We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Gem in Livorno” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Barrocciaia

La Barrocciaia
Piazza Cavallotti 13, 57123 Livorno, Italy
+39 0586 882637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 450 Restaurants in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $23
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Todos Santos
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Local Gem in Livorno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

When my friend and I learned we were too late starting out on our originally planned excursion to the villages of Cinque Terre, we decided to spend the day in Livorno. Walking around we were happy to discover their open market, which was full of fun fashion and accessories besides all the wonderful fish, fruits, breads, olives, and other assorted foods. We asked a local cab driver for a restaurant recommendation for lunch, and set out to try to follow his directions to a busy plaza nearby. When we found this dark, little place, I was immediately aware that tourists probably never walk in here. It was fantastic, and turned out to be a wonderful highlight of our trip. We were immediately led up a few steps at the back of the restaurant, past counters full of tasty looking food to go....and scattered tables buzzing with locals, to a charming wood paneled dining room. Tables were scarce and every inch was taken, jamming them together, and we loved it. It also made for easy conversation with whoever was sitting next to you, and these are the unexpected experiences that enrich your time. Our waitress was very helpful, even though she spoke no English. There were lots of fish dishes to choose from...this being a fishing town, as well as other traditional dishes of the area, and plenty of pasta pasta, pasta. We had their table wine, too, and I will never forget this little place, if only I could find it again someday, if I ever return. I'm sure, though, that all one has to do is ask a cab driver.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    142
    16
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Livorno, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“real lighourne food and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

if you want to see and taste the real lighourne, its traditions and the people's way of life you have to get here and eat something. A sandwich, big and full of what you or the guy doing it prefere: ham, sausages, vegetables, sauce...
Otherwise you can eat something at the osteria, seat down at a table where other people can be, drink some wine and wait speaking with people around you of what had happened during the day. Firendly waiters, friendly customers and also friendly passers-by.... everyone is friendly there!
Good food, real, made with all the love and passion that city is able to use.
Miss it only if you don't want to talk to people or are afraid of having people you don't know right next to you.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best pasta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

There are no menus, you may end up sitting with other people, it is always busy and entertaining - this place is a real find! Eaten there about 5 times in the last year and the food is always authentic and of a good quality. Excellent value, never over €30 for at least 2 courses for 2; with wine and ALWAYS a punch (pronounced ponch) to finish. This is an alcoholic coffee local to Livorno. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietrasanta, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Spirit of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My friend, Paola, moved to Livorno and I went to visit her from Pietrasanta, where I live. This small restaurant is the real deal. The tagliatelli a la scampi was the best I've ever had...and I've lived in Italy for 10 years. The counter up fron can make sandwiches...or you can go from your table and get a sampling of cortorni...or vegetables cooked in many ways...or you can have a mixture of salamis and cheeses. The room in the back is lovely with art work fro local artists. There are a multitude of pastas each day and two main specials. Our meal for two with a bottle of wine came to €35: two pastas, grilled vegetables, sausage and cheese, two fabulous desserts...with flames! and the local specialty..puncha..expresso with rum and lemon...UH-huh! I was in a coma. And, they wouldn't let us leave without a taste of their homemade strawberry liquor. Tables are shared when crowded. Great food and a lovely experience. If you get off a ship...go here...you'll have quite a story to tell! Nice service..not great with English but you'll get by.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eemnes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Livorno Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

By coincidence I ate by this restaurant on my holiday with my family and friends. We were looking for a neat restaurant but couldn’t find it. When we past this restaurant and saw all the locals eating their sandwiches and steaks with a bottle of wine on the table we thought this also might be a good idea. The food was oke, nothing special but seeing all the locals go inside, order their meal and sit outside with their friends and a bottle of wine gave a special feeling at the end of a disappointing visit to a city where we couldn’t find what we were looking for. Due to the location and atmosphere my rating is very good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barrocciaia also viewed

Livorno, Province of Livorno
Livorno, Province of Livorno
 
Livorno, Province of Livorno
Livorno, Province of Livorno
 

Been to La Barrocciaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Barrocciaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.