We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Giappone Inn Parking Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Giappone Inn Parking Hotel to your Saves list
Giappone Inn Parking Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Grande 65, 57123 Livorno, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€41 (EUR)
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Giappone Inn for 2 nights, and two hungry mornings. The "breakfast" consists of a coffee machine, a few battered crossaints and a cereal dispenser Sellotaped together. The staff are extremely rude. The wi-fi system is a complete and utter nuisance. There is a lack of shower curtain. And a weird washing line in the bath. Only stayed here because we had to. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    40
    27
    23
See reviews for
21
29
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The room, a quadruple, stank with cigarette smoke. The air condition did not work, and the ceiling fan did not cool us during the night. In addition, the bathroom was dirty and smelt like sewage. Disgusting! I felt that the room sucked up a lot of my energy, leaving me tired and a bit cranky.

The only pro, I would say, was the helpful employee giving us a lot of information about the surrounding part of the city and how to get to the ferries for Corsica the next morning.

Room Tip: Just avoid choosing this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

We looked on the Internet and could see there were rooms available so as we were passing we dropped in to ask for a room for the night. The receptionist was busy chatting to a man there who was smoking and obviously didn't want interrupting and told us they were fully booked?! It was a quiet Sunday in Livorno and all the Internet sites showed vacancies so make your own mind up.
Somebody did comment that Livorno was a dump, it isn't and has good shopping, an excellent market and wonderful restaurants + lots to see, so don't be put off.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We booked the hotel for one night because we were looking for a secure parking so we could leave the luggage in the car.

On arrival we learned that the reservation of the parking lot via internet didn't work, however, the receptionist did make some effort to give us the "last" free parking lot. Our Audi A6 Avant did just about fit into the garage (bigger cars would certainly not fit in). However, once you are in, it's a single garage, that can be locked, i.e. secure.

Our room was towards the main road, which was very loud so we did not open the windows. The room had A/C which worked not very well, if not to say, next to nothing. However, the bed linen and the shower were reasonably clean. The interior is run down, so is the hotel lobby. When you enter the lobby, the tobacco smell is unpleasant.

If you have to catch a 8:00o'clock ferry you will not have enough time to have breakfast, since breakfast is from about 6:30.

Livorno itself is a dump. Next time we would take a night-ferry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Slept there before embarking on a ferry. The hotel is old, dark, expensive. If you have to sleep there just do not choose the room from the street side. The windows are old and all the noise (this is on eof Livorno main alleys) will not let you sleep. My advice - take a night ferry and avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

My booking: Hotel Giappone Inn,Via Grande 65,Livorno; Standard 4 Bed Private. Incl. parking + free breakfast.
On arrival: your reservation is for the "residence La Querciolaia" an apartment with kitchen in the room....
So we can assure the free parking but not the breakfast ??????????????????????????????

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrimonio, Corsica, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We arrived late at night after a hectic time getting there, to find that the room we had booked was not the one they were going to give us. Instead they took us across the street into another building (an apartment building, not a hotel) and presented our room to us in there. It was all very strange and indeed I still do not fully understand what happened. The room itself had the heat on full blast and it was like a sauna. It never really cooled down even after we turned it off. We were traveling with a one year old and so a hot room wasn't the best situation for her. The bathroom was scary - old, noisy, musty. Thankfully were were only there for a few hours to sleep before catching our ferry early the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giappone Inn Parking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giappone Inn Parking Hotel

Address: Via Grande 65, 57123 Livorno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giappone Inn Parking Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giappone Inn Hotel is situated in the commercial zone of Livorno. It's a few hundred meters far from the Ferry Port, and 1km far from the Railway Station. In front of the entrance there is a bus stop for the city and from which it's possible to reach the majority of Tuscany's main cities. Wireless Internet high speed access is available (wi-fi network) Giappone Hotel offers a private garage and a very good bar/restaurant with a large TV room. The Hotel also offers an internal room with computer and videoprojector, suitable for meetings and professional training courses. All the rooms are equipped with private bathroom, lcd tv, Wi-Fi, air conditioning and direct telephone. Pets are allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Giappone Inn Parking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giappone Hotel Parking

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giappone Inn Parking Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.