We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again and again and again!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rex to your Saves list
Hotel Rex
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Litorale , 164, 57128 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Canterbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Will go again and again and again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. Our room was overlooking the private bathing area so when we opened the curtains for the first time we saw a blaze of blue umbrellas and sunbeds and the sea as a back drop. The bathing is very safe, with a rocky breakwater to prevent waves crashing onto the bathing area. The breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful with the opportunity to eat it on the terrace under the morning sun. No rush for the sunbeds, they are allocated to each room when you arrive by the lifeguard. The sunsets are breathtaking and the car park ample both at the front and to the side of the hotel. Pisa is only half an hour away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    57
    30
    21
    12
See reviews for
13
59
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Beautiful weather and this was just the place to enjoy it after being on the road and needing a break for a few days. The evening meal upstairs was lovely overlooking the sea. The sun chairs all laid out perfectly are a photo shot, and it is very relaxing outside in the sun. It is great that the locals use the beach too, adds to the continental feel (and they do pay ). Clean and spacious, and certainly get the sea view, its worth it. Close to Pisa after a busy day there, a short drive to come back and relax. Their internet is very fast and only a euro an hour.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed for five nights in July. The first room we were in, the air conditioning did not work and it was very hot. We complained twice and it was not fixed. We then moved rooms and the air conditioning was barely adequate. The hotels rooms are large, excellent views and good bathrooms. Breakfast is also good.

However, in two years we have stayed at the Hotel Rex, they have not fixed the air conditioning problems. We will not return.

  • Liked — Location, View, size of rooms, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Poor to no air conditioning!!!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

My husband & I booked this hotel for our last night in Tuscany. We wanted a quiet night away from the hustle & bussle of Florence. I believe that there is a train station close by, but we had a rental car & drove to the hotel. The hotel is very easy to find & the surrounding area looks like your typical beach/seaside town.

The hotel has it's own parking & it is free which is nice. The room is very clean & a much larger room than most European hotels. The room wasn't very important after we walked out on the balcony & saw the view. WOW! We had a room that looked over the Mediterranean Sea & it took my breath away. The buffet breakfast is very nice with a good variety! There is a very nice restaurant right next door to the hotel that we enjoyed & it was very convenient. If we vacation in Livorno again we would stay this hotel again.

  • Liked — The sea view
  • Disliked — The decor is a bit dated
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Del Litorale , 164, 57128 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful inlets of the Etrurian coast, Hotel Rex with its 64 comfort rooms, offers relaxing stays by the sea with the best tradition of the Tuscan food and wines. Two restaurants, one of them with a panoramic terrace facing the sea, night music by the Modi American bar, private parking, free access and facilities to the private beach, diving centre. All of the most important artistic towns of Tuscany are reachable in less than an hour by car. Hotel Rex convention centre offers three meeting rooms and low tariffs for business long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.