We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Duca to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Duca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is at walking distance from the piers where ferries to the Tuscany islands depart. The room (mine was 323) was rather large and very clean, despite that not really impressing when furniture is concerned. Clean bathroom as well. Staff at the reception was very kind. Internet wi-fi was not free and this is absurd in an hotel of this price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    61
    29
    7
See reviews for
12
39
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is given a four star rating. This is more like a three star. Our room was extremely clean and airy but the aircon was intermittent. The gym and pool is tiny and was only open on request and was 9 euros each. It was tatty and crammed into a lift space. Breakfast was average with no hot eggs etc and no toaster just cold stuff. The location is ok as it is right on harbour but there is very little to do in Livorno. The staff range from helpful to abrupt. Ok hotel but too pricey for what it offers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed one night before getting the ferry to Corsica. I'd asked for a non-smoking room, which I did not get. The room was not perfectly clean, and was quite tired-looking. Service at check-in and from the front desk was very good. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

It was our last day and we thought we would treat ourselves. The location is right next to one of our favourite wine bars that has live music. The bathroom was new yet the room was tired but clean. Now the negatives;I got bitten 3 times during the night, it may look like a double but it was two singles made up as a double so there was a crack in the middle - not comfortable, we had to pay 6 euros for a film on the television but at least there was a good choice, finally the traffic woke my partner first thing, it is very noisy. The good point was that the breakfast was good and fresh.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Post cruise we got on a train and headed north to see some of Italy. We arrived in Livorno on a Sunday, not a good idea as everything was closed. Couldn't even get a cab, so we dragged our luggage into town seeking a hotel. The few we passed were old and run down until we got to the harbor and found the Gran Duca. It was a bit more than we planned to spend but was very nice. It is in an old building but nicely remodeled. Our room was large and quiet with an adequate bathroom and comfortable bed. Best of all was the large balcony overlooking the harbor.

Staff spoke English and were very helpful. They let us use internet free, provided maps and even opened our bottle of wine for us. Breakfast is included and was very good by Italian standards. The attached restaurant had some of the best food we had in our 3 weeks in Italy. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Very very noisy hotel! Some of the staff not friendly. Very smelly room (sewage pipes from the toilet). WIFI 10 euros per day? Will certainly not book here again.

Their restaurant is good though. I asked for the fitness room but it was not open.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

The room we had was a bit noisy but not impossibly so. The hotel overlooks the port and had we been taking a car onto the ferry to Bastia we would have been pleased with the location. But we were on foot and with luggage so we had to take a taxi costing about 12 euros.

The port itself is huge and badly signed. The taxi dropped us off at the ticket office but we found ourselves having to walk for about twenty minutes until we finally found our boat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Duca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.