We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish we could stay a week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Evelina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Evelina
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast Evelina to your Saves list
Via Streghi, 12, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 139 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We wish we could stay a week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lucca is a dreamy little town, and this lovely B&B felt like a step back in time. We loved every moment of our stay, and it is clear that our hostess, Silvia, cared a great deal about Lucca and its heritage. She was a wealth of knowledge, and made great recommendations for us, as well as a dinner reservation for what would be one of our favorite meals on our trip. The breakfast was great, and the view on the terrace which accompanied it was also excellent. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
148
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Very helpful and friendly host. The b&b is in a superb location, and is roughly 15 minutes walk from the train station. Really close to lots of great bars, restaurants, and shops. Host happy to offer lots of advice about activities and places to eat. Overall I would really recommend staying here.,

Room Tip: Camera 1 where I stayed was very spacious and had a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

This was our favorite place on a 2 week anniversary trip in Italy! The innkeeper was so friendly and gave us excellent suggestions for dining in Lucca. Breakfast on the little balcony was perfect start to a day in Lucca - our only regret is that we had reservations in another town and couldn't stay longer

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Never having done b'nb abroad, I wondered what to expect. I needn't have worried with Evelina. Silvia, our hostess, was terrific - so welcoming and helpful especially when we got caught up in a transport strike on the day of our departure. She couldn't have done more for us. The rooms are lovely and with 3 bathrooms to 5 rooms, there's no problem having a shower when you want. The place is spotless, you're even provided with your own bath mat and the breakfasts are an absolute treat and include home made cakes. We had breakfast on the balcony which gives a fantastic view of the Torre Ore (Clock Tower). The location is excellent too as it is right in the centre of Lucca just off the main pedestrian street (Via Fillungo)

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I stayed 4 nights & felt like i had my own home in Lucca's city center! All inn keepers should take lessons from Silvia- she was so awesome & made me feel like family. she went above & beyond the call of an inn keeper! as a gay woman traveling alone she made me feel at home & we had great conversation about Lucca & it's culture. i stayed in room #4- a good double room for a single person. nice view, quiet, cozy bed & linens. rooms, bathrooms, & common spaces all very clean & welcoming. i don't like sweets for breakfast so i ate only yogurt, fruit & coffee. lots of stairs & i had very heavy luggage- silvia carried my 5000lb bag down the stairs like a pro weight lifter!!! i will most likely stay here again- next time with my wife!

Room Tip: rooms close to the hall where the bathrooms are can be a bit noisy especially in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I selected Evelina B&B for its location close to where the Luminaria di Santa Croce parade was passing. Excellent restaurants, bakeries, and other small shops are closeby. Silvia gave us a warm welcome and throughtout our stay provided ample breakfast food, especially a freshly baked local delicacy every morning.
My travel partner kept commenting that Evelina B&B exudes 'Old World Charm', reminiscent of living in Belgium several decades ago. Perhaps I do not appreciate 'old world charm' because I am a light sleeper and the walls are paper thin. In addition, most rooms share three toliet rooms at the end of a long hall, which meant passing by our bedroom. I could hear a neighbor in the adjoining room turn the skeleton key in her lock, walk pass our door, close the toliet room door and turn the lock on the toliet room door (repeat in reverse). I so suffered from lack of sleep that by the third night I took a Tylenol PM.
Even though we enjoyed sitting on the balcony, taking in a beautiful view along with meeting delightful fellow travelers, I doubt that we will return to Evelina B&B on our next visit to Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend at B&B Evelina in August. Silvia is an amazing host and her house is lovely and welcoming. We stayed in Bedroom 2 – it is very spacious with high ceilings and the window looks out over a gorgeous courtyard so it was incredibly quiet. The b&b is situated in a quiet side street in the historical centre and is walking distance to all the sights and great restaurants. Breakfast is provided in the morning (cereal, juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cake & freshly brewed coffee – we were fortunate that we had lovely weather so enjoyed this on her terrace however there is also a breakfast room inside There is a lounge /reading area which can be used by guests – a nice place to peruse guidebooks and other information that Silvia provides for guests and there is tea & coffee which you can help yourself to during the day. For those of us who need to stay connected there is great and free Wi-Fi (worked perfectly in the bedroom)
The bathrooms are immaculate and spotlessly clean with great hot showers.
Overall a brilliant place to stay in the centre of Lucca and highly recommended. Thank you Silvia for making us feel so welcome. Mary & Greg

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bed & Breakfast Evelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Evelina

Address: Via Streghi, 12, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Evelina" Bed & Breakfast enjoys a central and at the same time peaceful and quiet location, where the charm of a typical ancient house is preserved.On the third floor of one of Lucca's noble mansions, Silvia welcomes her guests in an apartment enriched with age-old objects that recall the past. The apartment overlooks an old medieval courtyard with cool gardens and offers five spacious rooms.Breakfast, served on the terrace with a view of Lucca's red rooftops and Torre delle Ore, will make your stay unique and unforgettable."Evelina" B&B offers warm hospitality in a private house, open to all those who are looking for and appreciate friendly accommodation in a relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Evelina Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast Evelina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Evelina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.