We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max Hotel Livorno

Save Saved
You added Max Hotel Livorno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Max Hotel Livorno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giorgio Ciardi 28 | Zona Porta a Terra, 57121 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not bad at all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed in here with my wife for the night before our ferry boat travel to Sardinia. The hotel is new and the rooms are nice and comfortable. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom big. You just needed to be careful, because the floor became slipery when wet. The only problem with it is the location. We were lucky to have a car, but I think that if you relied in public transportation you would have had a bad time. However, and after finding the hotel, parking was easy and free, just in front of the hotel entrance.

The city of Livorno is just five minutes away and Pisa can be visited in under 30 minutes. There is an almost abandoned Shopping Center next to the hotel, but, just a 5 min away, there is a large supermarket, where you can buy food for your trips. The breakfast could have been better, but it was ok, and started to be served at 6AM. Our Ferry Boat was leaving by 8Am, so we could eat before leaving.

I had a problem with my credit card in the Hotel. Even though my reservation was already paid for, the hotel charged again for it. I only saw it 2 months later, when I received my credit card bill. However, after e-mailing the hotel management, in 3 days all was solved and the hotel transfered the money to my account. Hey, problems happen every time. It is how you handle them that matters. And the hotel did handle this situation very professionally and I have even received an apologies e-mail from the Hotel director. Thanks again for solving this so fast.

All in all, it's a very good place to stay if you have to catch the ferry boat, but it could also serve as a nice place to stay longer if you want to spend sometime exploring nearby locations as Pisa, Lucca (not so near) and Livorno. The prices are competitive and the place is very satisfactory. I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    161
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
43
96
10
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel was alright, situated away from the city though, and a bit hard to find. Very remote and next to a dead shopping mall in an industrial area.
You definitely need to have a car to get there, parking is easy though right in front of the lobby. Where we were met by an unfriendly, bored staff. We checked in for a single night - luckily no more.
The wifi is slow and the air condition kept switching off during the night. Also the bathroom floor gets extremely slippery when wet.

We made the mistake of eating at the hotel restaurant. Do NOT, no matter how hungry you are, do that. The waiter had troubles understanding English and was not that helpful at all and couldn't carve a fish.
I had a vegetable soup for starters that was disgusting. It didn't taste of anything, half the vegetables were slimey and the rest uncooked. Despite complaining and not eating more than a spoonful, we still had to pay for it (€15)
My boyfriend ordered fish skewers for seconde but received a plateful of undistinguished fish and shellfish in a mess. He had a few tastes and had to stop eating it because the shellfish was bad.
We still had to pay - A bill of a whooping bill of €72 for the worst meal I've ever had.

Breakfast was ok, but the bread was stale and the meats had gone bad.

Ok for a single night if you have a car and have already eaten, otherwise, find something closer to the city and the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Excellent Hotel with very good breakfast (included with room) Nice restaurant on site. The Hotel was somewhat isolated not real easy access to train station. There was a small mall next door.
would have been better if more centrally located to city

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice and clean hotel, very close from ferry lines, quite and a very good restaurant. Nespresso corner available, nice breakfast if you are early, to late you will have poor choice but personnal is very helfull. Have also find some gluten free food for my wife.
Quite area with a outside or inside parking. We have booked for the way to Corsica and book again for our return night.
Outside parking was safe for our motorbike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located near the motorway but somewhat isolated on the edge of town, the 9-story Max Hotel offers comfortable rooms at competitive prices. Ample free parking space is available in front of the hotel. A small shopping center with a few shops is attached.

An English speaking receptionist assigned us to room #810, which came with dark wood imitation laminate flooring, a fridge, desk, small TV, comfy king size bed, no safe, good WI-FI, and a view towards the city of Livorno and the distant Mediterranean. Though newer, furniture and area rug show signs of wear, but clean overall. At night it was super quiet. The A/C in our west facing room did not respond to the thermostat in the room, requiring a call to reception to activate the system and to bring the temperature down into the comfort zone. The super modern bath with its glass vanity counter top, clear glass sink, a bidet, and a tub/shower combo was well lit and spotless.

The in-house restaurant served excellent fare from a menu selection with something for everyone. Breakfast served from six a.m. consists of a typical enhanced continental assortment, plus a very nice spread of baked sweets.

For the price of 99 Euro, the Max hotel offers business travelers and road wary tourists a comfortable, quiet place to spend the night in modern comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Arriving at 1930h on a Sunday evening, I was suprised that the restaurant was closed. Had to grab some slices of pizza in the nearby shopping mall which was like a ghost town. I was told that most of the shops had closed due to lack of business, after the hyper market had opened. The room was noisy and one could hear guests checking in late in the night. The room was otherwise comfortable. Despite being on only the fourth floor there was no pressure in the shower head, which has also needs to be changed.
The buffet breakfast had a limited offering and this was the worst breakfast I had during my ten days in Italy. Except for the proximity to the train station, there is no excuse to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, US
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I would recommend this hotel, if the price is right.

The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the train station. However, I was forced to walk on the road in a couple of places. The front desk attendants spoke fluent English. The hotel provides free Internet. I found the breakfast to be OK and the restaurant staff somewhat lacking in
customer focus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Max Hotel Livorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Hotel Livorno

Address: Via Giorgio Ciardi 28 | Zona Porta a Terra, 57121 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#4 Business Hotel in Livorno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Max Hotel Livorno 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Max Hotel Livorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livorno Max Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Hotel Livorno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.