We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and loud, but clean and secure parking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Giappone Inn Parking Hotel

Save Saved
You added Giappone Inn Parking Hotel to your Saves list
Giappone Inn Parking Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Giappone Inn Parking Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Grande 65, 57123 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Run down and loud, but clean and secure parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We booked the hotel for one night because we were looking for a secure parking so we could leave the luggage in the car.

On arrival we learned that the reservation of the parking lot via internet didn't work, however, the receptionist did make some effort to give us the "last" free parking lot. Our Audi A6 Avant did just about fit into the garage (bigger cars would certainly not fit in). However, once you are in, it's a single garage, that can be locked, i.e. secure.

Our room was towards the main road, which was very loud so we did not open the windows. The room had A/C which worked not very well, if not to say, next to nothing. However, the bed linen and the shower were reasonably clean. The interior is run down, so is the hotel lobby. When you enter the lobby, the tobacco smell is unpleasant.

If you have to catch a 8:00o'clock ferry you will not have enough time to have breakfast, since breakfast is from about 6:30.

Livorno itself is a dump. Next time we would take a night-ferry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    37
    24
    17
See reviews for
20
24
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Krakow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Slept there before embarking on a ferry. The hotel is old, dark, expensive. If you have to sleep there just do not choose the room from the street side. The windows are old and all the noise (this is on eof Livorno main alleys) will not let you sleep. My advice - take a night ferry and avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

My booking: Hotel Giappone Inn,Via Grande 65,Livorno; Standard 4 Bed Private. Incl. parking + free breakfast.
On arrival: your reservation is for the "residence La Querciolaia" an apartment with kitchen in the room....
So we can assure the free parking but not the breakfast ??????????????????????????????

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrimonio, Corsica, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We arrived late at night after a hectic time getting there, to find that the room we had booked was not the one they were going to give us. Instead they took us across the street into another building (an apartment building, not a hotel) and presented our room to us in there. It was all very strange and indeed I still do not fully understand what happened. The room itself had the heat on full blast and it was like a sauna. It never really cooled down even after we turned it off. We were traveling with a one year old and so a hot room wasn't the best situation for her. The bathroom was scary - old, noisy, musty. Thankfully were were only there for a few hours to sleep before catching our ferry early the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

This hotel is in the middle of Via Grande, one of the busiest street in Livorno, where you are able to find good pizzerias and you will also be within walking distance to the harbour and the main attractions, which ain't much in this laid back town.

The rooms are basic but sizeable for its price and the staff are friendly. There is also wifi access in the rooms.

The only downside is the lack of english channels on TV and the relatively bleak breakfast.

Will consider staying here again if I return.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — No English TV Channels and Poor Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giappone Inn Parking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giappone Inn Parking Hotel

Address: Via Grande 65, 57123 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giappone Inn Parking Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Giappone Inn Parking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giappone Hotel Parking

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giappone Inn Parking Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.