We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool aquarium.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acquario di Livorno

Acquario di Livorno
Piazzale Mascagni, 1, 57127 Livorno, Italy
+39 (0)586 269111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 attractions in Livorno
Type: Aquariums
Attraction Details
Finland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cool aquarium.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Was here with husband and sons (aged 7 & 3). We all loved the place and there were plenty of fishes and other sealife to be seen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    116
    76
    31
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Large and informative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very informative and large. The static displays were really good and the best aquariums were the smaller ones when you enter the aquarium, it seemed like they put the details in those and then rushed to finish the larger ones for the opening. The only large aquarium that was good was the last one with the ship wreck and the one that was the Livorno Fortressa walls.

The Aquarium in Milano was much better, in that the displays had such attention to detail, one was blown away. The displays at Livorno lack the "love" of the undersea world that is obvious in the aquariums in Milano.

All in all I was glad that I visited and do see that the aquarium will improve with time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby,UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cruise ship visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Fantastic attraction ... thoroughly enjoyed, good for the family also

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive for nothing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

it was nice and clean but nothing spectacular. i belive that for all that money you should have seen a lot more. i saw only a few species, a few fish tanks, and mostly there were information on the walls about the history of bla bla, somethig about Earth's rotation and a short history of the discoveries related to our planet/ signs of the zodiac on the sky. ah... and the only really interesting thing i saw acording to me, was a notebook (actually 2 notebooks) of Galielo Galilei. after i came out i had a pregnant feeling that i threw my money of the window.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An expensive fish tank!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The acquario isn't as big as some others like the one in Genoa, but the price is! It is nice but way over priced!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acquario di Livorno also viewed

Livorno, Province of Livorno
Livorno, Province of Livorno
 
Livorno, Province of Livorno
Livorno, Province of Livorno
 

Been to Acquario di Livorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acquario di Livorno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Acquario di Livorno to your Saves list