We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Evelina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Evelina
Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Evelina to your Saves list
Via Streghi, 12, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 132 Lucca B&B and Inns
Pacifica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I just got back last night from a 16 day trip to Italy. We were celebrating my birthday and I can truly say that this is the best birthday memory I have had so far. We started our trip with a 5 day stay at Evelina and we were both very pleased with everything about Evelina. The owners, Simona & Giulio are the best! They are so pleasant, sweet and professional - they make you feel right at home. They prepare breakfast every morning and they always add little details, which make it more special. On the day of my birthday, Simona included a birthday candle on my pastry. The B&B is super cozy and quaint. They also do a great job at keeping everything very clean and tidy, it is obvious that they take great pride in their B&B. The location is also great - everything is withing walking distance and it is also perfect for doing day trips. We took the train to Florence and Pisa. Giulio is also very informative and is great at returning emails. We corresponded a lot before our arrival and he was nice enough to tell me that cars/buses are not allowed in the area, so he reserved a taxi to pick us up at the airport (I highly recommend doing this, it is worth the 50 EU). Thank you Simona and Giulio!!! We highly recommend Evelina :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
139
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Simona and Guilio for our week in Lucca and could not have been happier. The bed and breakfast is located on a side street and the climb up three flights of stairs was well worth the effort. The cleanliness and lovely simplicity of our room, the Italian style breakfasts on the terrace with coffee, peach or pear juice, fresh baked pastries (the fig muffins were wonderful!, Simona), biscotti, cheeses and sliced meats--all was perfection. And of course, Simona and Guilio were the perfect hosts. Bravo! We plan to return to Lucca (we are so glad we made it our main destination) and hope to stay at Bed and Breakfast Evelina again.

Linda and Joe
Parkton, Maryland USA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We travelled to Lucca to get married having previously fallen in love with the city.
We decided to stay at B&B Evelina because it looked perfect. And it exceeded even our expectations.
Fantastic location. Beautiful rooms. Glorious breakfasts.
Simona and Giulo were perfect hosts and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The reviews previous to ours say it all! It truly is like nothing we have experienced before. Simona and Giulio are what make this place and our experience of Lucca so special and memorable. Very authentic, charming in every way and inspirational. And of course there's Lucca, which is a beautiful city and definitely worth a trip. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The problem with Tripadvisor is that 5 stars is the maximum you can go. Honestly, this place deserves six. Simona and Giulio were amazing hosts. I had a wonderful stay at their beautiful B&B which is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated in the way of a traditional Italian home. Right from the time of arrival to the time of departure I felt at home. Simona greeted me warmly when I first arrived even though it was really late. And breakfast the next day was nothing short of amazing - traditional (and homemade!!) Italian/Lucchese bread, together with homemade spreads, fresh local pecorino cheese, fresh juice and all the fixes to prepare one for a great day ahead. Well, if that's not special enough, the view from the B&B at breakfast was just phenomenal. Well, nothing is too much trouble for both Simona and Giulio, and their recommendations for sightseeing in the city, great places to eat, and nice day trips out were simply spot on. I was so glad I managed to catch the last summer jazz concert of the season in the Botanic Gardens, all thanks to Giulio's recommendations.

Yes, the B&B is in a centuries-old building, the doors creak a little, there is no elevator, but hey, it all adds to the charm of the place doesn't it? Trust me - this B&B is worth carrying heavy luggage up the stairs for. Thank you Simona and Giulio once again - I will be back many times over!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Other reviewers have done a great job of explaining how special B&B Evelina is. It is authentic, amazingly preserved and decorated, special, unique...it is honestly hard to explain how wonderful this little place is. Simona and Giulio are so warm and adorable and do the best job. The B&B is SPOTLESS and lovely with more gorgeous details than I could recount...we just took tons of photos! The breakfasts are AMAZING! YUM! Local, delicious, special. It you want an elevator, AC, and modern amenities, this isn't your place. If you want real Italy, charm, and gorgeousness, this is your place. It is a gem - right in town, too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

B&B Evelina is for those looking for a more authentic Italian experience rather than one which includes air conditioning, elevators and wifi. While Lucca is certainly charming and a pleasure to visit, it was Simona and Giulio made our stay unique. Their home and hospitality had a charm that hotels cannot rival. Thank you both for those lovely Tuscan mornings!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Evelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Evelina

Address: Via Streghi, 12, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Evelina" Bed & Breakfast enjoys a central and at the same time peaceful and quiet location, where the charm of a typical ancient house is preserved.On the third floor of one of Lucca's noble mansions, Simona and Giulio welcome their guests in an apartment enriched with age-old objects that recall the past and longtime experienced travelers. The apartment overlooks an old medieval courtyard with cool gardens and offers five spacious rooms.Breakfast, served on the terrace with a view of Lucca's red rooftops and Torre delle Ore, will make your stay unique and unforgettable."Evelina" B&B offers warm hospitality in a private house, open to all those who are looking for and appreciate friendly accommodation in a relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Evelina Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast Evelina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Evelina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.