We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cecca

La Cecca
Via di Coselli, 55 | Coselli, Lucca, Italy
058394284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 453 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Stouffville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

As our last evening in Tuscany we wanted to eat well. This restaurant was recommended by our host and he was right. The location is well outside Lucca proper but relatively easy to find with lots of parking. It is very picture perfect and welcoming even with an 18 month old.

The food and service are excellent.

I definitely recommend this one and would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    128
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“brought up some memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was my family's favorite restaurant when I was growing up in the 80s. But it changed a lot. I remembered it to be in the middle of the woods, a long drive from our home just outside of Lucca's historic walls. The drive now is horrible - passing by 2 macdonalds and a large number of car dealerships. What once was pasture now is an abandoned industrial ground - signal of Tuscany's industrialization and more lately crisis...no concern for preservation. At La Cecca's estrance - at a semi-abandoned road, there is trash everywhere. Not the restaurants fault I assume, just poor government and care about your own city and lifestyle. The food was actually better than I remember. It was all in all a very depressing lunch with very good food nonetheless.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by our host. Located it during the day as off the main road to Lucca. Booked a table for two. When we arrived a little concerned as the restaurant was empty, 7.30pm. We were shown to our table by the receptionist and left. Still a little worried. Within half an hour other people arrived filling the restaurant with atmosphere. Our waiter arrived and spoke very good English explaining the menu and happily recommending choices. All our choices were excellent. Freshly cooked and generous portions. Pigeon risotto fantastic, and if you select fried chicken with rabbit beware of small bones, but very nice. We had the house red wine and very acceptable at €8. There was a very large party of diners and at no point were we affected by them in either service or quality. We were not rushed and spent a very pleasant evening at the restaurant. Dark so unable to comment on surrounding area or alfresco dining. In main restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ate twice at this restaruant in the country outside Lucca. A good wide selection on the menu and also extra daily specials. Freshly cooked pasta with tasty sauces, very good meat dishes, fresh salads. Generous portions, good value for money, friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“so sad, so disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Beautiful setting in the hills of Lucca, with an arbor of lavander wisteria. Very far out in the country. You need a car or a taxi. Perhaps the locals like the restaurant. For tourists, far better just to eat, most anywhere, in Lucca. The fried pizza treats, the micro-wave food, the stale bread, the casual-slam-the-plates-down by the scruffy servers:--- I would hate to think tourists would judge Tuscan food by these standards. The owners and servers are very pleasant, but sadly they just don't know how to operate a first class restaurant. I don't really know how to suggest they improve...I fear a total re-think is needed. We just skipped dessert, and bought ice cream in Lucca.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cecca also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to La Cecca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cecca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.