We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Le Volte

Ristorante Le Volte
Via Calafati, 4, 57123 Livorno, Italy
0586896868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 407 Restaurants in Livorno
Price range: $33 - $63
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Situato di fronte al mare proprio davanti al Porticciolo turistico del porto di Livorno, incastonato nelle Mura Medicee.In un caldo ambiente prettamente mediceo, a lume di candela, la ricca e raffinata cucina de’ Le Volte, accompagnata dal giusto vino, è pronta ad accogliervi per ogni evento ed occasione, marcando momenti di sicura memoria.Specializzato in ristorazione di mare con pesce crudo freschissimo, grazie alla stupenda vista mare e agli interni eleganti il Ristorante Le Volte è il luogo ideale per rendere indimenticabile la celebrazione di matrimoni ed altre cerimonie. Le Volte si presta anche ad essere la perfetta location per le vostre colazioni di lavoro o per le vostre cene aziendali, proponendovi menù personalizzati o ricchi buffet.Una parte del locale è adibita a Bistrot. Per piacevoli serate in compagnia in un ambiente magico ed accogliente, fino a tarda sera il bistrot del ristorante Le Volte vi propone focacce, antipasti e degustazione di vini e stuzzichini preparati al momento. Il bistrot è il luogo ideale per rilassarsi in compagnia lasciandosi sedurre dall’atmosfera suggestiva del luogo e dall’ottima qualità dei cibi e dei vini proposti.Non esitare a contattaci per richiedere informazioni.
livorno
1 review
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had high expectations but had a terrible experience. When our bottle of wine was opened the first glass poured was full of cork. We asked for another glass of wine but were given an empty glass. after asking for more wine we were given back the original glass full of cork. The starters were average. Salad was slices of cheese with pear and walnuts on undressed lettuce. very average although the cheese they'd bought was great. Mains were terrible. Fish left a metallic taste in the mouth. Lobster pasta arrived looking inviting with what looked like 3 big pieces of lobster in the shell, only to find the shells empty and a tiny bit of lobster in the pasta. Steak was rare when ordered medium well, only to be sent back twice after obviously being microwaved. Steak with parmesan and rocket looked like it was off-cuts and overcooked, although tasty. The only thing that saved the evening was the ok service and the excellent focaccia which is what some of our table had as their sole meal. No apologises or remedies were offered, the owner's explanation was that it was a seafood restaurant so you shouldn't be ordering steak. Avoid.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    179
    52
    37
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Livorno, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service and food was terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

After 20 years as a professional Chef I was surprised to find a restaurant that serviced people like this. The Medium steak came out blue,iIt was sent back and returned to the table 5 minutes later medium (not possible if you grilled it so must have been microwaved). Lobster pasta had no lobster and Fish dish was absolute rubbish. Owner had plenty of photos of happy customers on the wall but had no time to sort out a smile or even an apology.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“good food, prices a bit high”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We went to this restaurant for a family celebration and the food was really good - fresh fish, plenty of choice, excellent wines and service. The prices were a bit high but this is typical for good fish in Tuscany.

Try to sit on the side towards the port, the view is better. These seats are located under a veranda which is closed when the weather is too cold.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Problem with definition of "local" food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Le Volte had been recommended to us by the local tourist office in Livorno. They said if you like fish, you will love "caciuco" - the local fish stew. When we arrived, we didn't see "caciuco" on the menu, so asked if the fish stew, which was priced at 12 Euro, was "caciuco". The matire d' said yes. So we ordered it from the server. Unfortunately, to us North Americans, we don't think of octopus as a fish - nor calimari nor crawfish. However, the Italians do consider all seafood to be "fish". We don't eat octopus and the bowl was almost entirely filled with baby octopus. The sauce was heavy, overpowering and unpleasantly flavored. In general, we couldn't eat the meal. The server came by once and we tried to explain why we couldn't eat the food - that we hadn't known it would be octopus - that we don't eat octopus. But no effort was made to find something we could eat. She just walked away. However, what upset us most was when the bill came it was 54 Euro - for what we thought would be two 12 Euro bowls of fish soup. We questioned the bill and the server was surly and rude and spoke harshly and loudly to us because she said, it was the maitre d' who told us caciuco was fish stew - not she. Obviously it was a cultural and language problem, but she stormed away from our table after embarrassing us and sent the maitre d' to take our money. All 54 euro. No effort was made on the restaurant's part to make any price adjustment nor to evidence care in any way if we, the customers, were satisfied. We were definitely not satisfied, nor will we recommend Le Volte to anyone else. It was the least pleasant meal of our month of travel.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Le Volte also viewed

Livorno, Province of Livorno
Livorno, Province of Livorno
 
Livorno, Province of Livorno
Livorno, Province of Livorno
 

Been to Ristorante Le Volte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Le Volte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.