We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rex to your Saves list
Hotel Rex
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Litorale , 164, 57128 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had planned to stay at Hotel Rex for our final few days in Tuscany. It had four stars so we were expecting a certain standard. Once we arrived at hotel, we realised it wasn't what we had come to expect of four star hotels in Tuscany. It was bland, dated and in desperate need of an upgrade.
Neither is it in Livorno but quite a few miles out. We asked for a restaurant recommendation. They recommended a restaurant 30 mins away by taxi. Once there - it was in an industrial estate - the food was good. However we could not home- not one taxi could be got. One of the restaurant staff had to drive us back. It cost us 65 Euro for the taxi and lift home alone. The hotel staff just shrugged when we told them. No real customer service.
The restaurant does have a private beach!! Yeah right - you are packed in like sardines in a concrete pier type thing - you may as well sunbathe on the street. Needless to say we didnt bother.
Thankfully we got a hotel in Lucca for our final night - another four star. It was fab.
This rating system doesn't seem to be constant for hotels in Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    57
    30
    21
    12
See reviews for
13
59
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

It is quite difficult to rate such an hotel. I visited it for a reunion of my former class mates, 40 years after we all joined the Navy (Livorno hosts the Italian Navy Academy). From 1971 to 2011, I think absolutely nothing has changed inside the hotel. But do not misunderstand, it is in excellent conditions. Except that in the room where I was, all was like it was in 1971! The floor in glass tiles, the bed very low, the bathroom tiny and with a typical 1971 shower space (thank God I have not put so much weight in 40 years, I could still - barely - fit in it. If you are overweight..... mmmmhhh.... wait for rain, it's better).
The view (I did not have a room with view) from the restaurant/balcony is amazing, right on the water. Breakfast was really standard.
So, difficult to judge. For the view alone, 5 stars. For the historical/memory point of view, this is how hotels were in 1971 and it is worth the money because if brings (and it did to me) back memories.
If you are looking for luxurious comfort, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Great location just outside the large and interesting city of Livorno.Take the number 1 bus directly outside of main rail station and get off at last stop fare 1.70euro on-board takes about 20/25 mins depending on traffic.The views are spectacular from the dinning room.Staff are so pleasant and helpful.

The only downfall is the need to reserve your table for the evening meal on the lower floor situated at sea level as it is so popular with local Italian residents who live locally as has a great reputation, the menu changes daily A great hotel and a further point is that residents of the hotel have free access to the safe but Rockey beach normally you would pay 15euros per person /day any where else,a greatplace to stay.

Room Tip: Buy you rail/bus tickets at the tobacco shops 25% cheaper do not forget to validate your tickets bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

really lovely hotel, with excellent reception staff!
the amazing terrace to have breakfast was perfect, and you can see the beach easily!
the hotel haas a resturant too, whcih was very nice and the price was good.

there is a bus nearby that can take you to the town centre which is not far.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Livorno and hotel Rex was our base for the trip to tucany in mai/june 2011.

perfect located for trips in to lovely tuscany with rental car, about 25 minutes from Pisa and 80 minutes from siena.

The hotel standard is back to the 80's but we found that very charming. Italien hotelstandard is rather poor... but this hotel is not as bad as many others. the location is on the beach, not sandy but rocky and they built a plattform of concrete, good clean water. a lot of free sunbeds to hotelguests. a small cafe at beachlevel with good pricelevel. in the weekends its a lot of local peoples using the beacharea.
it can be hard to find place to park the car on daytime because of this.

the rooms are big, and have nice balconys with seaview. breakfast was ok, like all italian hotels the breakfast are rather simple, but good.

Good value for the money, free wifi at the rooms and a good base for trips in to tuscany.
its a must with car, and its located outside of centre of livorno, so if u look for nightlife, try something else!

Room Tip: choose rooms with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Went for two nights. Was clean, friendly, well positioned away from the main strip. Room clean and spacious. Fab Shower, Clean surroundings. Lovely outside seating area by restaurant. will def return.

Room Tip: Check for best price via competitive websites.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Hotel rex is not situated in Livorno, but instead finds itself in a dusty backwater 10km away. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly recptionist called Lynda who gave us useful local information and made us feel very welcome. The room itself was typical 1970's italian, but was clean and roomy with fabulous views, where we enjoyed the evening sunset. The private beach (commonly known as concrete) was actually rather pleasant, with 2 free chairs, 1 bed and an umbrella. They had no problem in giving us a second bed. The 'beach' is also used by paying locals who seem to love the place. Accessing the sea is not recommended without footwear as it is rocky and smelled a little stagnant. There is also an inexpensive cafe/bar. For 2 nights it was fine, but the lack of any facilities near the hotel, meant our hire car was a necessity. Castigliano was a great place to visit as was the Venezia area of Livorno.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Del Litorale , 164, 57128 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful inlets of the Etrurian coast, Hotel Rex with its 64 comfort rooms, offers relaxing stays by the sea with the best tradition of the Tuscan food and wines. Two restaurants, one of them with a panoramic terrace facing the sea, night music by the Modi American bar, private parking, free access and facilities to the private beach, diving centre. All of the most important artistic towns of Tuscany are reachable in less than an hour by car. Hotel Rex convention centre offers three meeting rooms and low tariffs for business long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.