We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view but terrible to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Vedetta di Montenero

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Vedetta di Montenero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Vedetta di Montenero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Lecceta 5, 57128 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Incredible view but terrible to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed here one night having arrived on the ferry in Livorno. We would have been there in 15 minutes from disembarkation if we could have found the hotel - it was dark by the time we were trying. My tip here is, once you find the signs, stay strong and keep going up the hill EVEN when you think you have left the village - you will eventually find another sign... due to our late arrival, the restaurant was technically closed but we begged and were served a meal based on what was left available - it wasn't the worlds best but we were beyond caring. The room was OK, nothing stunning, a bit too modern and jaded to fit the period but it was comfortable and the bathroom was good.

In the morning, we explored the hotel grounds and discovered the terrace. I dont think many of the rooms have a sea view but there is a good view from the terrace. Definitely better than a hotel in Livorno.

NB. We were on a motorbike. There is a private car park that you can not watch from your room but its relatively secluded and hidden from the road. There were other bikers staying there and the receptionist gave me a sympathetic grin when I arrived so I think they are used to bikers...rooms are big enough for stashing bike boxes without breaking an ankle.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
39
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

I would echo the same comment as some other reviews and definitely get directions. This hotel is VERY hard to find. Our agent copied the description from the hotel of "enchanting panorama and view of the sea". However, we had a very small window with no view and the sea is miles away. The room was of the motel variety with scratched up furniture and non-descript desk, TV on stand. Bed was standard with comforter that was not very pretty. Actually, the room reminded us of a lodge. It was quiet, though.

The dinner at the restaurant was always outside on the terrace which was nice but the service was usually performed by young teenagers who were unfamiliar with the menu and the two nights we stayed there, some things were not available (we ate fairly early by European standards).

Hotel was clean but don't think I would stay there again as we felt totally isolated but not for any good reason.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — Distance from anything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvi - Corsica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

We booked this hotel based on TA reviews, and have to say that we're not quite sure what the fuss is about. We were arriving in the evening by ferry in Livorno and so the hotel seemed perfect as it was nearby yet out of the city, and it sounded so nice. As everyone else says, it is quite hard to find, but the setting is great. The hotel itself is a beautiful Tuscan villa, but the interior unfortunately somehow had the air of a Travelodge-type hotel, and was lacking in character. The bedroom was clean, functional and faceless. The bar felt like a being in a youth hostel, it was stark and lacking in atmosphere. Perhaps it is better in the summer months, there weren't many people staying while we were there apart from a few businessmen, and it was too cool to enjoy the terraces. We went into the village square for dinner and plumped for one of the two restaurants open. It was ok, nothing special. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, breakfast was alright but the coffee poor. It's possibly the best choice in the Livorno area, but nothing to write home about.

  • Tips/Secrets — Get the hotel to send you specific directions
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

After finding the hotel which was a bit tricky we were thrilled with the room, the views, and the quiet. The staff were helpful and everything was of an excellent standard. We stayed for 3 nights and it was a beautiful escape after the pace of Rome. And the foreshore cafes of Livorno are only a few minutes away ... if your looking for something out of the city that captures Tuscany then this is it.

  • Liked — The lovation - views
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

A superbly well-appointed hotel in the hills of Montechero.
The hotel is superb, the location fantastic, although somewhat challenging to find. However, the effort is well rewarded.
The staff were courteous, considerate and most helpful. The room was in immaculate condition and very comfortable.
The facilities at the hotel are good; in particular there is a fine terrace overlooking the valley and a plentiful supply of sun-loungers to use.
The main area of disappointment was the restaurant. The food was average but pricey for what was supplied and the menu lacked imagination; had the food been of a higher standard the experience would have been second-to-none!

  • Liked — Cleanliness; delightful staff; style of hotel
  • Disliked — Food
  • Tips/Secrets — Have detailed directions for the hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

My 2 sons, 7 and 14, and I stayed for 4 nights in one of the superior rooms. It had a great view! It was clean, spacious and well cared for. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You must visit the Sanctuary while you are there and there are several resturaunts within walking distance. Need a work out? Walk to the bottom of the hill and walk back up or take the funicular. Great time and great fun!! To avoid the tight roads on the way up follow the signs to the Sanctuario di Montenero. The road to the hotel is right next to the sanctuary and clearly marked. I will definately stay here again and again!

  • Liked — It was removed enough from the hectic areas but close enough to get to the beach or sightseeing easily
  • Disliked — The breakfast was a little sparce but the staff was very accomidating as far as other choices.
  • Tips/Secrets — Once you get off the Autostrada follow the signs for the Sanctuario di Montenero. The road to the hotel is right next to the sanctuary.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

My husband and I and our two teenagers stayed for one night in this small hotel. We had a double and a twin room which were called the standard rooms. They were nicely furnished and a reasonable size, although the walls were a little bare of any mirrors or paintings. They had air conditioning and ensuite bathrooms which were a good size with a powerful shower. We were on the ground floor. If we had been staying longer, we may have opted for the slightly more expensive rooms on the floors above, which have either panoramic views of the sea or the hotel garden and are more sumptuously furnished. However, everywhere was clean and well cared for. Breakfast was a cold buffet and the food was good. The staff were very helpful and as we did not want to eat fish that evening, they recommended a great trattoria about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and even rang them to reserve a table for us. There is a very nice terrace on top of the hotel where you can lounge with a drink and admire the view. The hotel also has a car park. The only downside was that we got a little lost trying to find the hotel and ended up on some very narrow unmade roads! We encountered a friendly local who pointed us in the right direction but I gather from her that this happens quite often!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Vedetta di Montenero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vedetta di Montenero

Address: Via della Lecceta 5, 57128 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Vedetta di Montenero 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1700, La Vedetta has a hilltop location with panoramic views across Livorno and the surrounding green hills. It offers air-conditioned rooms, a large buffet breakfast and free parking.Your room at Hotel La Vedetta comes with satellite TV, a minibar and inexpensive Wi-Fi access. Each bathroom features a hairdryer and toiletries.Once a minister's residence, La Vedetta Hotel now features a large sun terrace, a bar and a Tuscan restaurant open from May until September.The hotel is 5 minutes' walk from Montenero Church and Sanctuary. It is a short drive from the seaside and 10 km from the centre of Livorno. The port, for ferries to Sardinia and Corsica, is 15 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Vedetta di Montenero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vedetta Di Montenero Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Vedetta di Montenero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.