We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult without a car” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Max Hotel Livorno

Save Saved
You added Max Hotel Livorno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Max Hotel Livorno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giorgio Ciardi 28 | Zona Porta a Terra, 57121 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 hotels in Livorno
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Difficult without a car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent one night here having arrived on the ferry and before travelling onward by train the next day. Internally, the hotel was clean and comfortable - no complaints, however the location was a downside for us. Perhaps we should have researched it more thoroughly but the website claims it is 'a few minutes from the train station'. This is true if you are in a car, but on foot it is a brisk 10-15 minute walk along a main road. The hotel is part of an out-of-town shopping complex, with no restaurant facilities in the vicinity. Fortunately we discovered a great little local pizzeria around 20 minutes walk away, just past the station - Pizza e Torta- unassuming from the outside but great, cheap pizzas. We didn't breakfast at the hotel. Overall, a good hotel if you have a car and are in Livorno as a stopover, but on foot we wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    151
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
72
5
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

the hotel was very modern with lots of parking out front, no security tho for the lot, although its right out front so it wasnt too bad, the room was dark colors and looked good, the air conditioning took a little working to get going and stopped working during the night, the wifi i think cost a dollar but wasnt good enough to browse the internet, the beds were comfortable and the window looked out onto the mall that its attached to, the front desk girl was nice but distant so i found her uncomfortable to speak to, the restaurant on the main floor was decorated nicely but the food wasnt very good and was super expensive, the breakfast in the morning was good though, wouldnt stay here again or in Livorno, the place is not a nice stop by the sea, its all sea cans and industrial wasteland of car and truck lots, just a huge port city

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A modern hotel but off the beaten track. Cost of 25 eoro from the ferry port. It is out of town. We were dissappointed with the service in the restaurant. The description of meals on the menu was not what arrived on the table. Breakfast was disasterous as, at 09.00, there was nothing left except croissants and toast. The cook had gone home and no more hot food would be provided. There was still one hour before breakfast finished.

Room Tip: Book early for the best rooms and prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stayed one night with my family to catch the morning ferry from Livorno to Sardinia.

The hotel is offsite, next to a half abandoned shopping hall that hosts a terrible pizza fast food place (I wonder how such a place can exist in Italy). Anyway, you need a car to get to the hotel and also to get back to civilization.

What we liked was the spacious room, the free water from the mini bar, free parking in front of the hotel as well as in the underground garage. Breakfast was ok. The price was fair (125 EUR for a room with two double beds).

Internet was free but didn't work. The while hotel smelled a little bit strange and I would get depressed if I needed to stay there for longer than a night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

A hotel a bit in the outskirts of the city but very convenient if you have to catch an early ferry to Corsica: breakfast starts at 6.30 and the staff is efficient and helpful. It takes about 15min to get to the harbor. The hotel is a nice city hotel, nice clean rooms, very comfortable beds...we would definitely go back and recommend to our friends. However, be aware that you DO need a car to get there and back to harbor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

First of all - our GPS said to us that such building number... doesnt exist, but we didnt give up :)
When we finally located the Hotel we, at first, found it modern and nice. Also we were told proudly that minibar is free of charge. Only when we got into the room we realized that that must had been a jeer!! In the fridge - two small cokes & mineral water... Very generous! Further on in our bathroom, shower handle wasnt held properly (falling down), very short shower guard didnt prevent water from falling down to the floor.
B/F finished us up! Cold becon, no eggs, only milk, tea/coffe and cereals!! Our mood was spoiled... that morning I had a birthday, but during check-out nothing was said... It's not a bif deal, but still...
So we've got a not very good overall impression, in spite of all the modern and new building appearance/design/interior.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010 via mobile

The hotel max livorno os very modern and confortable!
We liked very much! We would like to thanks the recepcionist Sara! She was very kind!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Max Hotel Livorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Hotel Livorno

Also Known As:
Livorno Max Hotel
Address: Via Giorgio Ciardi 28 | Zona Porta a Terra, 57121 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#4 Business Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Max Hotel Livorno 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Max Hotel Livorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Hotel Livorno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.