the B&B there are many wine bars and restaurants. The B&B offers accommodation in 5 rooms (3 double and 2 doubles) all finished in wood with furniture carefully selected and treated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your B&B Anfiteatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Anfiteatro Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast Anfiteatro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Anfiteatro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.