We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accomodations, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B L'Antica Bifore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added B&B L'Antica Bifore to your Saves list
B&B L'Antica Bifore
Via Fillungo, 5, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 138 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

As others have stated, this is a B&B right in the middle of the old center of Lucca. We've stayed in nicer accomodations before, but never in such a historic place. There was a great sense of history here - even the steps leading up to the room were worn with time. The rooms have modern amenities, but keep the old feel of the building - nice frescoed walls and antique furniture. Our room had a beautiful old window looking out over a church. The bathroom was modern, small by American standards, but appeared to have been recently updated. The owners were wonderful. They were very helpful for anything we needed - restaurant recommendations and reservations, driving route recommendations, etc. They were even watching for us to arrive and came down to meet us when they apparently saw that we were lost. The breakfast pastries were wonderful. But, be aware this is a very old building with no elevator and several steps. If you're here in the summer (as we were) the common area is not air conditioned (the bedrooms are). The location is right in the center of town on the main shopping street so there's quite a bit of noise in the mornings. You can drive to the door to deliver your luggage (if you're brave enough to do so on the tiny pedestrian filled streets), but can't park in the walled city (but there's free parking just outside the gates). So, if any of that bothers you, you shouldn't stay here. But,if you're looking for a very historic feel for the old city and appreciate kind helpfulness of the hosts this is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    34
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
127
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vallensbæk, Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

L'Antica Bifore is a lovely place in the middle of Lucca. The house is 14. century and the rooms are really nice with fine frescoes and good furniture. And very clean. The owners are very helpful in all kinds of practical matters as to pointing out interesting places in Lucca, booking of restaurants etc. Our very best reccomendations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Previous reviewers have covered all the basics of this 14th century property in the amazing city of Lucca. If you are staying in July, be aware of the concerts they have in the city, some amazing performers but the place gets pretty full up. Make sure you hire bikes to do the city walls, 3-4 hours should be enough.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We visited Lucca at the beginning of June and picked this hotel from Trip Advisor reports and after a conversation with the owner. We didn’t want to hire a car so it was important that we were in the centre of town and within walking distance of everything. The hotel certainly ticks the boxes there. It is situated just off the main square at one end of the main shopping street (which is a delightful pedestrianised street with no traffic at all). As others have said there are four rooms off a central breakfast room. There are tea & coffee making facilities and a fridge. Lucca has plenty of restaurants and cafes and the owners are happy to recommend places to go. We took the bus from Pisa airport (very easy to find and use) to Lucca which costs €3 each way and ends its journey just outside the old walls which is an easy ten minute walk to the hotel. The train station is approx 10 mins away and we used this to visit the coast and Florence. I have no reservations in recommending the hotel and would use the hotel again if we visit Lucca again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great location in center of old city (pedestrian) on main street, Via Fillungo, but quiet even though on second floor. Four guest rooms open onto a common breakfast area. Friendly hosts offer tips on sites. Close enough to walk from train station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed one night in the Dante Suite before an early flight from Pisa the next day. the B&B is located a couple of floors up in a historical building in the centre of the old town, through a nondescript doorway and up a stairwell that feels like it has been there forever. The B&B is all on one floor and is set up like a luxury apartment, with a beautiful grand breakfast/meeting/check-in area in the centre and then the bedrooms directly off of this main area. The room itself was wonderful, with a large window looking out over the church and an incredible vaulted brick ceiling, as well as a comfy bed.

You are located on a reasonably busy narrow street, so sound does travel if you leave the window open, but it was never loud enough to bother us and we both slept well.

Overall we loved the historic character of the building and interiors, and will definitely stay here again when we're next in Lucca.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely B&B. The location is just perfect - right in the centre of town. The room we had was filled with character and overlooked the church in the small square outside. In the interests of full disclosure I will say that it is a little bit noisy in the morning because the communal breakfast table is just outside the rooms but this didn't bother us too much and it was lovely chatting with the other guests in the morning.

Stefano and Brid were wonderful hosts. They got in touch with us before our arrival and organised a restaurant for us to have dinner at. This meal was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. They were full of suggestions for things to do in Lucca and even lent us umbrellas when the weather turned.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B L'Antica Bifore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B L'Antica Bifore

Address: Via Fillungo, 5, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive guest house located on the main street inside the walls of the historical city centre. Typical noble "lucchese" residence with coffered ceilings and original tiled floors. Part of the XIV century Torre del Travaglio, one of the three medieval towers of Lucca. L’Antica Bifore has four spacious matrimonial suites, La Divina, Beatrice, Dante, and Paradiso. Each is different in its architectural shape and form, with beautiful frescoes and unique pieces of period furniture. We can organise wine tasting, cookery classes with award winning chef Carlo and art and craft sessions. In addition to babysitting services we can also arrange transfer for Pisa/Florence airport collections and drop offs. Please inquire at time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B L'Antica Bifore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Antica Bifore Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B L'Antica Bifore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.