We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary find and a uniquely rewarding experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stazione

Save Saved
You added Hotel Stazione to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Stazione
Viale Carducci 301, 57124 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Coolum Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extraordinary find and a uniquely rewarding experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having been lucky enough to have travelled world wide fairly extensively, we certainly know a great hotel when we find it, and Hotel Stazione in Livorno, Italy ranks much higher than most four & five star competitors.

Located just 200 meters from main rail station, (which is also bus hub), with stop at front door, you can tour Tuscony with simple ease from here.

More importantly, we have never stayed anywhere which would rate higher for customer care and attention, in excellent English.

Then, our room was spacious, comfortably, but not luxuriously, appointed with queen sized bed, firm and comfortable.

However, my main reason for initiating this review, is the impeccable cleanliness of the hotel. It shines! And that applies to that far corner behind the toilet too.

To add "balance" to this review, I suggest they add a little fruit or cereal for non Italian travellers, to their breakfast offering.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
17
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We weren't expecting anything too flash for the price, it was more about having easy access to Pisa for a few days. It is perfectly located across a roundabout from the train station, less than 5 min walk. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who showed us to our room (something we've never experienced before in Italy). The room itself was perfect for a few days, it was a good size and very clean. The en suite bathroom was also good size and had the most amazing shower!

My only gripe is that because there are no carpets along the corridor or in the rooms it emphasises any noises that are made along the corridor. I know the maids have their jobs to do but they were dragging chairs across the floors, reminding me of nails down a chalkboard, and chattering out in the hallway when I was still trying to sleep.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we wandered over to the station to eat before getting the train into Pisa. We did try a pizzeria a short walk from the hotel on the same side of the road around 200m towards the town centre - A Tutta Pizza. On the walls of the shop there are many certificates and awards for their pizzas, it's easy to understand why - they were really, really good.

Would I recommend it... Yes
Would I stay here again... Yes but would bring earplugs as I couldn't cope with the noise again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very nice hotel, big room with a small bathroom and a balcony, to be honest I didn´t expect so nice and cozy room for the price we paid, so I was positively surprised. :)
The lady at the reception was very nice and helpful, she also gave us an umbrella when we were leaving the hotel and it started to rain.
The location of the hotel is perfect for those who travel by train, because it is in front of the railway station.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in June 2012. The hotel is right across the street from the train station, about a 5 minute walk. Very clean, helpful staff that spoke good English. It was early June and the air conditioning was not yet turned on, so sleeping with the windows open was a challenge - very noisy. I'd suggest requesting a room that is not right on the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife had an accident in Florence while touring the city, she had to be hospitalized and operated. Friends suggested this hotel, not only because of he proximity to the Hospital she was admitted, but for its top rating.
When I first registered, I was impressed with the professionalism and courtesy of the front desk staff. They spoke very good English, although in my case it was not important, because I do speak Italian. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, and their housekeeping was done on a daily basis by some hard working ladies.
Continental breakfast was served promptly on a daily basis, starting at 7:00 AM, with a good selection of bread, pastry, coffee, milk, tea, chocolate, fruit juice and mineral water.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to any of my family and friends. In fact, my wife and I are thinking about coming back to Livorno, and we would for sure stay at this hotel.
Congratulations to the owners, and good luck to the staff. You did a wonderful job, Thank yhou.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were searching for somewhere to overnight before catching the Corsica Ferry next morning. The Hotel Stazione is a 3 minute walk across from the station and was clean, comfortable and well priced. They organised the early morning taxi and opened the breakfast early so we could eat before leaving. They have a bar downstairs for drinks and snacks. Excellent place to stay if just seeking a good bed for the night. Had a superb feed at the L'Ascaro restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

2 min walking from the Rail Station. Staff was very professional and friendly .
price-quality very good.

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
Room Service, I...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#6 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta di Montenero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#5 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
2.1 mi away
NH Grand Hotel Palazzo
NH Grand Hotel Palazzo
#2 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Bar/Lounge, Mid...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Parking Hotel Giardino
Parking Hotel Giardino
#7 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stazione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stazione

Address: Viale Carducci 301, 57124 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Stazione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stazione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.