We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hosts at a Charming Guest House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B L'Antica Bifore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added B&B L'Antica Bifore to your Saves list
B&B L'Antica Bifore
Via Fillungo, 5, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 138 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Hosts at a Charming Guest House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you are searching for a GREAT Lucca location in a beautiful historical building with wonderfully charming and well appointed rooms; and if you want to be treated like family by your gracious hosts- Stefano and Brid; then this IS the place for you!
Not only is L'Antica Bifore centrally located in the heart of Lucca, but Brid and Stefano go our of their way to ensure your visit is flawless. Their suggestion of a local restaurant, Da Pasquale, for our dinner the first night was perfect and their ideas of local "not-to-be-missed" sites steered us in just the right direction!
This may have been our first trip to Lucca, but it will NOT be our last!!

Room Tip: Our room, which we were able to select, overlooked the main village pedestrian walkway and faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    34
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
126
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This 4 room B&B was decorated beautifully; we especially loved the exposed brick in the room. Stefano and Brid were very friendly and provided a small but lovely breakfast. We did have quite a wait to check in, as we were 30 minutes early, and they were 15 minutes late for our arrival time. But, as I said, they were so friendly it was easily forgotten. The room was wonderful with one exception - noise from the street. If you can sleep through that, then this is a great place to stay in Lucca.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Brid & Stephano, what fantastic hosts! it was like staying with old friends !
The attention to detail everywhere is faultless, the rooms have been restored to a high standard and furnished with a selection of antique furniture,exposed old walls, frescos and original style stained glass windows, which just adds to the charm and is fully in keeping with the old part of the city.
Everything worked - we a had a very comfortable and most enjoyable stay and would certainly like to return!
Nothing was too much trouble - even going to find me some Earl Grey tea for breakfast !
Restaurant recommendations can be tricky but they booked one for us that resulted in one of the best meals ever!
Another we booked - Stephano then telephoned the Restaurant to ensure we had a good table !
Its central location make it ideal for sight seeing in Lucca everything being in walking distance.
If you are looking for '' A Modern Plastic Hotel'' then this is not the place to be, if you want good informal hospitality in charming traditional surroundings then I thoroughly recommend L'Antica Bifore.
It greatly exceeded our expectations! thank you Brid & Stefano.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front (Via Fillungo side) can get some pedestrian noise from the street when busy (its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I find myself mystified by the previous review of this amazing place and have to wonder why anyone would book a stay in an historic building if they are then going to complain about old windows and dirty floors! The windows are centuries old and are absolutely gorgeous but understandably not double glazed! Similarly the floors are ancient and marked with hundreds of years of wear but are beautifully restored and certainly not dirty! We stayed in a room (Dante I think) facing the church and overlooking Via Fillungo and absolutely loved it. It was spotlessly clean and the restoration is wonderful with amazing frescoes on the walls and antique furniture for storage. Yes it is noisy, especially between 4.00 and 7.00pm when all of Lucca seems to converge on the street outside, but I found this added to the experience of being in such an historic building right in the heart of the old medieval centre.
If all this is not enough there is the added bonus of the hosts, Brid and Stephano, who could not have been more friendly, helpful and gracious. They gave us lots of good tips about what to see and do on our short visit, including booking a table for Easter Sunday lunch at a fabulous restaurant nearby called Pasquale's. They even turned up when we were having coffee to check we were enjoying our meal, which may sound a bit obtrusive but certaily wasn't as they have such a relaxed and informal manner. They also recommended another local trattoria for our next night which was a completely different experience but equally as enjoyable.
If you choose to stay with Brid and Stefano make sure you are guided by their knowledge and experience and your stay will be greatly enhanced. If you want double glazing, a quiet, sterile and charmless room and disinterested hosts go somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for Divina, if you want the buzz of the street and the view of the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very small with old windows so we heard every noise from the street. We stayed there in end of March and it was very cold in our room, the heating machine is loud. The owner should definitely put more attention on cleaning the room. The floor was very dirty. Hairdryer in our bathroom wasn't working.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Brid and Stefano were the perfect hosts , giving us all the information needed for our stay in Lucca. Our suite was the Dante and it was simply perfect very romantic looking onto a church tower our friends stayed in the Divina suitte equally beautiful with views onto a courtyard at the back of the guest house. Breakfast was informal and very relaxing Brid and Stefano are so welcoming and friendly chatting away with guests and nothing is too much trouble for them. We look forward to returning next year already - perfect in.every way

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms are beautifully done and maintain historic character while being comfortable. It is a perfect spot to enjoy old Lucca. Breakfast is good. A highlight, or at least a lasting memory, is driving Via Fillungo in the middle of the day to drop off our bags -- now I know what it's like to drive on a busy sidewalk. Stefano guided us in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B L'Antica Bifore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B L'Antica Bifore

Address: Via Fillungo, 5, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive guest house located on the main street inside the walls of the historical city centre. Typical noble "lucchese" residence with coffered ceilings and original tiled floors. Part of the XIV century Torre del Travaglio, one of the three medieval towers of Lucca. L’Antica Bifore has four spacious matrimonial suites, La Divina, Beatrice, Dante, and Paradiso. Each is different in its architectural shape and form, with beautiful frescoes and unique pieces of period furniture. We can organise wine tasting, cookery classes with award winning chef Carlo and art and craft sessions. In addition to babysitting services we can also arrange transfer for Pisa/Florence airport collections and drop offs. Please inquire at time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B L'Antica Bifore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Antica Bifore Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B L'Antica Bifore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.