We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rex to your Saves list
Hotel Rex
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Litorale , 164, 57128 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Torrevieja, Spain
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The service from Analiese in reception was outstanding. There was plenty of sunloungers,and umbrellasand all the rooms had balconies overlooking the sea. The restaurant was nice if a little basic. All in all a good place.

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    33
    21
    14
See reviews for
14
62
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A nice hotel perfectly situated by The Mediterian Ocean. The view from the roofterrace is stunning. The rooms are good - but you will probably not use much time there. The Hotel has a private beach...

Room Tip: A room room With a View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I loved my stay at the Hotel Rex - its far-out retro style combined with the on the sea front locale was perfect for the get away from the driving heat in Firenze. Easy to get to by city bus from Livorno (last stop) on the # 2 coast/beach route. Secluded, beautiful coastline and beaches and sunbathing on lounges options. Clean, and simple but nice. The showers have a super massager feature-wow! That was fun. Hint, Avoid rooms on the 2nd floor- a noisy banquet room upstairs was annoying at certain times towards the south end of the building. Get a room with a partial or full view, worth it!-Balcony for breathing that luscious sea air. Breakfast was amazing- huge selection. The staff were all wonderful and very attentive and helpful- computer in the lobby. Thanks for the wonderful stay. Bello!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Hotel Rex is situated at the furthest southern tip of Livorno in an outer suburb, with the Tuscan hills as a backdrop. These 70’s style hotels tend to be unpopular as it was the decade that style forgot and the lurid turquoise linoleum tiles in the room plus the hideous green faux marble basin in the bathroom are real eyesores to be sure. Putting these details of décor to one side though, the hotel isn’t at all bad as our room was comfortable with an excellent sea view and balcony and the facilities were actually quite good. Breakfast was first rate with a wide choice and was the only hotel I came across on this trip with the option of cooked food on the menu. The breakfast room was bright and airy and I noticed that there was also an attractive terrace available to eat on though unfortunately the high wind and threat of rain meant that everyone stayed inside. Probably more geared to sun seekers than those doing a Tuscan tour there is nevertheless a sizeable car park, but the rows of sun loungers and the dedicated children’s room on the lower level indicated that this a good place for family holidays. It’s also worth mentioning that the computer in the lobby is a bargain at one Euro for an hour’s use as the standard rate in other Italian hotels is one Euro for 20 minutes.

There is a very good seafood restaurant about five minutes walk away, nothing special to look at and adjacent to a caravan site but ignore the unpromising location as it was actually very good with the best fish I’ve eaten in a long time.

Finally a word about the reception staff: they were exceptional. On arriving at Pisa airport we experienced a problem with car hire when the car booked on line turned out to be three times the agreed price, we consequently walked out and made use of public transport but after a couple of days really needed a car. That’s where the reception staff at the Rex came in; they made several calls to local car hire firms for us translating where necessary and we wouldn’t have managed to secure a car without their help. Thanks girls! – your help was really appreciated.

To sum up, this is quite a good hotel and although perhaps at first glance not a four star, the facilities and attentive staff offset the dated look of the hotel itself and the rates here are really reasonable too, not a bad place for a stopover before heading for those Tuscan hills.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had planned to stay at Hotel Rex for our final few days in Tuscany. It had four stars so we were expecting a certain standard. Once we arrived at hotel, we realised it wasn't what we had come to expect of four star hotels in Tuscany. It was bland, dated and in desperate need of an upgrade.
Neither is it in Livorno but quite a few miles out. We asked for a restaurant recommendation. They recommended a restaurant 30 mins away by taxi. Once there - it was in an industrial estate - the food was good. However we could not home- not one taxi could be got. One of the restaurant staff had to drive us back. It cost us 65 Euro for the taxi and lift home alone. The hotel staff just shrugged when we told them. No real customer service.
The restaurant does have a private beach!! Yeah right - you are packed in like sardines in a concrete pier type thing - you may as well sunbathe on the street. Needless to say we didnt bother.
Thankfully we got a hotel in Lucca for our final night - another four star. It was fab.
This rating system doesn't seem to be constant for hotels in Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

It is quite difficult to rate such an hotel. I visited it for a reunion of my former class mates, 40 years after we all joined the Navy (Livorno hosts the Italian Navy Academy). From 1971 to 2011, I think absolutely nothing has changed inside the hotel. But do not misunderstand, it is in excellent conditions. Except that in the room where I was, all was like it was in 1971! The floor in glass tiles, the bed very low, the bathroom tiny and with a typical 1971 shower space (thank God I have not put so much weight in 40 years, I could still - barely - fit in it. If you are overweight..... mmmmhhh.... wait for rain, it's better).
The view (I did not have a room with view) from the restaurant/balcony is amazing, right on the water. Breakfast was really standard.
So, difficult to judge. For the view alone, 5 stars. For the historical/memory point of view, this is how hotels were in 1971 and it is worth the money because if brings (and it did to me) back memories.
If you are looking for luxurious comfort, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Great location just outside the large and interesting city of Livorno.Take the number 1 bus directly outside of main rail station and get off at last stop fare 1.70euro on-board takes about 20/25 mins depending on traffic.The views are spectacular from the dinning room.Staff are so pleasant and helpful.

The only downfall is the need to reserve your table for the evening meal on the lower floor situated at sea level as it is so popular with local Italian residents who live locally as has a great reputation, the menu changes daily A great hotel and a further point is that residents of the hotel have free access to the safe but Rockey beach normally you would pay 15euros per person /day any where else,a greatplace to stay.

Room Tip: Buy you rail/bus tickets at the tobacco shops 25% cheaper do not forget to validate your tickets bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Del Litorale , 164, 57128 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful inlets of the Etrurian coast, Hotel Rex with its 64 comfort rooms, offers relaxing stays by the sea with the best tradition of the Tuscan food and wines. Two restaurants, one of them with a panoramic terrace facing the sea, night music by the Modi American bar, private parking, free access and facilities to the private beach, diving centre. All of the most important artistic towns of Tuscany are reachable in less than an hour by car. Hotel Rex convention centre offers three meeting rooms and low tariffs for business long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.