We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Evelina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Evelina
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast Evelina to your Saves list
Via Streghi, 12, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #8 of 146 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a charming B&B located in a charming city. Simona and Giulio are incredibly sweet and wonderful hosts. Their attention to detail in the decor makes this a welcoming place with a homey feel. Every morning we were served a tasty breakfast on the veranda.

We also liked the chalk board in the dining room area where local events are posted. Thanks to that board, our first night we learned of a jazz festival in the city, which was incredible!

Everything is immaculate and the rooms are quiet. The location is in the center of Lucca, so everything is a short walk. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
155
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

4 of us (2 couples) stayed at Evelina in October for 3 nights and could not fault it as a B&B - we have stayed at several but none as hospitable or as clean as Evelina.

Simona & Giulio were great hosts and we were always greeted with a welcoming smile and they even took the time out to see us off.

I have worked in the tourism and hospitality industry for 30+ years and have no hesitation in recommending Evelina as a B&B to stay and Simona & Guilio as hosts

Great place - great time and have already recommended to 3 couples

Room Tip: Double rooms overlooking "red roofs" are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a truly incredible accomodation! The B&B is beautiful and keeps such an authentic historic feel with lots of antiques and charm without feeling stuffy. There are 5 rooms and 3 bathrooms shared amongst them which always seemed to be available when you needed them. Breakfast was great, and so nice to enjoy on the balcony on a sunny morning. Simona and Giulio are wonderfully welcoming and gracious hosts. You will be delighted to meet them, enjoy their hospitality, and discover their beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallacoota, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Yes it's 3 flights up and yes we were tired and had too much luggage but once we reached the B&B all the tiredness just drifted away. Evelina is a testimony to the attention to detail of both Simona and Giulio. It is obvious that they too are travellers and so they understand all that their guests require. The decor is beautiful, the breakfasts delicious, the location superb and the hosts, well they are just the loveliest couple; fun, intelligent, knowledgable and caring. Who could ask for anything more. We stayed 6 nights and loved it. Good WiFi signal too, not something you can always rely on. Like others we were a bit concerned about sharing a bathroom but that was absolutely no problem, the bathrooms are kept spotless and there was always one available

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As most of the reviews share, Simona and Gulio are wonderful hosts!! Their home is beautiful and spotlessly clean. I was concerned over sharing the 3 bathrooms, but there was no problem, and they were well maintained all the time. But most of all, this was one of the best parts of our 28 day trip to Italy in September. Simona put together a picnic basket for us that was totally yums, and then we took their bikes and embarked upon one of the most romantic days we have experienced in a very long time. We will be back, over and over , if we can. Thank you Simona and Gulio for making this a truly wonderful to Lucca and Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family and I stayed for 1 night in this charming hotel and it was amazing! Its one, if not, the best B&Bs that I've ever stayed in! Top notch quality! Comparable to a 5-star hotel. The only difference? Personalized service from the owners which makes it even better. Its simply the best!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for one night only at B&B Evelina however would have loved to have stayed longer and in Lucca. Although there's no lift, the walk up the three flights of stairs was worth it. Simona and Guilio were the perfect hosts providing everything a traveller could want when staying away from home. The room and bathrooms are spotless and although this was the only accommodation during our 6 week tour of Italy where we didn't have our own private ensuite, it wasnt necessary. Everything was spotless and there were never queues. Breakfast Italian style was served on the terrace with everything fresh and delicious. We would recommend anyone wishing to be in the centre of Lucca to stay at B&B Evelina. It's for the discerning adult traveller who likes good clean quiet accommodation at a reasonable price. If you are travelling by train, we would recommend a taxi as the walk is approximately 15 minutes along cobbled streets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bed & Breakfast Evelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Evelina

Address: Via Streghi, 12, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Evelina" Bed & Breakfast enjoys a central and at the same time peaceful and quiet location, where the charm of a typical ancient house is preserved.On the third floor of one of Lucca's noble mansions, Silvia welcomes her guests in an apartment enriched with age-old objects that recall the past. The apartment overlooks an old medieval courtyard with cool gardens and offers five spacious rooms.Breakfast, served on the terrace with a view of Lucca's red rooftops and Torre delle Ore, will make your stay unique and unforgettable."Evelina" B&B offers warm hospitality in a private house, open to all those who are looking for and appreciate friendly accommodation in a relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Evelina
Bed & Breakfast Evelina Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Evelina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.