We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Citta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Citta to your Saves list
Hotel Citta
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Citta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Franco, 32, 57123 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Sweden
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This place is located just in the centre of Livorno, close to bus station and shops. It seeed to be quite newly renovaded. The room was roomy, clean and nice. It had aircon, fridge and safe. The bathroom was really nice, big and clean.

The breakfast was typicallly continental, not very special but ok.
The staff was very friendly, especially the man in the reception.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
10
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We booked this hotel for it's proximity to the train station and the port where we would be taking a ferry to Corsica. Although the staff was kind, the hotel is pretty seedy and in a sketchy part of town. From the plastic flowers in the lobby which were so dusty you couldn't see what color they had been to the tiny room and bath, everything seemed so dated and cheap. I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you are really desperate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night while waiting for a ferry transfer. The room was clean with a large comfortable bed. It is well located close to the port of Livorno.
The best part of the hotel was actually the staff, who made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. They woke up very early to prepare breakfast for us, made sure the taxi was there on time for the transfer to the port and helped with a very fast check in and check out. Their restaurant recomendation was good as well as the place was close and for a small city restaurant had great food.
Would go back here especially for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

If you want the true flavor of real italy stay at the Citta. You are smack dab in the market area which offers everything from fruits and veggies to linens and toys. The local people are wonderful and you won't run into the traditional tourist trap stuff. The Citta was in the process of renovation, but the staff went out of their way to see that we were comfortable and not disturbed by any of the construction. Our van was too tall for the parking garage so we had to park on the street wherever we could find a spot. My mom was on crutches and finding a close spot so she didn't have to walk far was hard at times. When the management of the Citta found out, he made a point of saving us a parking spot everyday right in front of the door. By the time we left, we felt like family. It may not have been the classiest looking place, but it had the classiest people. Breakfast was good, the rooms were clean and the price was fair. They made a point of always having someone on staff who spoke english available if we needed an in depth conversation about something. Otherwise we all got a long fine with bits and pieces of italian on our end and some pointing and pantomime with lots of laughter!

  • Liked — the people
  • Disliked — the parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

This is a refurbushed Hotel which I guess in the past has been rated as a 2 star but is now 3 star.

Although everything promised on the website was there it nonetheless still had the air of a 2 + star Hotel. This is fine, but the price of 110 euros not including breakfast for a double room is overly expensive in comparison with other hotels I have stayed in throughout Italy.

The people running the Hotel were pleasant enough but
some issues were:
The hotel foyer was a tip
The shower cubicle was dirty and mould encrusted
The sheets were not changed as often as they should have been
The rooms were very noisy - A wake up call was not required because at 06:30 each morning the preparation for breakfast woke everyone up as it reverberated across the place. I am a pretty heavy sleeper but the noise awoke me.

A price of 80 Euros would be much fairer price for the standard of this hotel.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Citta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citta

Address: Via Di Franco, 32, 57123 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citta 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Citta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citta Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Citta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.