We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the rates are 4*!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gran Duca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gran Duca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Only the rates are 4*!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

The Gran Duca is well situated for those who want to take a ferry to the island of Capraia. For Corsica and Sardinia it is not the best situated. It is very noisy, the rooms are nothing special - there are some renovated rooms, our room is a "De Luxe" room for 180 Euros - old, loud, hot... and FAR too expensive!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    51
    27
    8
See reviews for
10
33
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

I chose this hotel just because it's very close to the port. I was very happy with the location considering the fact we needed to take ferry at 8 a.m. Hotel is average, it was fine for us just for 1 night. The major thing i didn't like was service.
Some ferries leave at 8 a.m and you have to check in 1 hour in advance at the port, so it would be nice if they provide some early breakfast (at least coffee), especially considering the fact that most guests who stay there are people who take ferry. When we asked the guy if there's any early breakfast provided - he was kind of shocked by our question. He was very indifferent, cold and very unfriendly. I was shocked. Common, you can say, no, but not like he said.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unfriendly receptionist (service)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

Ignore the other reviews of this wonderful hotel. Most of the rooms have been totally remodelled in the last year or so and they are terrific. Our bathroom had a full shower and plenty of room. The bed was very comfortable and the view, since we were facing the port, was great. I'd suggest requesting a room facing the port since the views from the other rooms would not be very good. And be sure that you ask for one of the remodeled rooms for your stay until they finish the remodeling project. But don't worry about the work that may be going on - it's only in the individual rooms so you won't see or hear a thing.

The pizzeria off the lobby also offers the best pizza in town and the upscale restaurant attached to the lobby has excellent food.

The location couldn't be better either. The hotel's almost adjacent to the main street through Livorno, sits right on the water and is walking distance from some of the cruise line piers.

As if that's not enough, the hotel and restaurant staff is friendly and very helpful for anything you might need.

We loved this place!

  • Liked — Location and View
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsica, france
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2005

Avoid as possible this terrible hotel. It is noisy, expensive and you can't sleep all the night.
Nothing more to say...

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Duca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.