We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Duca to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Duca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My room was overlooking the port, which was nice, but also over a busy main road which was not. Petrol fumes, sirens and traffic filled my room day and night. The whole hotel is shabby and has definitely seen better days. The bar and restaurant were expensive, though pleasant service. I was on the third floor and it was very noisy - walls were thin and comings and goings along the corridor beyond midnight meant I had very little sleep. The worst night, when I nearly complained, was due to a coach load of police!! Lots of coach loads at this hotel. My bathroom smelt incredibly mouldy unless I kept the doors and window open all the time. My sheets were only changed after 7 nights.
Breakfast was ok with fresh coffee, not a machine.
I didn't find the location very good; there were no nice places to eat nearby and the port was just that - no beach or promenade to walk along. There was nowhere nice to walk in the evenings.
The wifi was free but very erratic in its connection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    39
    67
    32
    8
See reviews for
12
41
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is well located right on the waterfront next to Livorno's famous '4 Mori' statue. The rooms are variable in quality, some a modern and well furnished, others like 221, are cold, remote and old fashioned with no wi-fi signal. The bar is over-priced and the breakfast is pretty hopeless but then you don't come to Italy for the breakfast. The restaurant, however, is good and definitely worth a visit if you like fish - try the Cacciucco, the local fish stew and the wine list is reasonably priced. 3 euros a day for wi-fi is just being cheap but the hotel is very helpful about car parking - a pass for out-front or 10 euros a day in a locked car park behind the hotel. Staff were all very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the modern rooms at the front - I had 205 or 203 on my second stay and it was just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is at walking distance from the piers where ferries to the Tuscany islands depart. The room (mine was 323) was rather large and very clean, despite that not really impressing when furniture is concerned. Clean bathroom as well. Staff at the reception was very kind. Internet wi-fi was not free and this is absurd in an hotel of this price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is given a four star rating. This is more like a three star. Our room was extremely clean and airy but the aircon was intermittent. The gym and pool is tiny and was only open on request and was 9 euros each. It was tatty and crammed into a lift space. Breakfast was average with no hot eggs etc and no toaster just cold stuff. The location is ok as it is right on harbour but there is very little to do in Livorno. The staff range from helpful to abrupt. Ok hotel but too pricey for what it offers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed one night before getting the ferry to Corsica. I'd asked for a non-smoking room, which I did not get. The room was not perfectly clean, and was quite tired-looking. Service at check-in and from the front desk was very good. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

It was our last day and we thought we would treat ourselves. The location is right next to one of our favourite wine bars that has live music. The bathroom was new yet the room was tired but clean. Now the negatives;I got bitten 3 times during the night, it may look like a double but it was two singles made up as a double so there was a crack in the middle - not comfortable, we had to pay 6 euros for a film on the television but at least there was a good choice, finally the traffic woke my partner first thing, it is very noisy. The good point was that the breakfast was good and fresh.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Post cruise we got on a train and headed north to see some of Italy. We arrived in Livorno on a Sunday, not a good idea as everything was closed. Couldn't even get a cab, so we dragged our luggage into town seeking a hotel. The few we passed were old and run down until we got to the harbor and found the Gran Duca. It was a bit more than we planned to spend but was very nice. It is in an old building but nicely remodeled. Our room was large and quiet with an adequate bathroom and comfortable bed. Best of all was the large balcony overlooking the harbor.

Staff spoke English and were very helpful. They let us use internet free, provided maps and even opened our bottle of wine for us. Breakfast is included and was very good by Italian standards. The attached restaurant had some of the best food we had in our 3 weeks in Italy. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Duca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.