We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucca in Villa San Marco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lucca in Villa San Marco to your Saves list
Lucca in Villa San Marco
Via Nicola Farnesi 266 - San Marco, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located just few minutes walking from the wall and the historical center! The room was beautifully furnished and very modern as well as very clean!
Fabio and Alessandra were very friendly and gave us some nice tips about restaurants for dinner and breakfast! They aso had bikes available for the guests to use them while visiting the wall! It was a pity that when we were there, it was so rainy that we couldnt use them! Overall it was an amazing place to stay and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio_Cei, Direttore at Lucca in Villa San Marco, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Patricia,

We want to thank you for your beautiful review and we're sorry that you didn't use the bikes because of the rainy weather, going around the old walls with the bikes is really funny and romantic at the same time...so, if you decide to repeat the experience and turn back someday, we'll be happy to accomodate you again!

Kind regards
Fabio & Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
77
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eichenau, Bayern, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked Villa San Marco for a short vacation trip as a couple. Already from the first e-mail correspondance we felt the host's great hospitality and professionality: They've sent us a detailled plan, how to best find the villa and from the very beginning they were absolutely responsive and understanding regarding our in advance questions and changing arrival dates. Once arrived we got a warm welcome from Allessandra, who showed us the villa and gave us absolutely valid "insider tips" regarding bars, restaurants and our planned sightseeing tour into downtown Lucca.
The villa is clean, not overloaded, but still a little stylish and only a few hundred metres away from the ancient town of Lucca. In the garage there are 4 modern and well maintained bicycles available to take a nice bike tour to downtown Lucca and the surrounding. Our Tip: Take these bikes or make a walk around the ancient wall of Lucca (about 4 km) - it's really great and very romantic! Car can be parked safely in front of the house or the near the private parking lot.
Apart from the weather (it was raining quite heavily two days and surely a little too cold for March!) we felt absolutely comfortable and would very much like to come back one day to Alessandra & Fabio's nice little appartment hotel! Thumbs up and a big "Thank You!" to them!!

Room Tip: This apartment is a great choice for couples and families - centrally located, safe & comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio_Cei, Proprietario at Lucca in Villa San Marco, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Evelyne and Bernd, we thank you for choosing our Villa for your vacation and for your beautiful words. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our city, despite the bad weather, but if we can try to offer a better service day by day, we can't "offer" always a good weather :)

We wish you all the best, and if you decide to come back some day, we'll be glad to have you as guests again.

Regards from a still rainy Lucca!

Alessandra & Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This little apartment hotel is a real gem.

You start feeling care before you arrive. The hosts send e-mails asking if you need assistance with transfer or anything else. Very warm reception. Exceptional friendliness.

Rooms are convenient. We were staying in an apartment with a dining room, bedroom, and separate little kitchenette. Very cosy. Lots of space. Bathroom has all the necessary amenities. Of course you can find little scratches here and there. But for Euro 50 per night... On top of that we had to extend the stay for two more night and we offered a loyal guest discount.
Parking is free.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, just 200 meters from porta San Jacopo. You get there and you are inside the mura of old beautiful Lucca.
My general opinion is that the hotel offers too much value for such a tiny price. I hope Fabio will reach marginal contribution in the high season!
THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio_Cei, Direttore at Lucca in Villa San Marco, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mikhail,

thank you again for your wonderful words, it's nice to see that our efforts have the desired result, that is to offer to our guests a nice cosy place where they can enjoy the holidays feeling like home. As you said, the price may be little for what you get, but we prefer being "overvalued" and not "overpriced"!
Thanks again and wish you all the best!

Fabio & Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were very impressed by the apartments in Lucca, close to the old city walls, and with safe parking. We had chosen to stay in Lucca rather than in Pisa over night as we travelled from Venice to Rome, and it was very convenient. The lady at reception was most helpful, and recommended two restaurants to eat at in the old city, unfortunately she did not mention that local custom meant that restaurants were totally closed between certain hours so after two hours of roaming the old city with an exhausted 5 year old we gave up and drove outside Lucca to find a restaurant that was open. We found an amazing fish restaurant on the road to Pisa, so it ended well but travellers should be warned that the restaurants are NOT open throughout the day, check in advance. Rooms were awesome, shower great. Would stay there again, good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio_Cei, Direttore at Lucca in Villa San Marco, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Esther, thank you for sharing your experience in Villa San Marco with all the visitors of tripadvisor, the reviews of our guests are very important for us!
I'm glad to see that dispite the "adventure" to find an opend restaurant (and I apologize for not having warned you about the opening hours) you had a nice staying and you anjoyed the city. Maybe you'll have another opportunity to try the local food...and another of ours apartments.

Best regards

Alessandra & Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great! If you are staying in Lucca this is a great place to stay. Super friendly staff, clean, modern, near the old town. Excellent. So bad that we stayed just one night. Because the apartment was very nice, nice kitchen, dinner table, the bathroom was great, big bedroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio_Cei, Direttore at Lucca in Villa San Marco, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your beautiful words, it's important for us to know that you anjoyed staying in our Villa. Lucca is a wonderful city and if you decide to turn back someday, you are very wolcomed.

We wish you a happy new year!

Regards
Fabio & Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We loved staying here Fabio was a fantastic host and the studio was large.It is only a short walk to old Lucca and Fabio told us the best places to eat.
I would recommend staying here so you can discover the walled city of Lucca.It was one of our favorite places on our tour of Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio_Cei, Direttore at Lucca in Villa San Marco, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello! Thank you a lot for your beautiful review, it's nice to know that you enjoyed staying in our Villa and if you want to turn back to Lucca to taste more good food, we'll be glad to have you as guests again!

Best regards
Fabio & Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Quite impressive. We arrived Lucca at mid night due to a shocking railway strike - we were scheduled to leave Florence at 21:00, while the bus driver was not willing to take so many people and the bus was delayed 2 hours. Although we have a call with Lucca in Villa for the delay, actually we are afraid they would not come to pick up us from the bus stop because it's too late and they had no idea about our exact arriving time. However, it's really amazing that the householder waited us for over an hour and picked up us from the bus stop to the apartment. Although we are somehow disappointed with Italian's public transportation system, we really touched by his hospitality and warm welcome.

The room is very clean, new, well facilitated (with wifi, independent shower room kitchen and even mosquito insecticide) and fashion-decorated (it's one-of the best decorated apartment during our 20 days stays in Europe). In geography perspective, it's not far from the wall. We were greatly refreshed after a nice sleep, and the apartment clearly introduced the nice Lucca for us. In addition, he rent us bikes to tour around the town! It's really a fantastic and unforgettable experience for us!

We just stayed one day in Lucca, but we loved this peaceful town in the first minute, not only for the inner-peace we can find, the beautiful view, but for the sincere Lucca people (especially the handsome hostel who really gave us a lot of help). We believe we'll come back again, and will definitely choose Lucca in Villa San Marco in the next trip (we think we can try their kitchen the next time). We'll also recommend "Lucca in Villa San Marco" to our friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioCei, Direttore at Lucca in Villa San Marco, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Wow...what can we say! thank you for your beautiful words, it's important for us to know that you enjoyed Lucca and your short staying in our Villa. As you said, if you decide to turn back in our town, we would be pleased to have you as guests again. We are sorry for all the problems that you had with trains and buses, but we hope that you have pleasant memories of Italy.

Wish you all the best!

Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucca in Villa San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucca in Villa San Marco

Address: Via Nicola Farnesi 266 - San Marco, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Apartments Villa San Marco is a villa immersed in the tranquility of a green belt, no more than 200 meters far from the XVI century city walls, and provided with all comforts.Villa San Marco is composed of four different apartments characterized by a contemporary design that represents a melting pot of pop and modern art that make them exclusive. Two apartments are composed of a double bedroom and a living room with a double sofa bed, a well-equipped kitchenette and a bathroom with shower. Another apartment consists of a living room with an equipped kitchenette, a double bedroom and a bathroom with shower. The studio, with a cooking corner and a bathroom with shower, is the ideal refuge for a couple.All the apartments of Villa San Marco are provided with TV, air conditioning and heating, and have independent entrance.Villa San Marco is the ideal solution for the travelers that do not want to renounce at the comforts of a hotel still enjoying the cosiness of a home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lucca in Villa San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucca in Villa San Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.