We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking hotel and attractive roof garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
GreenLeadersSilver level
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice looking hotel and attractive roof garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Classy looking hotel with ample parking possibilities. Easy to find by car. Nice roof garden with a terrific oceanview. Too bad the roof garden maintained no Wifi, in the room Wifi was okay. Very attractive breakfastroom, also possible to eat outside on the beautiful terrace. Good choice of food at breakfast. We didn't find something to our liking to eat at the roof garden restaurant, but the drinks were okay. Very good service at reception. Nice that they let us check out late without costs. We would visit this hotel again next time in Livorno.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    191
    68
    27
    12
See reviews for
74
260
26
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early c. 12.30 and asked if we could check in, there was no room free (which was fine), however Reception staff we found to be rude and abrupt, did not offer to hold bags until room was free. Livorno - there is nothing of note to see here, I'd recommend to move on. The nh is centrally located but the surrounding area is poor-no eateries. Rooms are nice but the pool area is not relaxing and the photos on web sites makes the hotel looks alot better than it is in reality-needs some TLC,lick of paint, new towels and staff training. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Easy to arrive with secured parking space - gates will be closed over night. We got a quiet room as requested. Room was very clean, spacious with good comfort. Best was the pool on the roof which we enjoyed after the long journey. Our dinner we could enjoy from the roof garden - excellent food and stunning sunset - the promenade in front of the hotel and looking at the sea made the short stay just wonderful. We certainly would like to come back to this hotel - specifically when we do the ferry crossing to corsica again.

Room Tip: for quiet room you need to ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed one night in Livorno en route from Bologna to Rome (decided to break up the trip by visiting the coast for one night).

This hotel was great, beautiful reception area, loved the rooftop pool and watching ships pass by. Staff were friendly, and helpful. I was surprised at some of the negative reviews, we didnt find it a negative experience. Staff even let us stay in the pool area after checkout as our train didnt leave till 5pm, which meant we got two days at the pool out of a one night stay, much appreciated!

The hotel is about 15 mins taxi ride from the train station. The bathroom was large with separate shower and bath. The bed was comfortable and design was opulant, if not too over the top (strong colours not my preference, but hotel was beautiful nonetheless).

The downside was that the internet was not working, and also the TV. This was a shame as we were hoping to book some tours for rome. The PC in the lobby was offered, but didnt appeal.

Breakfast was fabulous with many fruits, juices, breads, yoghurts offered. Great array of food to choose from.

Livorno itself is hard to get information on as to visit or not. We chose it as a random place to see. There are paid beaches across the road (no sand, just concrete platoons to rent a sunbed on and ladders to get into the water). But the hotel pool kept us quite happy (though if I'd stayed longer I would have had a swim in the sea). Tourists mainly come from the cruiseships that port there (big ones at that). Other than that it seems that many tourists are from italy itself. We enjoyed walking around for a few hours to get a sense of town, it is apparently one of the poorest areas of italy, but we felt safe, despite evidence of homelessness/poverty. There are quite a few casual restaurants on the street outside NH. We ate at Braceria Al Mare Livorno Pizza, cheap meal, great pizza and it reminded me of the beach resorts in Calabria, many families and large groups eating together. Great woodfire pizzas. Livorno was nice to visit for a 'sit by the pool' kind of trip, if I stayed any longer I probably would have done a day trip to pisa, or otherwise stayed at

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERTFORDSHIRE UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is indeed a Grand hotel. It's a little out of the central area but that's no bad thing in Livorno. An impressive facade shows the grandeur of the place . Decor is elegant and the common areas exude class with their sophisticated style. I was given a sea view room. It was large enough for my needs and would suit a couple no problem. The king sized bed was very comfortable and complimented by superb quality linens. Bathroom well equipped ie bath and shower. The toiletries are odd, pleasant enough but all very citrus based eg tangerine smelling hand soap...they smelt a little cheap. Towels soft and large. Overall the room reflected the rest of the hotel, high quality finish and furnishings. There is a busy road in front of the hotel but it wasn't intrusive as the windows are well glazed. The restaurant and bar are on the top floor and have a great view of the sea front. The bar is quite sterile , basic and a bit too bright. The restaurant was almost empty. There were only about four of us there but it is clearly more popular in high season. Prices are as high as anywhere in the region. I had a pasta dish and it was very good . Service was friendly and attentive . I didn't use the spa area but its on the top floor too . Breakfast was excellent lots of fresh fruit, European meats but also all other continental produce , cereals etc . great choice .There was a lot on offer despite the hotel not being busy, so they obviously take pride in this . As a business hotel,it's a great choice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a partial sea view and was very pleasant - quite large and well appointed. The bathroom toiletries were not up to 5 star standard, I was surprised that there was no hair conditioner for instance.

Breakfast was quite interesting and plentiful and taken in a beautiful hall. There is a great view from the roof top swimming pool. However, the pool is freezing.

The negatives of rhe hotel is its overpriced restaurant and the lack of service. On day 1 tried to get lunch and gave up. Day 2 a very self important waiter deigned to serve me. The food wasn't very exciting and very expensive. I would definitely not recommend it.

To sum up a very formal hotel with little atmosphere and a very over rated restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If I could give this place 2 and a half stars I would, but I can't so 2 it is. I got back a few days ago, and I have to say this is my first time in an NH, and it will be the last! This hotel is not a 5 star hotel at all, it's a mid range 4 star. It was very expensive for what it was, and I got it on a deal. It is by no means terrible, just rather disappointing.
The other half an I were staying there for a couple of days after being in Lucca. The idea was to get a little bit of luxury and a little bit of sea in Livorno before heading home. Now I know Livorno is not everyone's cup of tea, lacking in churches and galleries. However it is a nice place to chill out, full of casual but rather good sea food restaurants and gelateria. The hotel managed to get on my bad side upon arrival. Not their fault at all, but the booking website advertised that there were smoking rooms here, there is not, and the only place to smoke is a corner of the roof terrace. No one offered to help us with our bags, which I found a bit odd, and very little is explained to you on check in (breakfast times, wifi codes etc).
Our superior double with garden view was rather shabby. The view was straight into a set of flats next door, the paint work was tired, and there was lots of buttons missing from the headboard. Easy fixes if you're running a 5 star hotel. We checked in at 3 pm, OH wasn't feeling great so we ordered room service. We were told that the kitchen was closed, so we could only have the over priced salad, lasagne or pizza. OH had lasagne, it was terrible. When we called to ask them to take the tray away (as instructed), we got the same angry gentleman we'd ordered from, who hung up on me, leaving us with the tray until the room was cleaned the next day. OH took a bath, the bath handle that supports those with mobility issues or poor balance broke clean off the wall as he tried to get out. I reported this to reception, they just shrugged and sent someone to take the handle away. What if he'd been an elderly person with a bad hip? As I said, shabby.
A big thing I would say is DO NOT EAT IN THE RESTAURANT. It is pricier than any other restaurant in Livorno and pretty awful. Service is non existent (half an hour wait til they took our order), some fish is frozen (the sea is right there!) and for 28 euros I had a mixed salad (which was just a bag of salad undressed) and he had some tomato and spaghetti (suspiciously hot in the centre, microwaved?). Refused to order wine or desert, did not think they deserved our cash.

There are good things about this hotel. The roof top pool (though freezing, and I've been in the sea in Cornwall in April, I'm not exactly delicate) is small but very striking with it's view over the sea. The location is okay, you can easily get a bus into town or walk to the nicer places on the south side of Livorno. Breakfast is fine, I've had better at cheaper hotels, but there's lots of choice, including some gluten free stuff, which is pretty impressive. The building is very lovely, and I imagine the sea view rooms are great. It is probably fine for business travellers. . It just isn't a 5 star experience by any stretch of the imagination, and the staff need to learn a bit about customer service. I'm just disappointed with myself more than anything for not researching it more thoroughly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Livorno
#1 Green Hotel in Livorno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
#2 Family Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo is an exquisite five-star hotel with breathtaking views of the Ligurian Sea, exuding the luxurious charm of over one hundred years of glorious history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.