We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Light Sleepers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Evelina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Evelina
Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Evelina to your Saves list
Via Streghi, 12, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 133 Lucca B&B and Inns
Maumee, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not for Light Sleepers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I selected Evelina B&B for its location close to where the Luminaria di Santa Croce parade was passing. Excellent restaurants, bakeries, and other small shops are closeby. Silvia gave us a warm welcome and throughtout our stay provided ample breakfast food, especially a freshly baked local delicacy every morning.
My travel partner kept commenting that Evelina B&B exudes 'Old World Charm', reminiscent of living in Belgium several decades ago. Perhaps I do not appreciate 'old world charm' because I am a light sleeper and the walls are paper thin. In addition, most rooms share three toliet rooms at the end of a long hall, which meant passing by our bedroom. I could hear a neighbor in the adjoining room turn the skeleton key in her lock, walk pass our door, close the toliet room door and turn the lock on the toliet room door (repeat in reverse). I so suffered from lack of sleep that by the third night I took a Tylenol PM.
Even though we enjoyed sitting on the balcony, taking in a beautiful view along with meeting delightful fellow travelers, I doubt that we will return to Evelina B&B on our next visit to Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
139
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend at B&B Evelina in August. Silvia is an amazing host and her house is lovely and welcoming. We stayed in Bedroom 2 – it is very spacious with high ceilings and the window looks out over a gorgeous courtyard so it was incredibly quiet. The b&b is situated in a quiet side street in the historical centre and is walking distance to all the sights and great restaurants. Breakfast is provided in the morning (cereal, juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cake & freshly brewed coffee – we were fortunate that we had lovely weather so enjoyed this on her terrace however there is also a breakfast room inside There is a lounge /reading area which can be used by guests – a nice place to peruse guidebooks and other information that Silvia provides for guests and there is tea & coffee which you can help yourself to during the day. For those of us who need to stay connected there is great and free Wi-Fi (worked perfectly in the bedroom)
The bathrooms are immaculate and spotlessly clean with great hot showers.
Overall a brilliant place to stay in the centre of Lucca and highly recommended. Thank you Silvia for making us feel so welcome. Mary & Greg

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights at B&B Evelina, which was too short a time both at Evelina and in Lucca. We had come from Florence, which I refer to as "The City of Controlled Chaos". Don't get me wrong - I loved it. However, going from Florence to Lucca was like stepping from a human pinball machine into a lush garden. Staying at B&B Evelina made it even better. It is simply, but beautifully decorated with great attention to little details like carefully folded and ribbon-wrapped towels, personal slippers, carefully brewed espresso, fresh breakfast pastries & fruit. Rooms are cleaned and beds made each day. Silvia, who operates Evelina, was happy to arrange a reservation at her favorite non-tourist dinner spot. The meal was wonderful and the staff were very patient with our lack of Italian. B&B Evelina provided us with a wonderful and restful home base to relax and recharge.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

My partner & another 2 couples stayed here as we planned a night in lucca - fab little B&b , many stairs but well worth it. Rooms so beautiful & owner v helpful. They have a selection of wine that you can purchase & sit on the small terrace, which has a lovely view. Breakfast, simple & enjoyable. We would recommend this B&b & would certainly stay here again x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

My fiance and I have been to Lucca twice so far, once last year and once last week, both times stayed at Evelina. There's been an owner change since last year, but we were just as satisfied with the new one as we were with the first. It's really clean, owner is super nice, place is incredibly charming with a typical italian "lucchese" touch to it, plus it's literally in the heart of the city. We'd definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Lucca, which is by the way a fantastic place to spend some time at. Lots to see, food is superb!! Not to mention that it's one of Italy's best olive oil and wine areas.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at B & B Evelina in July, we were most impressed. Simona and Giulio are very warm and the whole B & B is very clean and well presented. Although we usually book places with en suite bathrooms, this was not a problem. The location is great, easy to find and soon found our favourite dining spots, we just loved Lucca. Our room had a lovely view of the rooftops and a clothes line, so Simona supplied some pegs and we started our next leg of our adventure with clean clothes, always a plus. Breakfasts were plentiful and varied from day to day. I would recommend this B & B and will definitely stay here again if we are ever in Lucca again. We knew about the stairs before booking and did not mind the exercise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This B&B was gorgeous! It was in the central part of Lucca very close to everything to see. Only a short walk away to a lovely place to rent bikes to ride the parameter of the city. The couple the runs this B&B and the sweetest and Mose delightful people I had met during my stay. The breakfast in the morning had stocked with Italy's finest fruits and salami. Thank you for such an enchanted trip Evelina

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Evelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Evelina

Address: Via Streghi, 12, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Evelina" Bed & Breakfast enjoys a central and at the same time peaceful and quiet location, where the charm of a typical ancient house is preserved.On the third floor of one of Lucca's noble mansions, Simona and Giulio welcome their guests in an apartment enriched with age-old objects that recall the past and longtime experienced travelers. The apartment overlooks an old medieval courtyard with cool gardens and offers five spacious rooms.Breakfast, served on the terrace with a view of Lucca's red rooftops and Torre delle Ore, will make your stay unique and unforgettable."Evelina" B&B offers warm hospitality in a private house, open to all those who are looking for and appreciate friendly accommodation in a relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Evelina Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast Evelina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Evelina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.