We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Via del Seminario 5, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 127 Lucca B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at B&B Seminario for two nights in October and found it to be perfect in every way.

When we first arrived within the walls of Lucca we were concerned about inadvertently driving into a ZTL area so we parked the car and my husband walked the few remaining blocks to the B&B. in a matter of minutes he returned with Paolo who rode with us and directed us his parking spaces, where the car sat unneeded for the next two days because of the great location. What great personal service.

Our room was very comfortable and immaculately clean. The breakfasts served in a communal breakfast room and outdoor patio were excellent; good variety and coffee made to order.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    53
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
232
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Enjoyed this B & B once we found it -our fault entirely as we left without the map that Paolo had emailed us with our confirmation! We had a wonderful stay in Lucca largely due to this centrally located B & B and its friendly, helpful staff. The room was quiet and had everything that we needed. The breakfasts were varied, well presented and delicious. We will definitely be back to Lucca, Il Seminario, and, for more Puccini and leisurely bike riding along the walls!

Room Tip: I am sure that all the rooms are good- hardly saw (or heard) the other guests except at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in Italy in September for three weeks and our first stay on arrival was with Paolo at Il Seminario B&B in Lucca, Italy. What a fabulous place to stay; excellent location, parking provided, and everything was within walking distance. On arrival we were briefed on what to see and where to go for dinner. The room and stay was a 10/10. The breakfast was excellent -served in the sunny dining room or on the patio and the pastries were outstanding! We would highly recommend this for your next stay in Lucca!!

Room Tip: Very clean, excellent service - all rooms are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Il Seminario from 10/15 to 10/17/2012. It is a lovely b&b within the walls of Lucca and therefore convenient to everything. If arriving by train turn right on the main road and immediately enter the wall on the path to the left, then the b&b is in the first street on the left--extremely easy walk. Our room (Anfiteatro) was on the ground floor and was very large with a large bathroom with a huge shower. It was immaculately clean with a very comfortable bed which afforded us a great night's sleep--there was absolutely no noise either. Breakfast was served from 8 to 9:30 a.m. and was a substantial buffet that included buccellato (the traditional Luccan bread), pastries, toast, yoghurt, cheeses, meats, cereals, hard boiled eggs, fruit, and coffee or tea (which was served by the two wonderful staff who worked the breakfast, handled check-in and check-out, and managed the cleaning of the rooms). Paolo, the owner, was not very visible. He showed up and gave a general greeting to everyone during our first breakfast and that was the only time we saw him other than when we were leaving for dinner and he was passing us by on the street and didn't acknowledge us (unless he didn't see us just exit the building). However, we were given great dinner suggestions, ideas for touring the town, and a good recommendation for a laundromat nearby by the wonderful ladies. The town is small and everything is within walking distance. We loved biking the walls, climbing the Guinigi Tower, looking in the windows of all the incredible shops, touring Il Duomo and other small charming churches, and sitting for a drink in the Anfiteatro piazza. We would definitely stay at Il Seminario if we return to Lucca.

Room Tip: Anfiteatro on ground floor, looks out on garden, absolutely huge and extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Il Seminario is inside the city walls, and can be a bit challenging to find. But once we got there (and the manager was very helpful in providing directions and even offering to drive to where we were and have us follow him) we found it very centrally located.

The room was very comfortable and quiet; the staff very willing to help; and the breakfast was one of the best -- featuring a very good choice.

All in all, we highly recommend Il Semiario in Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked Il Seminario at the last minute and while we initially thought we would be booking a B&B room with kitchenette, we were offered a fully-equipped apartment which we very willingly agreed to. The apartment was in a separate building, just 100m from the B&B, and was incredible ... spread over two floors with kitchen/dining/lounge, main bedroom and bathroom on one floor and a very funky cellar-style lounge (with fold out bed) and bathroom downstairs. Everything was new, clean and we couldn't have wanted for a single thing. We even had a washing machine which after weeks of travel was very welcome. It was also a surprisingly quiet location - and we had the added bonus of having the breakfast in the garden at the B&B available to us each morning (included in the price). AND off-street parking behind the B&B. All for an exceptionally reasonable rate. In addition, the hosts, Paolo and Marcella, were a dynamic pair who just couldn't do enough for their guests. They run an amazing property in a really lovely part of Lucca, easily accessible to all that the great Tuscan city has to offer, and they treat their guests as if they are friends coming to visit in their own home. I can't recommend Il Seminario highly enough.

Room Tip: If you like the idea of living like a local, shopping at the markets and dining in occasionally then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Right inside the walls of the old town of Lucca, this is a great place to stay - you can walk to all attractions, the rooms are spacious, staff are great and if you have a car, there is private parking (one of the issues in the old towns). I highly recommend it - excellent breakfast, outside if weather permits. Go for it - you won't be disappointed!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via del Seminario 5, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have air conditioning and all rooms have private bathroom There is also wireless internet connection so that you can always stay in touch with the outside world. For a pleasant distraction you can switch on the satellite television instead. If you have any pets please do not leave them at home, they are more than welcome in our apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Seminario Hotel Lucca
Il Seminario Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.