We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place overall, wonderful host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mimosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Mimosa to your Saves list
La Mimosa
Via Pisana 66 | Sant'Anna, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 138 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place overall, wonderful host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a great time, wonderful place, free bikes, superb service. The rooms were excellent, and the free wifi was very fast. Our host, Giuseppe, was very kind and welcoming. I recommend this place to anyone thinking of coming to Lucca.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
82
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for two days in June 2013 during a short trip to Lucca. The hotel is conveniently located near the medieval city centre. It's perhaps a 5 minute walk to the gate in the city wall.

The staff is exceptionally friendly. We arrived just on time to make it before they close at night but we were welcomed warmly and there was no rush through the check-in procedure. On the contrary, we also received a lot of very good recommendations about what to do and what to see.

Our room was basic but clean, so was the bathroom, and the bed was very comfortable. Our room faced the street, so there was a bit of noise from the traffic outside - but only with open windows.

Breakfast was served in a small room. It had all the basics and the guys prepared espresso, hot chocolate etc on the spot.

If you arrive by car, there is free parking 100 metres down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for just one night after our Tuscan holiday. Fantastic service and great information about Lucca when we arrived. Breakfast was a delight out in the garden. Very helpful staff and a lovely clean hotel. Well done! Great as it is so near the old city walls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Giuseppe is the host with the most, he is outstanding when it comes to service and goes the extra mile to make your stay as easy as possible. Giuseppe is always smiling and willing to help, he offered to ring to out next accommodation to confirm our booking, he printed out our train timetable for us and so the list goes on. No doubt the fantastic host that he is.
Our room was great with really good decorating, whoever did this has a real flair for interior decorating. The shower was the best we had come across.
The B&B has bicycles that were great to ride around the walls of Lucca.
The recommendations for eating were spot on too.
Overall, this was a fantastic place to stay and the rooms and host were first rate and the value was great, probably the best value accommodation we had over 4 weeks.
Totally enjoyed Lucca and worth a stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It was clean, the food was great, the staff was perfect and we didn't want to leave! We loved the patio and they had bikes for us to ride, we didn't need to rent them! The least exspensive place that we stayed in 5 countries! We will be back!

Room Tip: We overlooked the patio, it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed for one night in Mid-May 2013.
Location is just outside of city wall, but within easy walking distance.
We had bicycles reserved for us at the B&B (no extra charge), but did not end up needing them.
We had a large room on the ground floor (2 double beds) with a separate and spacious bathroom area with stand up shower.
Everything was very clean and nicely decorated - Loved our room!
Breakfast is included with plenty of choice - Giuseppe makes a great cappuccino!
Also, Giuseppe was extremely helpful in guiding us not only for Lucca, but pointed us to some other lovely Tuscan cities on our departure drive to Siena.
This was our only B&B during our Italy trip, next time around based on this quality we'll stay at more!
Adam & Teresa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our stay at La Mimosa was highlighted by its location near one of the main gates of the old city. The staff, Giuseppe and Stefano were very professional, helpful and extremely friendly.The room was clean and reasonably comfortable, although somewhat small. The breakfast was great. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mimosa

Address: Via Pisana 66 | Sant'Anna, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear visitors, new management welcomes you in the new bed and breakfast located a few steps from the historic city walls of lucca.B&b la mimosa consists of 5 bedrooms, each with its own bathroom with shower and hairdryer, flat screen satellite tv, wi-fi internet connection, heating, air conditioning, dehumidifier and safe.The b&b has also a nice cozy breakfast room where you can enjoy, included in the room price, a typical Italian breakfast, or a continental breakfast on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Mimosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mimosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.