We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue for a family lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Villa Bongi

Ristorante Villa Bongi
Via di Cocombola 640 | Montuolo, Lucca, Italy
+39 348 734 0143
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 442 Restaurants in Lucca
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Villa Bongi is located about 7 km from the walls of Lucca in an old farmhouse that in the past has served as a convent, a summer retreat and even as a refuge for locals during the Second World War. The menu comprises a mix of modern and traditional Tuscan cuisine with a focus on fresh seasonal ingredients. The wine list includes a wide selection of local and Tuscan wines as well as some of Italy's finest drops. The restaurant is closed on Mondays.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for a family lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a surprise. Good food, enjoyable staff, Italian from A to Z and a lovely australian co-owner. Perfect place for a late lunch.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    41
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Italy. This place has it all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have spent two weeks in Tuscany and had not yet found our perfect place to eat until Villa Bongi. As soon as we walked in we knew we had found somewhere special. Stunning location and a warm greeting by Lily and Marco the owners. Lily is from Australia so it was great to be able to talk food and wine in English.

Gabrielle was our delightful and charismatic waiter who was a gem for the whole meal. We were seated on the balcony overlooking the most incredible view, the food was beyond delicious and the price was ridiculously reasonable. I travel a lot and have to say this is my favourite restaurant so far, it truly has it all. Divine food, brilliant customer service, great price and magnificent views. A perfect place for a romantic meal or family gathering or even for the lone traveler who wants to immerse themselves in the culinary delights and beauty of Tuscany.

Villa Bongi is also very popular with Italians which says it all. When we went we were a group of 7 and due to the time we arrived it was quite empty but this did not detract from the experience, we felt like we were in our own private mansion! If you are in this neck of the woods just go you won't regret it. We nearly missed this experience as we were all too hung over to drive but ended up getting a Taxi which nearly cost as much as a meal for 7 (that is how reasonable it is) and we all said it was worth every penny and how lucky we were that we didn't cancel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love it and eat there regularly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We usually end up going to Villa Bongi every few weeks. It's one of the few restaurants where I eat well every single time.
During the warmer months, there's seating on the terrace that is beautiful and has a great view of the hills and towns below. During the winter, there's usually a fire going in the big fireplace, giving the place a very cozy feel.
The service is always impeccable; very friendly and prompt.
I've tried a bunch of different dishes on the menu (which changes depending on what's appropriate for the season) and I think that their pasta and meat dishes are particularly good. During the winter, they incorporate polenta a lot, which I personally love!
This is a restaurant that is good for any type of occasion. I recommend it with confidence.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, great ambience and super food at reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor, this was on our 'must experience' list given that we were staying 15 minutes away on the otherside of Lucca. As stated earlier it's not that easy to find and even our SatNav struggled to get us precisely to the doorstep but luckily it's well sign posted. The reviews did not overstate by any means just how wonderful a restaurant this place is! We were fortunate to be given a prime spot on the balcony on a sunday evening (reserved same day) and were joined by mainly local families and a few fellow visitors. The service was first class and very accommodating allowing for the fact that as two adults with a young child, we wanted to share as many dishes to truly sample their menu. The food was first class, sumptuous and a treat. We loved Lucca and this place is the culinery icing on the cake!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Whilst in Lucca, you MUST go to Villa Bongi. It is about a 15 min drive from centre of Lucca along a very windy, narrow, dirt track but very much worth it. The views back down the hill a breathtaking. Sitting on the terrace with linen tablecloth and impeccable service you will fell like you are on a movie set. Value for money is excellent. Sunday lunch for 20 euros includes antipasti, entree, main, desert, water and half bottle of wine per person. Quality of food is mouthwateringly superb. Ingredients are all fresh and seasonal. The perfect and unforgettable dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Villa Bongi also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Ristorante Villa Bongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Villa Bongi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.