We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TUSCAN BEAUTY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Villa Casanova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albergo Villa Casanova to your Saves list
Albergo Villa Casanova
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Casanova 1600 | Localita Balbano, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“TUSCAN BEAUTY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is a delight. The owner Marianne welcomed us and her standard of service and attention to detail is imparted to all the staff who really care about their role in building this hotel to the high star rating it is.
Suites are luxury and every price level is value for money. Choose a balcony if your budget stretches to it but you will not be disappointed with the lower priced suite if it does not.
Breakfast is relaxed with plenty of choice and Dinner is fine dining also in a relaxed style. Because of the rural location we ate every night in the hotel. Who wants to drive to a far away restaurant when one driver is unable to experience the Tuscan wine? Food in the hotel is good and no more expensive than any equivalent restaurant serving quality food in Lucca. Our trip was in October but the joy of being able to eat round the pool in July/August under the stars must be magical. Perhaps a summer return for us.
We would recommend private transfer by Mercedes car (booked by the hotel) if flying in to Pisa. Driving is not easy in Italy. We hired a car in Lucca for 7 days arranged in Britain and did not regret doing it this way as it is best to get the smallest car you can with sometimes narrow roads to negotiate.
The views from this hotel are wonderful and you certainly escape any stress you may have in your everyday life.
Book and Enjoy.

Room Tip: Try and request looking over the valley to Lucca
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Albergo Villa Casanova is a magical place to stay. It is refined, but not pretentious. Our rooms were elegant, clean, extremely spacious with wonderful views of the Tuscan landscape – fantastic, comfortable beds and amazing bathtubs and showers and excellent air-conditioning. My husband and I stayed in one room and our two daughters ages 8 and 10 stayed in another room across with a private hallway between us for 6 nights in August 2012. The attention to detail at the villa was extraordinary from the lovely towels in the marble bathrooms to the white chocolate almonds left on a napkin on our bedside tables every evening after turndown.

The service at the villa was first class. It has a luxurious feel yet at the same time the owners have created a casual feel that works for families or couples alike. We couldn’t wait for the wonderful breakfasts in the morning. My favorite was the homemade granola and the cappuccinos. The owner even remembered to send me the recipe for the granola. We can’t say enough about how warm and hospitable the owners and staff were with our family.

We spent several days by the pool in the mornings or late afternoons and found the atmosphere very beautiful and relaxing. This is a villa for families as well as couples spending their holiday without children. The location is perfect. just 10 minutes from Lucca, 30 minutes from Pisa and 30 minutes from Forte di Marmi. Lucca is now one of our favorite spots in Italy. We drove in to hear Puccini being performed nightly at a beautiful church in the center of the walled city. Restaurants and shopping in Lucca were plentiful and the owners of the villa have recommendations of where to eat and shop.

We did a wine tasting at the villa that we enjoyed and learned from the chef how to make authentic pizzas. Very fun and something you can ask for when booking. We also had a lovely formal dinner at the hotel on the villa’s patio and for two nights we stayed and joined the owners for a casual evening with their chef creating pizzas in their wood fired stone pizza ovens. We loved the rosemary focaccia. All the staff is magnificent – owners, chef, sommelier, waiters, etc.

The only drawback is the “connected rooms”. Due to the private hallway between rooms, we would only recommend this for families with older children. If you have small children, there is plenty of space to have beds put into the lounge area of the room. This still provides space and privacy as the sitting room and main bedrooms are separated.

We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I wish I could award more than 5 stars to this hotel, because it provided a fantastic 'experience' beyond what I've ever encountered on vacation. I recently stayed here for 5 nights with my family prior to returning to the sometimes-chaos at home and it was absolutely everything I needed to relax and enjoy the company of my family. As a long distance runner, I can attest to the incredible setting - 12 kilometers from Lucca, this enchanting villa is an ideal starting point for challenging hill training up to the gorgeous peaks of Massaciuccoli. Every morning jaunt was met with the startlingly beautiful fog rising off Castle Nozzano in the distance. The staff was remarkably warm and helpful and I found the breakfast always arrived hot and offered a variety of choices and plentiful portions (which is saying a lot as a runner with a healthy appetite). The owner was kind enough to share an aperitif with us our first evening at the hotel, an offer I've never received at any of the other '5 star hotels' the disheartened viewers below refer to. The rooms are exquisite - spacious and tastefully decorated with expansive bathrooms, and our balcony opened up to what felt like all of Tuscany. Every evening I found a delicious chocolate and new water bottle by my bed. If you want a checklist-driven itinerary minded vacation, than maybe this isn't the place for you, but if you want to relish in the splendor of the Tuscan hillside by a lovely pool with a good book in hand and charming service, I can't recommend Albergo Villa Casanova enough! The only drawback of the entire vacation was that the pool was a little cold, but the owner is looking into solar paneled heating and I'm sure I would have appreciated the chill had I come during the 100+ degree heat in August.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We received a nice welcome and our first impression of the hotel was good -especially after seeing our room(or should I say suite!) and the lovely view!!
The Dining room was smaller than expected and despite there being only 4 guests in the restaurant that evening we were placed so close to the other table that the waiter's jacket brushed against my husband every time he walked past.
That said the meal was superb and the service was very good.
Breakfast the following morning was not as good as expected following the previous evening's dinner.The young staff seemed inexperienced and very nervous -spilling my coffee all over the saucer!The buffet breakfast was laid out on a table that was completely uncovered -open to flies etc which surprised us.The food quality was very good but we didn't feel that the overall experience was the 5 star standard that we had enjoyed at dinner the previous evening.
Sadly the weather was not condusive to a swim in the infinity pool which looked out over the beautiful countryside with Lucca in the distance.The grounds were nice and there were tables & chairs well positioned to enjoy the views.
It was a shame that the hotel was so empty as that meant there wasn't much atmosphere.The suite was superb-with a lovely sitting room, comfortable bedroom (both having massive flatscreen TV's)& spacious bathroom with a fab shower.Dinner was excellent-breakfast nice but not 5 star.Overall it was a lovely hotel -perfect for a special occasion but don't think it is value for money .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Staying at this hotel was like being at a house party...unfortunately we weren't invited to the party. The owners should decide whether they want to be hoteliers or have the villa as their own home. Their own children and friends completely took over the swimming pool and small dining area leaving us feeling like interlopers.
This hotel could be good because the views are stunning and the rooms are very pleasant (albeit not exceptional). However, the overall service was distinctly average and on occasion poor. The breakfast, for what was supposed to be a 5 star hotel, was underwhleming. Private transfers turned up late and on one occasion we had to wait almost an hour for our private transfer so the driver could pick up 4 other people! When we expressed our concern to the owner she said she wouldn't use them again....so imagine our surprise when they then turned up to take us back to the airport at the end of our stay!! This was not a 5 star experience. There are many truly memorable hotels in Italy and this is not one of them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel I, Owner at Albergo Villa Casanova, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment . We are always glad to hear of ways to improve our service. We have moved from a buffet breakfast to an "A la Carte" service with a healthy option and a full English or American breakfast.
We fully agreed that the transportation experience you had with one of our independent suppliers was not at an acceptable standard. The company is apologetic and there is a refund of the trip waiting for you . Please telephone or email the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was our 2nd time staying at Albergo Villa Casanova in Lucca, Italy. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are all suites and very large. The service is wonderful. The food is amazing. The scenery is like a picture. We've been many places in the world and this is our favorite. We felt very welcome from the minute we got there. Each guest is treated special. When you go, ask to make pizza with Micheala and Giovanni in their 100 year old outdoor pizza oven. Mille Grazi to Adel, Marianne and everyone at Villa Casanova. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: There are 14 suites. Each is beautiful and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for over a week. The owners, Marianne and Adel were extremely friendly and helpful as were all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they allowed us to keep our room for a late check out, they all looked after us so well, it was like being at home. We had beautifully decorated suites 1 and 2. There were huge and comfortable and the bathrooms were amazing. The large seven foot bed was like sleeping on a cloud. From the infinity pool you could see the stunning Tuscan landscape. Lucca town is cetainly worth a visit.
We would certainly go back to Albergo Villa Casanova and we miss it already.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Villa Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Villa Casanova

Address: Via di Casanova 1600 | Localita Balbano, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lucca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Albergo Villa Casanova 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Villa Casanova is the result of a complete renovation of an 18th-century Tuscan farmhouse set in 360 acres of mixed woodland just ten minutes from Lucca. Newly reopened in December 2009, Albergo Villa Casanova is now a distinctive and relaxed, luxury boutique hotel with 14 incredibly spacious suites, restaurant, magnificent terraces, infinity swimming pool and tennis court. The valley of Lucca and the tower of Castello Nozzano can be viewed from the hotel and the area is ideal for walking, cycling and exploring the historical walled town of Lucca, home to Puccini. It's also a perfect location to just relax with a book and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere. Numerous festivals take place throughout the year. The world famous Puccini Festival takes place at the open-air theatre at Torre del Lago, a few Kilometres from the hotel. Albergo Villa Casanova has its own chapel (see section on Weddings) and several adjoining country houses, one of which dates back to the 15th century. The original owners were the Balbani family who later gave their name to the locality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Villa Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Casanova Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Villa Casanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.