We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gennarino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gennarino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gennarino
Viale Italia 301, 57127 Livorno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“VERY nice !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a small family-owned establishment near the Naval Academy in Livorno. Recently rennovated, it has a BEAUTIFUL decor ! It's a "Libertine" style villa. The family staff is excellent - they helped with anything I asked (the younger ones speak good English; the grandparents don't but they will understand what you want/need anyway:)...There is free parking right behind the building; I had no problems with my rental car.
Breakfast isn't cooked to order on-site, it's the continental type: rolls, butter/jam, juice, fruit, etc. Not much variety, but enough for me. Excellent coffee! Also, there is a small but complete bar and you can buy a drink or beer anytime, day or night. My room was very comfortable (although the bed was harder than I'm used to; this is something I find all the time in Europe), the room and bathroom was SPOTLESS and very sanitary. My only problem with the room was the air conditioning, as I'm used to the more powerful American variety and I was staying there in late July/early August, the hottest time for that area. My room had a "frigo bar" - a small refrigerator in the room, stocked with a couple of Italian beers, small bottles of wine, fruit juice and cola - well appreciated. They were in the process of installing an elevator (lift) at the time, but I don't know if it's finished. Anyway, I didn't need it.
There is a gym (palestra) within easy walk; its behind the stadium.
A few cons: the internet is spotty and a bit expensive. There are few retaurants nearby; be prepared to walk a good ways or drive. You also have to drive to get to the public beaches.
I highly reccomend this place and I hope to go back soon...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    53
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
35
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vitoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

very kind people that really care about me. i d say that every morning i got a genuine smile from all staffs. i had bring my bike and they let me put it inside my room (it may be not important for ones that dont ride a 8000 BIKE). good breakast. i would say that u got more than u pay for your stay in this hotel. of course it could be much better but than u should go to other place a pay doble. so thanks c u next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menton
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel tries very hard to be chic... but there is a fine line between chic and kitsch. I am not a fan of plastic flowers nor of red ribbons tied around plants..... and I don't want to see signs everywhere that smokers will be find........
One did not have the feeling of being made welcome at this establishment.

There is no lift. This is no place for the elderly or infirm.
Our room was on the second floor and although the receptionist, who I believe to be the owner, kindly carried our case upstairs, we had to carry it down the next day.
The hairdryer in the room did not work
The outside temperature on the day we arrived was 40 degrees and although we had booked, the air conditioning in our room had not been switched on beforehand. Indeed, it appeared to have been set to function at no lower than 27.5 degrees and it was impossible to lower the temperature. Quite uncomfortable, as the bathroom was very warm.

Although breakfast the next morning was adequate. It was self service all the way. A tray was handed to us and we sat outside. I had to go inside and ask for a second cup of coffee. There was only one other couple breakfasting at the time and no effort was made to be hospitable. Did we enjoy our stay? Nobody asked us.
I had the feeling of having stayed at a boarding house where the owners couldn't wait to
get rid of us.
Would I use this "hotel" again? No!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

A nice place to stay that was a bit different from the norm. Parking. A walk into town of about 30 minutes. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Livorno is major port. We had trouble finding open places to eat on a Sunday, but were OK in the end,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

This is a charming hotel formally a Naval house that has been done-up fantastically. It looks brand new with old world charm. Excellent rooms - very clean - good bathroom etc. Very friendly people working at the hotel. In summer this place would be fantastic. Nice breakfast and lovely bar area. Free - Safe parking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Excellent rooms - clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff. The decor (interior and exterior) was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

The place is spotless and the owners are so friendly. You can tell they have put a lot of work into remodeling and decorating the house. It was raining so hard when we were there and we sat and chatted with the entire family and felt so at home. We walked away feeling like we had new friends! We would love for them to come visit here in the U.S.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gennarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gennarino

Address: Viale Italia 301, 57127 Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Welcome to Hotel GennarinoHotel Gennarino is a delightful castle in liberty style and it is located in Viale Italia no 301 on the seafront in front of the Naval Academy.In this beautiful area you can admire all the villas in liberty style that dates from the beginning of the 20th centuryTurning right from the hotel walking down towards San Jacopo in Acquaviva you will see a church that has been built on a 7th century hermitage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Gennarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gennarino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.