We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Duca to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Duca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“comfy but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

the first night on our tour we stayed here. I still wonder why!
reception were brusque but efficient.

rooms were comfy. happy to only stay one night as the traffic noise was very noticeable even with shutters and windows closed.

breakfast was basic, but adequate.

the building of the hotel is interesting, thick walls- from the old fort. comfy chair at reception to sit back in.

restaurant was tasty, although members of our party who arrived late because of an airport delay were told that the restaurant was closed and they could not help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    60
    28
    7
See reviews for
12
38
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived very late in the evening as we got in on a ferry from Barcelona which arrived 4 hours late. The gentleman at the front desk was extremely helpful. He didn't charge us for internet which was a good thing because it wasn't working in our room. He also directed us to a great panini place that was still open. He told us were to park our car, directly in front of the hotel where we didn't have to pay for parking. The bathroom was impressive with marble floor and an amazing shower. The room was overlooking the harbor which was beautiful at night. The bed was comfy and restful, one of our best nights sleep throughout our entire trip. The breakfast could have been better but all in all for our short stay we had a good night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

If you need somebody to check each year past or so on hotel stars, Hotel Gran Duca is the example.
Once upon a time it could have been four starred, but now as a former
noble the hotel must be reviewed.
Although it is in city center, rooms feel the decay and the american bar is too much '70 pointed; should be renowed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My room was overlooking the port, which was nice, but also over a busy main road which was not. Petrol fumes, sirens and traffic filled my room day and night. The whole hotel is shabby and has definitely seen better days. The bar and restaurant were expensive, though pleasant service. I was on the third floor and it was very noisy - walls were thin and comings and goings along the corridor beyond midnight meant I had very little sleep. The worst night, when I nearly complained, was due to a coach load of police!! Lots of coach loads at this hotel. My bathroom smelt incredibly mouldy unless I kept the doors and window open all the time. My sheets were only changed after 7 nights.
Breakfast was ok with fresh coffee, not a machine.
I didn't find the location very good; there were no nice places to eat nearby and the port was just that - no beach or promenade to walk along. There was nowhere nice to walk in the evenings.
The wifi was free but very erratic in its connection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is well located right on the waterfront next to Livorno's famous '4 Mori' statue. The rooms are variable in quality, some a modern and well furnished, others like 221, are cold, remote and old fashioned with no wi-fi signal. The bar is over-priced and the breakfast is pretty hopeless but then you don't come to Italy for the breakfast. The restaurant, however, is good and definitely worth a visit if you like fish - try the Cacciucco, the local fish stew and the wine list is reasonably priced. 3 euros a day for wi-fi is just being cheap but the hotel is very helpful about car parking - a pass for out-front or 10 euros a day in a locked car park behind the hotel. Staff were all very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the modern rooms at the front - I had 205 or 203 on my second stay and it was just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is at walking distance from the piers where ferries to the Tuscany islands depart. The room (mine was 323) was rather large and very clean, despite that not really impressing when furniture is concerned. Clean bathroom as well. Staff at the reception was very kind. Internet wi-fi was not free and this is absurd in an hotel of this price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is given a four star rating. This is more like a three star. Our room was extremely clean and airy but the aircon was intermittent. The gym and pool is tiny and was only open on request and was 9 euros each. It was tatty and crammed into a lift space. Breakfast was average with no hot eggs etc and no toaster just cold stuff. The location is ok as it is right on harbour but there is very little to do in Livorno. The staff range from helpful to abrupt. Ok hotel but too pricey for what it offers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Duca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.