We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Duca to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Duca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123, Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average hotel but great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

It was our last day and we thought we would treat ourselves. The location is right next to one of our favourite wine bars that has live music. The bathroom was new yet the room was tired but clean. Now the negatives;I got bitten 3 times during the night, it may look like a double but it was two singles made up as a double so there was a crack in the middle - not comfortable, we had to pay 6 euros for a film on the television but at least there was a good choice, finally the traffic woke my partner first thing, it is very noisy. The good point was that the breakfast was good and fresh.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Post cruise we got on a train and headed north to see some of Italy. We arrived in Livorno on a Sunday, not a good idea as everything was closed. Couldn't even get a cab, so we dragged our luggage into town seeking a hotel. The few we passed were old and run down until we got to the harbor and found the Gran Duca. It was a bit more than we planned to spend but was very nice. It is in an old building but nicely remodeled. Our room was large and quiet with an adequate bathroom and comfortable bed. Best of all was the large balcony overlooking the harbor.

Staff spoke English and were very helpful. They let us use internet free, provided maps and even opened our bottle of wine for us. Breakfast is included and was very good by Italian standards. The attached restaurant had some of the best food we had in our 3 weeks in Italy. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Very very noisy hotel! Some of the staff not friendly. Very smelly room (sewage pipes from the toilet). WIFI 10 euros per day? Will certainly not book here again.

Their restaurant is good though. I asked for the fitness room but it was not open.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BA_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livorno hotels

London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

The room we had was a bit noisy but not impossibly so. The hotel overlooks the port and had we been taking a car onto the ferry to Bastia we would have been pleased with the location. But we were on foot and with luggage so we had to take a taxi costing about 12 euros.

The port itself is huge and badly signed. The taxi dropped us off at the ticket office but we found ourselves having to walk for about twenty minutes until we finally found our boat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

we needed 1 night in Livorno before catching an 8:15am ferry to Corsica. The Hotel Gran Duca is right on the water front and served the purpose well.

The rate we received by booking the day before was excellent and the hotel was clean, well equipped and the staff very welcoming. Our room overlooked a busy road along the water front and had electric shutters to control the noise level into the room.

free car parking was provided - you get a permit upon check in and then it's a bit of a game to secure a park out front. Be patient and one will free up. Otherwise, 12 Euro gets you secure parking undercover.

The hotel has a nice looking restaurant, however, across the road we found some excellent restaurants overlooking a marina.

if i was staying in the city of Livorno again and needed to be near ferry departures, I'd stay at the Hotel Gran Duca

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeebooTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed at Gran Duca for one night. The room was comfortable and the view of the harbor was wonderful. Our room was hot when we checked in. We had trouble adjusting the thermostat on the air conditioner. The front desk sent someone up to adjust it right away. The restaurant of the same name is sensational! The buffet breakfast was also very good. Lots of different choices and excellent coffee.We reserved a parking space which we highly recommend as there is not much street parking. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

The Gran Duca is well situated for those who want to take a ferry to the island of Capraia. For Corsica and Sardinia it is not the best situated. It is very noisy, the rooms are nothing special - there are some renovated rooms, our room is a "De Luxe" room for 180 Euros - old, loud, hot... and FAR too expensive!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zh-frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
1.8 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#8 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#3 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#7 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Teatro
Al Teatro
#10 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing