We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairway to heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Evelina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Evelina
Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Evelina to your Saves list
Via Streghi, 12, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 131 Lucca B&B and Inns
Mallacoota, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Stairway to heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Yes it's 3 flights up and yes we were tired and had too much luggage but once we reached the B&B all the tiredness just drifted away. Evelina is a testimony to the attention to detail of both Simona and Giulio. It is obvious that they too are travellers and so they understand all that their guests require. The decor is beautiful, the breakfasts delicious, the location superb and the hosts, well they are just the loveliest couple; fun, intelligent, knowledgable and caring. Who could ask for anything more. We stayed 6 nights and loved it. Good WiFi signal too, not something you can always rely on. Like others we were a bit concerned about sharing a bathroom but that was absolutely no problem, the bathrooms are kept spotless and there was always one available

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
137
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As most of the reviews share, Simona and Gulio are wonderful hosts!! Their home is beautiful and spotlessly clean. I was concerned over sharing the 3 bathrooms, but there was no problem, and they were well maintained all the time. But most of all, this was one of the best parts of our 28 day trip to Italy in September. Simona put together a picnic basket for us that was totally yums, and then we took their bikes and embarked upon one of the most romantic days we have experienced in a very long time. We will be back, over and over , if we can. Thank you Simona and Gulio for making this a truly wonderful to Lucca and Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family and I stayed for 1 night in this charming hotel and it was amazing! Its one, if not, the best B&Bs that I've ever stayed in! Top notch quality! Comparable to a 5-star hotel. The only difference? Personalized service from the owners which makes it even better. Its simply the best!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for one night only at B&B Evelina however would have loved to have stayed longer and in Lucca. Although there's no lift, the walk up the three flights of stairs was worth it. Simona and Guilio were the perfect hosts providing everything a traveller could want when staying away from home. The room and bathrooms are spotless and although this was the only accommodation during our 6 week tour of Italy where we didn't have our own private ensuite, it wasnt necessary. Everything was spotless and there were never queues. Breakfast Italian style was served on the terrace with everything fresh and delicious. We would recommend anyone wishing to be in the centre of Lucca to stay at B&B Evelina. It's for the discerning adult traveller who likes good clean quiet accommodation at a reasonable price. If you are travelling by train, we would recommend a taxi as the walk is approximately 15 minutes along cobbled streets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I just got back last night from a 16 day trip to Italy. We were celebrating my birthday and I can truly say that this is the best birthday memory I have had so far. We started our trip with a 5 day stay at Evelina and we were both very pleased with everything about Evelina. The owners, Simona & Giulio are the best! They are so pleasant, sweet and professional - they make you feel right at home. They prepare breakfast every morning and they always add little details, which make it more special. On the day of my birthday, Simona included a birthday candle on my pastry. The B&B is super cozy and quaint. They also do a great job at keeping everything very clean and tidy, it is obvious that they take great pride in their B&B. The location is also great - everything is withing walking distance and it is also perfect for doing day trips. We took the train to Florence and Pisa. Giulio is also very informative and is great at returning emails. We corresponded a lot before our arrival and he was nice enough to tell me that cars/buses are not allowed in the area, so he reserved a taxi to pick us up at the airport (I highly recommend doing this, it is worth the 50 EU). Thank you Simona and Giulio!!! We highly recommend Evelina :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Simona and Guilio for our week in Lucca and could not have been happier. The bed and breakfast is located on a side street and the climb up three flights of stairs was well worth the effort. The cleanliness and lovely simplicity of our room, the Italian style breakfasts on the terrace with coffee, peach or pear juice, fresh baked pastries (the fig muffins were wonderful!, Simona), biscotti, cheeses and sliced meats--all was perfection. And of course, Simona and Guilio were the perfect hosts. Bravo! We plan to return to Lucca (we are so glad we made it our main destination) and hope to stay at Bed and Breakfast Evelina again.

Linda and Joe
Parkton, Maryland USA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We travelled to Lucca to get married having previously fallen in love with the city.
We decided to stay at B&B Evelina because it looked perfect. And it exceeded even our expectations.
Fantastic location. Beautiful rooms. Glorious breakfasts.
Simona and Giulo were perfect hosts and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Evelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Evelina

Address: Via Streghi, 12, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Evelina" Bed & Breakfast enjoys a central and at the same time peaceful and quiet location, where the charm of a typical ancient house is preserved.On the third floor of one of Lucca's noble mansions, Simona and Giulio welcome their guests in an apartment enriched with age-old objects that recall the past and longtime experienced travelers. The apartment overlooks an old medieval courtyard with cool gardens and offers five spacious rooms.Breakfast, served on the terrace with a view of Lucca's red rooftops and Torre delle Ore, will make your stay unique and unforgettable."Evelina" B&B offers warm hospitality in a private house, open to all those who are looking for and appreciate friendly accommodation in a relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Evelina Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast Evelina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Evelina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.