We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended if passing through Livorno!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Palazzo

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Grand Hotel Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Italia, 195, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Palazzo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Recommended if passing through Livorno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

There's not a lot to do in this port town but that didn't stop us from enjoying our stay! This was our first stop on our honeymoon and we were lucky enough to get a gorgeous sea view on the 3rd floor. Our room wasn't ready because we arrived early, so we walked to the boardwalk and park in front of the hotel and had lunch at a cute outdoor restaurant.

The room was beautiful. Much larger than I was expecting! We opened the window in the morning to let the sea breeze in. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The breakfast was delicious and had the most options (fruits, sweets, meats, breads, eggs, cereal, juices) I've ever seen in an Italian hotel. The parking lot was a plus. The rooftop bar and restaurant also have great views and friendly servers. The wifi was spotty but can't complain about it being free. :)

While staying here we visited Cinque Terre, Pisa and Lucca. It's an easy trek by car or train to any of the neighboring cities. The hotel is near the bus stop which was easy to catch to the train station. We did get lost trying to find the hotel though. This could be because it was our first attempt at driving in Italy but even after obtaining directions from the hotel before we even left our house, we still got turned around! But it was a learning experience and we were so happy to finally find it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    154
    57
    24
    11
See reviews for
55
213
24
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel, great value for money when I stayed, loved the luxury of the rooftop pool, the dinner in the rooftop restaurant and the splendid breakfast selection.

Livorno is a surprisingly interesting place and I enjoyed my stay immensely

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Livorno was a great surprise! Widely known as port city I was not prepared for how beautiful it was or how peaceful and calm we found it to be. After the previous week of Venice and Verona it was a very nice contrast to have so much beautiful scenery mostly to ourselves. The previous reviewers citing a lack of good food must have stopped short of the places we found, which had some of the best seafood we had on the entire trip. We liked it here and plan to go back just to relax!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was one of the best in Livorno and has car parking, we like a nice hotel before a night on motor rail then ferry! Check in was terribly slow but It was a good hotel with a good breakfast. The upstairs 5th floor pool looked nice though we didn't use it. The bar area there was ok but once you were sitting down there was no view just the wall!
Livorno is somewhere to go on the way to somewhere else, it's a port town and not a beach one although there are some Lidos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night last month, and found the hotel to be quite pleasant. The rooms were nice, and the breakfast buffet had a good range of foods for all tastes. The waterfront outside is nice to wander as well, although maybe lacking for some decent restaurant options. The view from the rooftop bar is very nice, and we watched a magnificent sunset from up there. All in all, I’d definitely recommend this place, even though it’s a bit far from the action.

Room Tip: waterfront views are obviously nicer than a view of the carpark, so ask for one, or book if you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was perfect for us. We landed in Pisa, went to Cinque Terre, Lucca and wine country (Bolgheri). The hotel is beautiful, room was great and the bathroom was good. The breakfast had a large selection and was good. Unfortunatly there isnt much in the area. The reception recommended Chez Rene for dinner in the area and the food was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Åkrehamn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very good hotel, nice staff nice room, perfect view.
should have heated pool , but very nice any how.
brekfast very good.
i can recomend this hotel, and always book a room with ocean view.
Livorno is not the best place in Itali , but it is ok

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Viale Italia, 195, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Palazzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livorno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#1 Business Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Grand Hotel Palazzo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Grand Hotel Palazzo is an exquisite five-star hotel with breathtaking views of the Ligurian Sea, exuding the luxurious charm of over one hundred years of glorious history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.